We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach but not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach but not worth the price”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We went during New Year so it was extremely expensive. We expected a nice and quiet holiday by the beach and we did get that. The beach was beautiful: clear water and soft sand. However, it was not private; it was shared with other 2 resorts (which cost a lot less) and, as it was public, many locals also stopped by.

The room was standard, small, but with full amenities. There were lots of bugs around so beware!

The food was average and on the expensive side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbleBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    137
    37
    11
    9
See reviews for
73
168
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just finishing a fantastic stay at Le Vimarn Cottage & Spa, this resort is a nice haven just two hours form Bangkok. Ao Phrao beach is certainly a very nice spot on Koh Samet Island. We spent a day on a hired motorbike looking around the island and the other resorts and other beaches on the island seemed extremely busy full of weekenders from Bangkok, not too mention they are over-commercialised with beach sellers, inflatable and sun loungers (that might sound snobby, but if you're looking for a luxury quiet beach haven, Ao Phrao is it!).

We took a private car from Bangkok airport and got to the pier in just less than 2 hours, this was a slightly more expensive way to travel, you can get a metered taxi, but no guarantee of the fair, or a minivan or public bus. We paid 3,500BHT for the luxury of getting to the pier in less than 2 hours.

Le Vimarn have complimentary scheduled speed boat transfer scheduled throughout the day. We arrived at the pier at 8am, which meant we would have a 3 hour wait until the first speed boat transfer. On arrival at the pier the driver dropped us at a different pier (not the one that has the complimentary Le Vimarn transfer). I was expecting this and knew that they would try and sell us an alternate speed boat transfer. Due to the 3 hour wait I was happy to pay for an additional transfer. We easily got the quoted 2000THB down to 1500THB for 2 people and think we could have got it cheaper if we pushed hard.

We arrived at the resort early (8.30AM) and were met on the beach, bags taken care of while we waiting on the beach until our room was ready around 11AM.

Room was very nice, with large bathroom, large bed, flat screen TV, mini bar etc etc.

The beach has 3 resorts on it so it is really just a place to relax and spend the day on the beach. We hired a motorbike for a day from the security check point just up the hill from the resort (<5mins walk) for 500THB per day. This meant that we could explore the island easily and had dinner away from the resort on one night. This offered great value as taxi's were 200THB each per way, motorbikes can be hired more cheaply from the main town if you're on a budget. Also restaurants away from this resort are cheaper than on Ao Phroa.

Ao Phroa is on the sunset side of the island which does make for very nice sunset drinks.

There is a small shop near the south end of the beach that sells cheap water and cans of beer. About half the price of the hotel. We also went for massages along the beach (north end) that were quite a bit cheaper than the resort spa. We didn't try the resort spa, but others have reviewed that it is very nice.

I would definitely recommend this resort to a couple looking to relax and unwind. Not much for kids, although we did see quite a few families here. Nice infinity pool. Breakfast was very nice, wide range of food varying per day with attentive staff.

There are a couple of vehicles moving along the beach that does spoil the tranquillity slightly, there is a little bit of building work up the road, but we couldn't hear this. We are off to Paradee for two nights next so suspect that will offer true tranquillity. Le Vimarn is a fair bit more affordable so we opted to try both resorts.

Side note, we could see no evidence of the oil spill from last year, the beach was lovely and pristine with clear waters.

I hope that this review is helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room not near the entrance to the beach (south side, right of hotel map) - will be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived at Le Vimarn on the 14th December 2013 and stayed for 3 weeks, we could have stayed forever, i can honestly say that this was the best holiday that we have ever had, we have been to Thailand many times and stayed in some beautiful places but Le Vimarn was OUTSTANDING. We stayed in Spa Villa Suite which was beautiful,it is set back slightly so is very peaceful, and has amazing panoramic views of Ao Prao.It has two levels,the downstairs has its own bar/kitchen area, huge lounge area, widescreen T.V and balcony. The upstairs is Amazing with a Super king size 4 poster bed,lounge area another widescreen T.V and DVD,fridge e.t.c, the bathroom was lovely. huge walk in shower,toilet and sink area and large wardrobe.The top balcony was wonderful with the Jacuzzi, the views from here are breathtaking.The room was cleaned everyday and we always came back to a little surprise in our room either a exotic fruit bowl, elephants,swans and bunny rabbits made from towels with beautiful flowers amongst other little treats .
The grounds and swimming pool were so well kept and clean,the "Buzz" and 'O' restaurants had delicious food and catered for our every need (including our very fussy 6 Yr old, they even created a pizza especially for him,the William pizza)..you can choose to either dine in the restaurants of the staff will set out tables on the beach and bring food from either restaurant.
Le Vimarm Ia the most wonderful friendliest place on earth, and what makes its extra special is the staff, Mr Payab the restaurant manager is one in a million, Mr Saravoot wannaprasert the resort manager,Mr Sidhavee Rojdumrongpatch the housekeeping manager, and of course Mr Boonrauy...all the staff that work here are amazing.
Before we left England we decided that we would get married here and we could'nt have wished for more, the staff organised everything right down to the finest detail..they made our day the best day of our lives, and we cannot thank them enough.
We will 100% be returning this year, and are counting down the days until we see this beautiful island resort and all the beautiful welcoming faces again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bregenz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Staying from nov. 24 till dec. 1 this year as a couple. Wonderfull days and nights. A special thank to the restaurant manager Mr. Payab Iamjuy.
We will come back next year.
A small discomfort is on weekend. There are many 1 day tourists

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I had a beautiful week here last year. In the midst of a trip in which we were constantly on the move, this isolated paradise allowed us to stop and just be. Especially when we visited the other side of the island (full of nighlife-loving young tourists), we knew we were in the right place. We found "our spot" on the secluded beach and stayed there every day. The grounds are immaculately kept, the private cottages are warm and cozy. Food in all the restaurants is amazing. Must-try curries I could eat again and again. And the limeade is addictive! But what really clinched it for us was the service. The nicest and most genuine staff and management we encountered in all of Thailand. If your plans take you to Koh Samet, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherinetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Nice hotel in Koh Samet Island especially for the Ao Phrao Beach which is the most beautiful. Cottages are quite big and clean but prices for rooms & restaurant are a bit too expensive for the country. Breakfast was desapointing with poor choice.
The island is quite small but water is very clear, we recommand to stay 2 nights maximum.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneetsophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guantánamo, Guantanamo, Cuba
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very nice resort and spa, food was OK , but everything else was great, room had huge bath tub, great shower , good service and lots of room , units are up on hillside and you feel alone as view and others are away from each other. Nice beach and other places to eat close, clean water and white sand.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
699 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#9 of 20 in Ko Samet
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Property: Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Address: 40/11 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa is a unique tropical Boutique Resort for an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Clustered on the gentle slope of a hilly cove overlooking a quiet bay beach is your stylish retreat from the world. Supremely comfortable individual cottages all with balconies, some with your own outdoor spa that look down onto a peaceful curved bay of sparkling sea and fine sand. The cottage cluster centers around a superb infinity pool, a world class spa and a restaurant offering a most interesting and comprehensive menu.Le Vimarn attracts sophisticated and discriminating international guests year after year. A dream location that will last in your memory for a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vimarn Cottages And Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages Hotel Koh Samet
Le Vimarn Hotel
Le Vimarn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing