We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels on Samed island...great facilities, great beach, great customer service..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Lune Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 57 Ko Samet B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels on Samed island...great facilities, great beach, great customer service..”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

As a local Thai who frequently visits samed island a few times per year, I finally get to try this newly opened hotel on Wongduen beach. Overall, I am highly impressed and would recommend this place to both locals and foreigners alike. First, the booking went very smooth despite some changes from my end. Second, once I arrived, the hotel is well located and beautifully decorated. Samed island has been such a popular destination for so many years so it is full of old hotels or bungalows. Lalune is different....it is a beachfront low rise hotel with a cute pool in the middle. The vibe is very young, contemporary and very clean. Room is equipped with good amenities and most importantly...the bed is so big and comfy.
Lastly, on e I checked out, I left a few items including CASH behind. I only remembered it the next day when I am back in Bangkok already. I phoned Khun Thip, the representative at Bangkok office. not only did she gladly coordinated the whole thing but I managed to get everything back in perfect conditions including all the money. I still couldn't believe my luck and can only thank them.
If you wish for a pleasant friendly cozy stay, Lalune is your place. It is not the cheapest place in Wongduen beach, but it surely worths the slight splurge for a nicer beach experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoppyLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    43
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

It's my 6th trip to Koh Samed. On Wongduan beach, Lalune It's still overall the nicest and newest, and most expensive hotel on this side of island. that's why this trip, I chose its here because of the big family Songkran get-together, We are a big family of 3 rooms, 6 adults and 2 children. Stayed 4 days, and 3 nights

The good things 1) some luxury amenities as nice room, a swimming pool 2) nice and new
place just opened 3) Miss. Kwang at the counter is smiley and friendly 4) Mr. Jay, a young man who works at egg station at breakfast, and help around in the morning, very customer service minded, smiley and helpful 5) Wongduan beach got a couple convenient stores, less than 5 minute walk from hotel.6) good location, about in the middle of the distance of the beach length.

Greater issues and needed development.

1) There is no management, the hotel reception who deals with check-in,check-out, food, room service and who knows what else...is a couple ladies at the counter...

2) The lady who is a little older, in her early 40s, at counter might try to help guests, but she never smiles. I smiled at her the first time, but she never smiled back to me or other guests, the two other ladies are helpful, but with very limited experience in hospitality.

3) so many flies at breakfast, every morning. and no staffs seem to care, tables with small children care more with flies, and they just left the food on table.

4) Very small and few breakfast, and bad quality, *compare to other 3 star-hotels on Koh Samed, and other islands I've been to in Thailand.(been to some 5-6 star too, but do not compare to those)

5). Restaurants close at 8 pm. other restaurants around open till at least 10 pm or later,

6) Most staffs are foreigners....(Cambodian.?), and can't understand much Thai or English when the food being ordered. (it's okay though about foreigner staffs, most B&B and hotels on Samed do hire foreigner staffs...)

7) At late night around almost 1 am. when all rooms lights off, a group of 7-8 guests still played cards at a restaurant, only one staff oversaw, they had their own radio on loud, poor Thai staff/waiter/guard had to wait on them, and couldn't tell the group to tune it down..few balcony lights started to light up, maybe a sign to tell the group...

8) Internet is very poor, and only in lobby. I read reviews and knew this before I decided to choose it here, but still chose Lalune for the sake of being a new hotel, and more comfort and convenience for family The bungalows and restaurants next door got much stronger connections, their internet is detected always from the room, pool...etc.

9) We tried dinner at hotel the first night, very slow and unprofessional, it's understandable and forgiven because they just seems very new and inexperienced.
(they actually made a mistake and forgot to bill the seafood of 1,200 Baht, and my sister reminded them so we would pay the right amount, we were billed only 1,700 Baht, and felt that it was wrong, it should have been more, so finally we paid 1,200 Baht more)

10) they have a sign on the main porch/entrance, ( for the guests or beach vendors...? ) Ii Thai, and English, ... not to take the food into hotel restaurant and area because the property is expensive, and they asked for understanding and sympathy, and let the hotel make money ..." ....well, it's very understandable, but the way it's said just very blunt and ignorant. some might see it a joke, but the sign itself doesn't feel like a joke, it's serious.

11) most restaurant staffs are helpful, but some look too obviously bored and irritated when being asked for help. or when guests come down for breakfast at close to 10 am (breakfast serves 7-10 am), staffs would seem very irritated. I came down early but some family members came at 9.30 am, most of the food was out. we noticed that the staffs pouted a lot to other guests too....so we try to behave! ha!

12) kids, guest peed in the pool! No staff around pool area. so we tried to avoid swimming pool.

13. very few English speaking channels. one movie channel, with Chinese subtitle, The only one news in English is through Russian Network.

14. big loud chairs at balcony, when anyone would move it sounds like a thunder, try it, and you'll know! :-)

15. Like some reviews I read about them on here a few weeks before....no prompt help to unload from speedboat, it was quite a struggle, so we and the boat guys unloaded some, the hotel staff came out to help after we got to ask at the counter...

Overall, I'm not sure if I would come back, if they fix all these things, I would, because it's just all about customer service and management, they still are the new and more convenient compare to other on Wongduan. Until then, Do not come! :
I just recommend that if you like a 3 or 3.5 star up, Go to other beaches, Ao Prao, Sai Kaew beach or other beaches. been there a few times, and will go back again.

I have much better experience at Koh Samed Try Ao Praw Resort, Pricey but good, great customer service, good breakfast, (Minus...the cove is far out, hard to come to town, no shop.)

Hotel couldn't be reached, even on website there's no phone number update on Koh Samed site, (up to April 16th) just the reservation number at Bangkok office. So the day before, and the day we traveled here, the phone couldn't be reached, because the public holiday already started, so there's no way we could contact the hotel in case of direction and questions.)

we paid 5,000 Baht per room a night, 3 rooms and 3 nights during public holidays through Agoda, found out that it already got down to be 4,000 Baht a few days before we got there, and on the first day when they offered to walk-in guests,(Just tested and search and found that in June.. it's about 3,200 Baht, still not cheap.) Overall, poor quality for the price we paid. Would be fine and acceptable if only customer service and to have a hotel manager.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel77h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Nice and friendly staff at this new hotel with a nice location just to the beach. Everything is very new and needs a little time to settle down. Nice rooms and nice pool. Breakfast is a little boring, but them make nice lunch and have BBQ on the beach at evening. Nice place to stay for a few days if you are in BKK and needs to get into the water. Bus will take you from Ekkamai station in BKK and to Ban Phe in about 3,5 hrs and cheap! Take small local ferry or take fast boat directly to hotel. Price is about 2500 bath for fast boat but you will reach hotel in 10 min from Ban Phe. Ferry takes 30-40 min and then taxi to hotel 15 min at price 250 bath. We used local ferry and very cheap and nice trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cphdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

New and nicely designed hotel on Ao Wongduan. The staff was friendly and helpful.The rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast (which is included) was adequate but the evening hotel BBQ was great (Don't miss the sumptuous spare ribs...).Highly recommended.Can't wait to be back !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

After living in Bangkok for several years, we decided to take a trip to Koh Samet. On the recommendation of a friend we chose La Lune. This is a new and generally well appointed hotel, with very friendly staff.

Our overall opinion of the resort was great too, small but fun with enough to satisfy the kids and us. Will stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle block face the ocean, floor 2 or 3 would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crafty_B_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

La Lune was the perfect end to a perfect holiday. The rooms were clean and tidy, cool and sleek decor. The bathroom was of very high standard. The room we stayed in was right in the centre on the 2nd floor giving us a great view of the beach and sea.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. All meals we enjoyed were of high standard, evening meals were cooked on bbq on the beach.
The pool was a added bonus, even though the sea is so close. La Lune isnt based in the main cove, but i think this makes it even better. It is busy enough but not crowded.
The young fire dancers that do their shows on a evening were great to watch and amazed us as well as making us laugh with their antics.
I hope to return again

Room Tip: 2nd floor centre for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanieB183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.5 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
705 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lune Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lune Beach Resort

Property: La Lune Beach Resort
Address: 62 Moo 4, Ao Wongduan | Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Lune Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Lune Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing