We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort on Koh Samet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Koh Samet island on a recommendation of a family member who travels their annually.

We were looking for a romantic getaway for 7 days and the other resorts were completely booked up (Ao Prao, Le Viram etc). We settled on Sai Kaew and boy oh boy I'm glad we did!

We booked a premier seaside room, which has it's own private pool for the area. The room was very spacious, with a great walk in shower and bathtub. The room was light and airy and we were lucky enough to have sea views! The Premier Seaside rooms are perfect for couples, they are modern and very large. We noticed family groups enjoyed their stays in neighboring rooms.

The room was about 30 seconds from the beach, which is the busy main beach on the island.

The beach is busy, but we never had a problem reserving beach lounges - there were always some available. There are hawkers on the beach selling fresh fruits and sarongs - which we actually loved! But it's usually the same hawkers walking up and down, so if you shake your head they get the picture and don't bother you any further. There are ladies set up with massage tables on the beach and I personally had 2 massages a day!

We actually spent a day touring around the island visiting the other resorts and can say that Sai Kaew is the best beach by far. There are plenty of activities to do on the beach, unlike the other more expensive/exclusive resorts which have absolutely nothing and are very boring.

This resort was very family friendly and we will definitely be back one day soon!

The breakfast was fine, the omlettes were delicious and it had the usual hot selections.

The restaurant was nice as well - definitely the most hygienic on the beach so we did eat there a few times.

We stayed there over Halloween and all the restaurant and bar staff dressed up and put on a show for the kids which was really cute.

We had the most adorable housekeeper ever, she was intrigued by Australian's and was so friendly and polite every time we ran into her.

All in all, great resort, stunning location, great for couples and families. I have no complaints and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book a premier seaside room and enjoy the beachfront!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyMMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Sai Kaew Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I don't understand what the negative reviews are about on here, I would suggest people read reviews so they know what to expect when booking.
We booked a beach cottage and yes they are not on the main beach, they are set on a small rocky beach which is equally as picturesque, lovely loungers for use free of charge and very quiet. If you want to go to the main beach its a 10 minute walk away and lovely to use as there are lots of free loungers, and a beautiful quiet beach, clear blue sea.
There are numerous pools, 3 within 5 mins walk from the beach cottages.
You can book accommodation on the main beach but in all honesty you get a lot of people walking past so I prefer where we stayed.
The staff were very friendly, and took us to our room in a buggie and showed us our room.
Aircon was great, bed very comfortable, mini bar and some movie channels as well.

The bathroom wasn't luxurious but very Thai and added it to the beach cottage feel :-)

Breakfast was good but we didn't have dinner there so cant comment on that.
The grounds were beautiful and brilliantly kept - just such a gorgeous resort.

Very close to restaurants as well within easy walking distance down the beach :)

They offer a free ferry service from the mainland and free green truck to resort which was amazing and saved us a fair bit too.

I would completely recommend staying here it was a beautiful hotel in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller1986Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

How are so many people giving this place such high ratings? Poorly trained staff with no communication skills. They all seem to be very disinterested in helping customers. I'm a generous spender and tipper, yet no eagerness to serve and earn. It's very odd. There was a complete absence of the famous Thai hospitality which I love. This is the reason I have been vacationing here every year or two for the last 12 years. Worst is the restaurant and beach service. Front desk was fairly attentive. The premier rooms are 3 star at best. Nice bathrooms, but they must've run out of budget while building them because a lot of corners were cut. Bad vanities and commercial quality soap are supplied in a most unflattering presentation. Again, this is their "premier" suite.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ohiojoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed, as a couple, for 6 days in Aprll 2014. Having walked by numerous other places on the island, and talking with others, we assume this is one of the best resorts on the island.

The resort consists of two section: NEW and OLD. Make sure you get a room in the NEW section (mostly two level buildings close to the white sand beach) as opposed to the OLD section (bungalows with the rocky beach). The rocky beach is great for a day, reading books and being (almost) alone. The new section is divided in two: One facing the sea with a pool in the middle, the other grouped around a second pool with a 2 mins walking to the beach. Either one is fine as we spent the day at the beach. Facts NEW section: Ground level floor is super for family with kids - play in play out. Second floor for more private life.

The area is super for families and travelers not minding beach restaurants, with the obligatory fire shows in the evening. If you want 100% solitude and silence, you better go to a different beach.

Pro: Free ferry+taxi service. Friendly staff. Clean and modern room. Gym and the equipment (small but fancy over one of the pools). Few mosquitos due to a steady breeze. Breakfast (selection and no flies). Selection of reastaurants at the beach.

Con: No replies to email or phone calls a few days before getting there (but the staff had it organized when we got to the pier and the hotel). Lunch and dinner is ok/good pending on the dish. We tried the steak BBQ which was a disappointment (cold, small). Go for a thai dish and you are more on the safe side. The thai band and the background music in the restaurant is great for people loving Bee Gees and John Lennon on repeat - for days.

Room Tip: All rooms in the NEW section should be fine. We stayed in 945. Great room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisenissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Avoid at all costs, it is not on white sand beach, but a rocky dirty brach nearby. Horrible breakfast, poor service, dirty beach chairs, nothing good, but for beach front bungalow, 7000 baht per night, CRAZY

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are newer
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dcarden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Premier rooms were nice. The lower level rooms had moldy smell and we changed to the second floor that was ok. The ac was a bit too effective and the room got very cold during the night. The room was a bit pricey during the peak season, but everything was good and we liked the hotel. The location was perfect and i would stay again.

Nothing really to complain (apart from the room price).

Room Tip: Second floor premier rooms did not have moldy smell.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iinatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Absolutely nice located hotel in nice, clean beach. Very good service, excellent breakfast and fabulous dinner… excellent rooms. Pricing is moderate. the new rooms are close to perfect. simply everything works.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KariW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
3.0 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#10 of 20 in Ko Samet
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Kaew Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Kaew Beach Resort

Address: 8/1 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: £96 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sai Kaew Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sai Kaew Beach Resort is idyllically situated on two adjoining beachfronts on the northeast coast of Koh Samet. Sai Kaew beach is the most popular destination on the island, having a rustic charm of its own with an active main beach and several smaller ones.Located on the most popular beach on the island, there are ample opportunities For beach sport such as volleyball and soccer;for the sea-going enthusiast, sailing, scuba diving, windsurfing, canoeing and snorkeling are all available. Swim in the resort's pool, or in the warm clean waters of the Gulf of Thailand, or stroll the narrow streets of the small nearby town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sai Kaew Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sai Kaew Beach Hotel Koh Samet
Hotel Sai Kaew Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing