We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Beach break”
Review of Ao Prao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ao Prao Resort
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

One of 3 hotels on an isolated beach away from the busy side of Koh Samet. Of the 3 hotels La Viramen looked a higher end spa hotel, Ao Prao a good quality set up and the Coco Beach looked a more budget set up.
Ao Prao was a 15min speed boat ride from the mainland which is about 2.5 hrs east of the airport in Bangkok. A good initial impression with a waiting area and check in facility at the dock side and room for parking if needed.
Hotel itself was well run with excellent staff.
The beach for our stay was immaculate and the sea clear and warm.
Rooms are individual huts, well equipped, but some steps to the higher ones up the hill.
The only downside would be the rest of the island, the small town is a 10 min truck taxi ride away - but it was a little busy and full of backpackers for us.Roads are pretty bad.
Across the 3 hotels there are about 5 restaurants - so you can vary where to eat.
Prices are not that bad if you compare them to what you'd pay in a UK hotel - but higher than the typical Thai prices of the mainland.
A great place for a beachside break with water sports, trips and the beach to enjoy.

Room Tip: beach side rooms for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Ao Prao is a secluded bay on Ko Samet, which has not been spoiled by over development and overcrowding. Comfortable cottages set up the hillside overlooking a beautiful sandy beach. Welcoming and helpful staff. Not cheap, but worth every penny.
21/2 hours from Bangkok and a short speedboat ride makes it easy to get at. Better mid- week, as relatively empty

Room Tip: Higher c outages are cooler and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Koh Samet is a very convenient 2.5 hour drive and 30 minute ferry from Bangkok so it is no wonder it is such a popular destination. Ao Prao Resort is a premium resort on a very beautiful and clean part of the island. It has everything you might want from a beach holiday, nice rooms, good service (apart from one glitch - see below), reasonable (but expensive) food, a beautiful beach, clean & clear water and a nice reef to snorkel on. The infinity pool at the hotel maybe small but even though we were there in high-season it was never busy and was a lovely place to relax and take in the beautiful view.
There are a couple of issues, the rest of the island is dreadful; dirty, poorly maintained and if you are to believe the guidebooks, dangerous for tourists due to robberies and ineffective police. The sea near the main village (on the other side of the island) was full of speedboats and jet skis and the restaurants and cafes were loud and full of the type of tourists that we prefer to get away from. We ventured out once during our trip and decided not to do so again. This meant we had to eat at the restaurants at the resort (which is actually 3 resorts in one) and the service and food at the most reasonable restaurant, Lima Coca was truly terrible.
Our service issue was as follows. We were a party of 6 and I thought I had booked a cottage with two bedrooms for my wife and two children and another one room cottage for my wife's parents. When we turned up we had two one bedroom cottages with a (very poor quality) extra bed in each one, this would have made for a pretty dismal holiday! I had to go and sort out getting (and paying for) another room, not the best start to the trip. The issue was compounded when on two occasions they told us the third bedroom was ready and both time it was not.
Finally, beware if it is your first time going, the map giving directions to the harbour to get the ferry is absolutely awful.
So in conclusion we enjoyed our stay, we would go back but it could be so much more appealing if the island as a whole was properly managed (it is a national park!) and the tourist infrastructure improved to make it more inviting.

Room Tip: Get a room near the beach, the rooms at the back of the resort are up a steep hill, not pleasant in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Westynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Traveled there between 27 Apr - 2 May 2012.

We took a 3-hr bus ride down from Bangkok, for travelers who is looking for directions, you may purchase the bus tickets easily from Ekkamai Bus Terminal, situated near the BTS Ekkamai station. Exit left of the station, and you will pass by a mini 7-11 store behind it would be the bus terminal. Look for the counter with coach bus bound for Banhe Pier.

Early in the morning we set out to Banhe Pier, from there we waited for the ferry to the resort. Tip: Do not wear any covered shoes, leather shoes, or shoes that required some time to untie.
You would need to take off ur shoes as soon as u leave the speedboat Your feet will touch the sand and waters of Ao Phrao!

They welcomed us with a drink and showed us to our room. I booked their Deluxe Seaview Room, literally facing the sea. Quite a nice room.

We went for canoeing, spa and had very quality meals at their restaurants. Check out the restaurant called Buzz, 2 blocks down from Ao Prao Resort. Quite good.

The only thing that pisses me off are the sand flies on the sand, and the beach is poorly maintained. The sand flies followed us even to the waters while we were canoeing.

Room Tip: Select a room nearer to the beach, because at night the place is REALLY dark and difficulty in walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Valkerie2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The beach is amazing - a paradise of a place. Resort is pretty and different but let down in places - service is patchy and everything winds down EARLY. Arriving on the first night at 9pm, turned up at one of the restaurants at 9.30pm and the guy clearly didn't want us to eat there although it opened until 10.30. We did, and he warmed up a bit. Room was picturesque but basic for the price and in need of a refresh.. Air con was extremely old/loud and kept us awake. In summary, great for families due to the beach and good for couples if you want a quiet break but try staying up with a beer past 10pm and they'll start clearing up around you!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Well where should I start!!!! The holiday was booked as a surprise break for my fiancée and I was expecting something special. The pictures in the holiday brochure were excellent and the previous reviews had been reasonably good, however this was not the case.

Accommodation: The rooms are nice, very simple in design but have everything you need for your stay. They are clean and drinks replenished daily. The lower bungalows are much better situated then the ones on the hills and have easy access to most things.

Restaurants: The resort restaurant is extremely expensive and I don't even mean English prices expensive! We were half expecting to pay alittle bit more because of the location however do not expect to visit here thinking you would spend less than £100.00 a day. A can of coke is 85,000 baht which equates to just under £2.00 and they add 10% service charge and 7% tax to all bills. We bought one tonic water and a coffee, with the service charge and tax it cost us about £6-7.00. On top of that the restaurant food is highly priced and to be honest isn't worth the money! There are two other restaurants within the resorts, all more expensive than England but the cheapest is Lima Coca and I would probably recommend eating here for the most part of the stay.

Service: this is terrible, you could be waiting all night to get your food and they really don't seem to be that interested in serving you! (probably because the service charge is included they don't think they have to bother) We waited nearly an hour to get our bill even after we had asked for it on four separate occasion.

Facilities: Swimming pool is tiny, only about 8 beds round it. The beach is lovely but extremely dirty! (Will try and post some pictures) even when the managers saw the state of the beach rather than doing something to fix it they just left it for the whole day. Children were running around when there was light bulbs, smashed glass etc by their feet. You can't see very clearly from the pictures but the items on the beach were things like dirty tooth brushes, crisp packets, syringes, plastic bags, broken glass bottles and general waste.

This was a very disappointing stay for us and would not recommend this hotel or group of resorts to anyone. personally I would avoid it at all costs, not worth your money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Star_y2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having been travelling around this was the worst resort we stayed in. The food was poor, the staff didn't seem to want to serve you, we waited 45 min for two drinks and paid £12 for two drinks and a pancake (the same food was about £3- £5 in our last resort). We don't mind paying more if there was good service but that wasn't the case. All week we had to go and find the staff as they would do everything to avoid you, especially in the Resturant. I would not go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
743 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
640 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Prao Resort

Address: 60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range: £146 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Prao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AO PRAO RESORT - Located in a stunning location at the northern headland of lovely Ao Prao beach, on the west cost of Koh Samet (Samet Island), renowned for its crystalline white sand beaches. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok, or one hour from Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. For the active holiday makers ... Sailing, windsurfing, snorkeling, diving, fishing, boating, sunbathing, swimming, bike riding or relaxing in your own tropies style cottage set in luxuriant greenery. A vacation on a tropical island has never been better than this. Ao Prao is a resort village located on a secluded beach with spacious cottages , first-class facilities, fantastic food and accommodation that offers real style, comfort and warmth. Here, you are miles away from everyday worries with all the beauty and wonder of a tropical paradise. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and also offers modern facilities for a company seminar or conference for up to 70 delegates. Ao Prao is a tropic island vacation resort that is beyond your expectations. Free hotel shuttle speed boat from/to resort (For hotel guests only) From Seree Pier mainland : 11.00 Hrs., 13.30 Hrs., 16.00 Hrs. From Koh Samet : 10.00 Hrs., 12.30 Hrs., 15.00 Hrs. **Please stand by at Seree Pier (hotel pier) 20 minutes before shuttle boat time. **If missing the shuttle boat, extra cost of a private speed boat will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Sawasdee, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ao Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Prao Hotel Rayong
Ao Prao Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing