We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort, great beach - tranquility and great service. Would stay again in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, great beach - tranquility and great service. Would stay again in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this resort for nine nights after a hectic weekend in Bangkok. The resort is undoubtedly the best one on Sai Kaew beach. We stayed in a deluxe cottage in the garden area, which was lovely, really close to the small and quieter beach in the resort, away from the relative chaos of Sai Kaew beach itself. The room had everything we needed although not very luxurious, it was more than adequate and kept extremely well by the maids who visited at least once a day. This place is more pricey than other places in Sai Kaew, but if you want a real retreat, this is it. The spa is lovely too. The restaurant has a good selection of both Thai and Western food, all of a high standard, and good value by western standards (though quite expensive by thai standards!). Drinks are expensive, especially the wine, but at least it's nice wine! They can organise either a shuttle to the ferry or a speedboat to and from Ban Phe, nothing is too much trouble for them. Standard of English spoken is very good.

One negative thing is the muzak played in the restaurant - after nine days of instrumental, pan pipe versions of nineties and early noughties hits, I'd had enough!

Really though, nothing to criticise, it's a lovely place and, although more pricey than other places, you can certainly see the difference in the standard of everything.

Room Tip: Deluxe cottages are cute wooden, stand-alone chalets, with good facilities and close to the beach, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    305
    111
    41
    23
See reviews for
160
213
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Reckon all the accommodation on the island are over-priced. Even Sai Kaew Resort is over-priced when compare the room rate with Koh Phuket hotels, Pattaya hotels or even Bangkok hotels.

The only good is, Sai Kaew Resorit is on the beach part of the Sai Kaew beach, sand are so smooth (see the pictures), beach is lovely. I am not a beach lover but I was in the beach whenever I have time!

Breakfast is good too, as well as spa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessCaramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Though it is not the best value for price for this property as service & food have stayed the same way as when they were a Baht 2,000 place. But it is still my favorite as the new buildings are very comfortable and the beach the best! One can truly enjoy the beach & swim in the sea.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThecindyBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Me and my family (two boys, 4 and 6 years old) spent a week at this fantastic beach resort and I have only good things to say. Perfect location on the Island, wonderful beach, execellent staff, lovely pool, very nice and clean rooms, really nice breakfast, perfect for kids and very beutiful surroundings. I can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omnidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is one of the newer Resorts on the Island and probably one of the nicest ones. Right when you arrive you are amazed by the beauty of the whole hotel with its modern design.

We arrived on Koh Samet without reservations, but I would recommend you book ahead, as you can find better deals online (we were not sure where to stay yet) and if you care about clean facilities this definitely is the place on this side of the island.

Check in was smooth.

The room was absolutely beautiful. We got one of the bigger ones, with a nice size bedroom area, a beautiful bathroom with walk in shower and seperate bathtub. What was really awesome is that there is a glass wall between the bathtub and the bedroom which opens up the ambiance in the bathroom a lot. There is a privacy curtain you can close just in case you need to use the restroom :).

The food at the hotel was great, though we mainly lived of the breakfast buffet which was unbelievable. I am getting hungry just now remembering it. They have really everything. They even have a lowered buffet area for kids, which was pretty neat.

We had lunch 2 times and no complains there. Dinner we mostly ate at one of those beach restaurants where you point at a plate and they prepare it for you. Awesome. Though for those places review you bill as they tried to add a fish to ours and it got very interesting as English isn't always easy understood there. But that negative has nothing to do with THIS resort.

The beach was very clean the pools as well. It is pretty quiet there as well and you are pretty close to the main road of the town, where you can find a 7/11 if you want to but some cheaper snacks or drinks. The rooms do have a fridge.

oh the hotel also has a coffee shop where you have access to computer and i-net.

Here come the reason why only 4 stars. I wanted to take a nice bath with my significant other, but the water came out brown. Now we are no complainers but we were a bit sad because the bathtub was a good size and you have that glass there and can still feel like you are in the middle of the room. We went to the front desk, where they just told me to keep the water running. It did get better, but never to where i actually wanted to take a bath and no one came by to check like they said they would. So there you have it. Other than that everything there was absolutely amazing. oh and you also get a pair of flip flops.

Room Tip: google the resort and you should find some websites with good rates. I also walked around ones and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriCritravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed for one week in the Sai Kaew bungalows. The rooms in the new building are nicer then the bungalows. The resort is clean and has a very friendly staff.
Breakfast and diner are fine. There are a lot of other restaurants and bars on the beach.
The resort has two different beaches.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here 5 nights with my gf. We loved the place!

From check in to check out our stay was just what we wanted.

We had originaly booked a private villa/bungalow, but when we arrived staff at the frontdesk told us we had been upgraded. I was a bit frustated because in my mind i thought the villa would be a fairly large size. I've checked on the hotel site and they state that in fact the villa's are smaller than the room we were upgraded to!

The hotel has a strong eco friendly policy and a chic architecture all around the property.
Our room was beautiful overlooking the poolarea from our veranda.Slightly over the poolbar was the fitness room with floor to ceiling windows and a good selection of equipment.

Bed was big and comfy and the bathroom must be one of the best i have seen in a long time.
From the bed you could actually see in to the bathroom, but with a very smart sliding door you blocked out any unwanted people :) Actually this is becoming more and more common in nice hotels in Thailand, but i still think this was one of the best designs.

The only real problem we had with our room was rather unfortunate.
I woke up one morning to the sound of rain. Not uncommon during summer months, but there was a small hole in the roof that was leaking down right next to my side of the bed. I found a towel and used it to mopp up the water. Phoned frontdesk and explained the situation. The hotel is very posh and I assumed they would move us to another room to get the hole fixed, ready for us or other guests. She just sendt someone up from housekeeping that was in the room 2 minutes before the staffmember left without giving any further information. It rained at least two days, at the end there wasn't much water that had goen through the hole, but the floor seemed to have been suffering damage.

I really think a hotel of this size and poshness would have handled the situation more profesional.
Apart from this minor hick-up, I was pleased with the rest of the hotel.

The breakfast was situated in a large open air area with a roof over your head and the blue ocean behind you. Food choice at breakfast buffe was very good and they even have a chef that makes you your own omelette or other types of egg based food!
They still have to work on making a tasty full english breakfast, but compared to other hotels they are miles ahead:)
It was also possible to eat lunch and dinner there. We ate a wonderful dinner and listened to live music. Directly across from the eating area there was a bar and on top of the bar was a "private terrace" that was in use for a family party, but you could also sit in special little sitting groups on each "stair floor" almost like a roman amphitheater.
If you are curious about this, check out the hotel website for pictures etc.

P.S. The hotel has a cafe close to the reception area with good seating options and two computers that have internet. They also offer a selection of bakery products that taste heavenly! A nice place to read a book or just relax with a newspaper and a coffee :)

The hotel has a private part of the beach with helpful staff by a small bar. They run around and keep guests happy :) Food and beverages are possible to buy almost all day.
Apart from staff running around, there are a lot of people trying to sell you all sorts of things. They are polite and usually go away when you say " no thank you", but i still felt it was slightly annoying. It is also possible to get a massage right next to the sunbeds. This is not very expensive and worth a try if you've never had a thai massage!

The beach goes on for a long way, and in the evenings there are several restaurant and bars along the beachfront. One of these places puts up a flame throwing show with 10 young Thai's jumping around. Worth a trip, and don't forget to bring your camera!
The bbq food they prepare in this area fills the whole beach up with lovely smells and it's very safe to eat any food from the restaurants along the beach.

When we checked out one of the managers whom we had spoken to on and off during our stay, (an englishman called Michael), personally came over to us and thanked us for spending our holiday with Sai Kaew Beach Resort.
Small things like that make me want to go back tomorrow!

All in all - treat yourself to a nice break at Sai Kaew. Island life at it's best!
Friendly staff, great food, very new & modern and a safe place to relax in :)

Safe travels!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomkong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
3.0 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Kaew Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Kaew Beach Resort

Property: Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Address: 8/1 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sai Kaew Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sai Kaew Beach Resort is idyllically situated on two adjoining beachfronts on the northeast coast of Koh Samet. Sai Kaew beach is the most popular destination on the island, having a rustic charm of its own with an active main beach and several smaller ones.Located on the most popular beach on the island, there are ample opportunities For beach sport such as volleyball and soccer;for the sea-going enthusiast, sailing, scuba diving, windsurfing, canoeing and snorkeling are all available. Swim in the resort's pool, or in the warm clean waters of the Gulf of Thailand, or stroll the narrow streets of the small nearby town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sai Kaew Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Kaew Beach Hotel Koh Samet
Hotel Sai Kaew Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing