We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star prices, at 1 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“5 star prices, at 1 star resort”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Avoid at all costs, it is not on white sand beach, but a rocky dirty brach nearby. Horrible breakfast, poor service, dirty beach chairs, nothing good, but for beach front bungalow, 7000 baht per night, CRAZY

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dcarden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    310
    112
    43
    23
See reviews for
165
219
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Premier rooms were nice. The lower level rooms had moldy smell and we changed to the second floor that was ok. The ac was a bit too effective and the room got very cold during the night. The room was a bit pricey during the peak season, but everything was good and we liked the hotel. The location was perfect and i would stay again.

Nothing really to complain (apart from the room price).

Room Tip: Second floor premier rooms did not have moldy smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Absolutely nice located hotel in nice, clean beach. Very good service, excellent breakfast and fabulous dinner… excellent rooms. Pricing is moderate. the new rooms are close to perfect. simply everything works.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KariW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for nearly 2 weeks here and found the hotel to be quite satisfactory. The location could not be better.

We had a "superior room" with a balcony view to pool (nr. 945) but there was also terrance option available. It proved to be a good choice since the ground level rooms (terrance) had very little privacy, on some it would have been non existent. So choose the balcony if you dont want everyone looking into your room.

The restaurant "Zee" had probably the best quality of hygiene on the beach but the service could have been better (we always had to wait quite a while for orders, bill, menus etc). We ended up dining there several times after getting ill of eating on the beach side restaurants (as did quite a few others as well).

The Hotel has all these "green thinking" slogans but nevertheless our towels and sheets got changed daily even when we tried to apply their instructions of preserving water etc. Who needs to have clean towels etc daily??

Breakfast was OK. Refill was a bit slow on the rush hours and the selection basically did not change at all but everything on the offer was tasty and of good quality.

Room Tip: Room 945 had privacy, a nice remotish location. Rooms with terrance are open to everyones eyes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a tough one because there wasn't much wrong with the resort and I wouldn't want anyone to be put off going there. It's really annoying when you've picked a hotel and are just about to book so you check the reviews and amongst all the good ones, someone has written a poor one.

However, our overall experience was average.

We were holidaying in Pattaya and decided, on the advice of a friend, to treat ourselves to a night on Ko Samet.
Sai Kaew beach resort seemed like a good option and we deliberately paid double the money of our next best option because it looked great on the reviews and pictures.

The boat transfer service was excellent. We were greeted on the mainland by hotel staff and from that point our whole journey (boat & car) over to the island and then to reception was flawless. So far so good.

Check in was fine and we were taken to the room which, in this case, was a bungalow at the far end of the resort. This is where, for the money, we felt the resort was a bit over priced. The bungalow was nice - but not perfect. The decor was good but a little bit soulless. The bathroom was OK. Privacy was only achievable with the curtains closed - this bit I didn't like.

The nearest beach was a the much reviewed "private Pineapple beach" which was quite nice really - not breathtaking but certainly a good feature and fairly quiet. The downside was that the bar was closed. Getting a drink or any food was a bit of a trek.

The resort is bisected by a different, mainly Thai, resort. Most of the faiclities are on the other side which means walking a fairly long way to find a bar or restaurant. This was annoying and we felt it could easily have been remedied.

On the other side of the resort was a good restaurant. The food was quite good if a little pricey but this was fine as it is an island after all.
The main beach was nice and this is where a lot of the nightlife is located. Quite relaxed with plenty of fire shows, lanterns etc.
We enjoyed the beach at night more than the local village which was a bit basic.

There were a LOT of insects a night. The resort tried very hard to address this by making sure a proper smoke spray was done on a massive scale every night (twice I think). To be fair they were really on the ball with this and I think if the other nearby resorts did the same they would have less of a mosquito problem on the island.

I can understand why most people think this resort is "very good" or "excellent". If we'd spent several days here I'm sure we would have relaxed into it and enjoyed it a little more.

Overall though I thought it was a bit too manufactured and would have preferred something with a little more soul.

If the price had been, say, 25% lower I think this would have been a better review.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk quite far for drinks or food ask for a room in the main part of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in January. They have their own boat to bring you to Ko Samet and drops you off right on the Resort's beach which was a nice touch. We stayed in the new villa area so everything quite new with a great ocean view. While it was the main beach, it wasn't overly busy by any means.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It’s surprising the resort doesn’t make more noise about its unique little treasure – its private Pineapple Beach. This small and tranquil cove is in vast contrast to the standard, though still great, main beach – with its sun beds, service and energy.

As a result you get the best of both worlds. For us it was a quiet morning on our own little beach. Then lunch, afternoon, happy hour, and food on the main one. Could not have been better.

This made as glad we’d gone for one of the garden bungalows. Price had pointed us there but it was ideal, with its own porch swing, our little beach a minute or less away, and a lovely stroll through beautiful kept tropical gardens to everything else.

A little surprising though was that ‘de luxe’, their evaluation of the garden bungalows, didn’t have a hot water tap in the hand basin. Very strange. Though the shower was as good as a top hotel.

The ferry from the mainland is well organised. Don’t expect roads as we know them – but dirt tracks mainly (fun actually) over which you travel by ‘taxi’ which is a flat bed truck with hand rails to hang on to for dear life.

Information on the area is minimal and the resort could do far better on this. Take a photo of the ‘map’ of beach restaurants stuck to the map of the resort that’s on your left as you enter. That’s as good as it gets.

The breakfast is excellent - don't miss the amazing bread and butter pudding by the bread area - and the restaurant good and not as expensive as you might expect. At night the main beach comes alive – a good choice of places to eat, some fire jugglers and street food including chocolate pancakes to die for. All of which will set you up for another morning back on Pineapple beach.

Room Tip: Forget poolside - which seemed to be in shadow much of the day. Go for a bungalow to give you easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
3.0 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Kaew Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Kaew Beach Resort

Property: Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Address: 8/1 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sai Kaew Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sai Kaew Beach Resort is idyllically situated on two adjoining beachfronts on the northeast coast of Koh Samet. Sai Kaew beach is the most popular destination on the island, having a rustic charm of its own with an active main beach and several smaller ones.Located on the most popular beach on the island, there are ample opportunities For beach sport such as volleyball and soccer;for the sea-going enthusiast, sailing, scuba diving, windsurfing, canoeing and snorkeling are all available. Swim in the resort's pool, or in the warm clean waters of the Gulf of Thailand, or stroll the narrow streets of the small nearby town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sai Kaew Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Kaew Beach Hotel Koh Samet
Hotel Sai Kaew Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing