We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautyful location, completely overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
lausanne, switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautyful location, completely overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The location could not be better, directly on a peaceful, well maintained beach. Stayed in a spa villa, with full sea view and private jacuzzi on terrace. No proactive service; always had to search for staff, especially at beach. Also some sign of wear and tear, and no attempt to repair anything. All would be fine if price was fifty percent of what they charged.

Room Tip: Room 903 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomas1576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    135
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
71
165
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Le Vimarn is set on a lovely beach with clear blue water, white sand and palm trees. It's a good place to relax after travelling. The hotel itself is in need of some renovation, especially around the pool area. The staff were overall very helpful, especially in the restaurants. However there was a lack of service around the beach and swimming pool. Overall we felt that the hotel lacked edge and generally things needed to be tightened up.
Although the food in the restaurants was good, we felt it was quite expensive.
We saw no reason why taxis and some traffic was allowed to go to the end of the resort on the road between the beach and the pool area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veraanncottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Wonderful island resort with friendly staff, a fabulous beach, decent-enough food and amenities. Just the place to spend a relaxing weekend. It would help if all staff were proficient in English, but one can still get by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarojesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This once must gave been a glorious place to stay, fantastic location, facing west so the sun can be seen setting beneath the sea.
The swimming pool urgently needs renovation, not clean, chipped tiles, cement missing between tiles especially the capping, jacuzzi did not work, pool bar covered by unclean wood, a real pity because it overlooks the beach and sea.
The food was poor at dinner and we had to wait over an hour for our main course. Both courses were supposed to contain Parma ham, neither did.
The whole place needs a deep clean.
The rotten poles supporting the hand rails should be replaced and all the wood work renovated.
It is almost as if the place is running on cruise with no manager in charge, just coasting along.
The speed boat forward seat was torn and stained, the Bimini needed a wash, the metal work a polish.
It was very expensive and I would not stay there again, a real disappointment.

Room Tip: If one has any sort of disablement ask for a room with the least number of steps to reach. The place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Located on the west side of Koh Samet this villa hotel offers a quiet stay on this beautiful island. You can get all you need right there - very helpful staff, particularly on the beach. Quiet location, no vendors or disturbances on the beach. 20 minutes on foot and you are on the more lively eastern side of the island. Pick-up truck taxis are available all day. The hotel group organized transfer from Bangkok airport to Rayong and then on with the speed boat was perfect and comfortable. Not to miss are the unbelievable sunsets you can enjoy from your room or the quiet beach. Overall on the expensive side. I checked out other places on the island and will consider alternatives for a next trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Juerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We went during New Year so it was extremely expensive. We expected a nice and quiet holiday by the beach and we did get that. The beach was beautiful: clear water and soft sand. However, it was not private; it was shared with other 2 resorts (which cost a lot less) and, as it was public, many locals also stopped by.

The room was standard, small, but with full amenities. There were lots of bugs around so beware!

The food was average and on the expensive side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumbleBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just finishing a fantastic stay at Le Vimarn Cottage & Spa, this resort is a nice haven just two hours form Bangkok. Ao Phrao beach is certainly a very nice spot on Koh Samet Island. We spent a day on a hired motorbike looking around the island and the other resorts and other beaches on the island seemed extremely busy full of weekenders from Bangkok, not too mention they are over-commercialised with beach sellers, inflatable and sun loungers (that might sound snobby, but if you're looking for a luxury quiet beach haven, Ao Phrao is it!).

We took a private car from Bangkok airport and got to the pier in just less than 2 hours, this was a slightly more expensive way to travel, you can get a metered taxi, but no guarantee of the fair, or a minivan or public bus. We paid 3,500BHT for the luxury of getting to the pier in less than 2 hours.

Le Vimarn have complimentary scheduled speed boat transfer scheduled throughout the day. We arrived at the pier at 8am, which meant we would have a 3 hour wait until the first speed boat transfer. On arrival at the pier the driver dropped us at a different pier (not the one that has the complimentary Le Vimarn transfer). I was expecting this and knew that they would try and sell us an alternate speed boat transfer. Due to the 3 hour wait I was happy to pay for an additional transfer. We easily got the quoted 2000THB down to 1500THB for 2 people and think we could have got it cheaper if we pushed hard.

We arrived at the resort early (8.30AM) and were met on the beach, bags taken care of while we waiting on the beach until our room was ready around 11AM.

Room was very nice, with large bathroom, large bed, flat screen TV, mini bar etc etc.

The beach has 3 resorts on it so it is really just a place to relax and spend the day on the beach. We hired a motorbike for a day from the security check point just up the hill from the resort (<5mins walk) for 500THB per day. This meant that we could explore the island easily and had dinner away from the resort on one night. This offered great value as taxi's were 200THB each per way, motorbikes can be hired more cheaply from the main town if you're on a budget. Also restaurants away from this resort are cheaper than on Ao Phroa.

Ao Phroa is on the sunset side of the island which does make for very nice sunset drinks.

There is a small shop near the south end of the beach that sells cheap water and cans of beer. About half the price of the hotel. We also went for massages along the beach (north end) that were quite a bit cheaper than the resort spa. We didn't try the resort spa, but others have reviewed that it is very nice.

I would definitely recommend this resort to a couple looking to relax and unwind. Not much for kids, although we did see quite a few families here. Nice infinity pool. Breakfast was very nice, wide range of food varying per day with attentive staff.

There are a couple of vehicles moving along the beach that does spoil the tranquillity slightly, there is a little bit of building work up the road, but we couldn't hear this. We are off to Paradee for two nights next so suspect that will offer true tranquillity. Le Vimarn is a fair bit more affordable so we opted to try both resorts.

Side note, we could see no evidence of the oil spill from last year, the beach was lovely and pristine with clear waters.

I hope that this review is helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room not near the entrance to the beach (south side, right of hotel map) - will be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Samet
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.6 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.7 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lima Coco Resort
Lima Coco Resort
#5 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa

Property: Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Address: 40/11 Moo 4, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa is a unique tropical Boutique Resort for an idyllic stay that will call you back again and again. Clustered on the gentle slope of a hilly cove overlooking a quiet bay beach is your stylish retreat from the world. Supremely comfortable individual cottages all with balconies, some with your own outdoor spa that look down onto a peaceful curved bay of sparkling sea and fine sand. The cottage cluster centers around a superb infinity pool, a world class spa and a restaurant offering a most interesting and comprehensive menu.Le Vimarn attracts sophisticated and discriminating international guests year after year. A dream location that will last in your memory for a lifetime ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vimarn Cottages And Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages Hotel Koh Samet
Le Vimarn Hotel
Le Vimarn Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing