We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice at Koh Samet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ao Prao Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ao Prao Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good choice at Koh Samet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Beautiful and quite beach to escape from the crowded street. Staffs are friendly and helpful and room is clean and comfort. Especially, good arrangement on speed boat transport between ferry pier to resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmlho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    162
    60
    24
    14
See reviews for
88
156
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

A quiet and beautiful spot, perfect for a three -four days stay. There are three resorts on this beach. Ao Prao Resort is a little bit run down. We stayed here in low season, generally this resort has avarage or bad service, all over, except at the massage on the beach. I got acute ill with very high fever in the evening, but got no help at all from the reception. They did not call a doctor, and did not care at all, very unlike my earlier experiences in Thailand. Most important for a hotel at this leveø is to take care of the guests! I am glad I had a collegue that helped me.
The breakfast was poor, and the dinner touristic. Not Thai at all. All over this place does not deserve four star. It has a great potential, but need apparantly a new management.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NordFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed there one night during the weekend. The resort location is great if you prefer a quiet relaxing time. The price is a bit high but I guess you pay for the location and the convenience of no hassle traveling there and back from the pier as they have their private speedboat for the guests. Food is tasty with big portion. Stuff were friendly. Samed tend to be too busy during the weekend but this beach is on the other side of the main beach so it was perfect for us to had a chill time. Taxi to the other side is available if you need to see all the happenings on the island which you shouldn't miss once you are already there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I spent a few days alone in this resort. Arrived by bus from Bangkok in Rayong after 4hours, i was shocked about the pier.... Nasty, smelly, stinky, waste everywhere. The hotel got its own speedboat to akih Samet, which is better, because the Pier in Koh Samet is as horrible as the one in Rayong.
Rooms are big, spatial, clean and for one person, they got even two beds. You can stay in a beachfront villa or in the garden.
The beach itself is very calm and beautiful. I was here in june and there were a few guests (about 20?) in the resort. Cocktails and meals are cheap and really really good and tasty. Stuff is friendly and kind. Ao Prao shares their beach with another resort and for Dinner, you have three different restaurants to eat. (I recommand the pizzas and thai food). If you love massages, don't miss out!

Very happy i chose this hotel and i would come back, again and again.

Room Tip: Every room is good, bût if you like to wake up by seeing the beach and the sea, take a beachfront vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Easy access, comfort at the right level. Very well positioned, on a large sand beach, safe.
Perfect for family with kids, they can play on the sand and you don't need to leave your seat to have a look on them.
Only 2 drawbacks : a small swimming pool and a very slow service at restaurant. But the food is ok and the employees are doing their best to serve you.
But globally a place to recommend, not too far from Bangkok.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

One of 3 hotels on an isolated beach away from the busy side of Koh Samet. Of the 3 hotels La Viramen looked a higher end spa hotel, Ao Prao a good quality set up and the Coco Beach looked a more budget set up.
Ao Prao was a 15min speed boat ride from the mainland which is about 2.5 hrs east of the airport in Bangkok. A good initial impression with a waiting area and check in facility at the dock side and room for parking if needed.
Hotel itself was well run with excellent staff.
The beach for our stay was immaculate and the sea clear and warm.
Rooms are individual huts, well equipped, but some steps to the higher ones up the hill.
The only downside would be the rest of the island, the small town is a 10 min truck taxi ride away - but it was a little busy and full of backpackers for us.Roads are pretty bad.
Across the 3 hotels there are about 5 restaurants - so you can vary where to eat.
Prices are not that bad if you compare them to what you'd pay in a UK hotel - but higher than the typical Thai prices of the mainland.
A great place for a beachside break with water sports, trips and the beach to enjoy.

Room Tip: beach side rooms for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leningradskaya, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Ao Prao is a secluded bay on Ko Samet, which has not been spoiled by over development and overcrowding. Comfortable cottages set up the hillside overlooking a beautiful sandy beach. Welcoming and helpful staff. Not cheap, but worth every penny.
21/2 hours from Bangkok and a short speedboat ride makes it easy to get at. Better mid- week, as relatively empty

Room Tip: Higher c outages are cooler and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.2 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#5 of 47 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Prao Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Prao Resort

Property: Ao Prao Resort
Address: 60 Moo 4 | Phe, Mueang Rayong, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Prao Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AO PRAO RESORT - Located in a stunning location at the northern headland of lovely Ao Prao beach, on the west cost of Koh Samet (Samet Island), renowned for its crystalline white sand beaches. Only 2 1/2 hours by road from Bangkok, or one hour from Pattaya, followed by a short sea crossing in our shuttle boat. For the active holiday makers ... Sailing, windsurfing, snorkeling, diving, fishing, boating, sunbathing, swimming, bike riding or relaxing in your own tropies style cottage set in luxuriant greenery. A vacation on a tropical island has never been better than this. Ao Prao is a resort village located on a secluded beach with spacious cottages , first-class facilities, fantastic food and accommodation that offers real style, comfort and warmth. Here, you are miles away from everyday worries with all the beauty and wonder of a tropical paradise. This is the perfect vacation spot for couples or families and also offers modern facilities for a company seminar or conference for up to 70 delegates. Ao Prao is a tropic island vacation resort that is beyond your expectations. Free hotel shuttle speed boat from/to resort (For hotel guests only) From Seree Pier mainland : 11.00 Hrs., 13.30 Hrs., 16.00 Hrs. From Koh Samet : 10.00 Hrs., 12.30 Hrs., 15.00 Hrs. **Please stand by at Seree Pier (hotel pier) 20 minutes before shuttle boat time. **If missing the shuttle boat, extra cost of a private speed boat will be applied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ao Prao Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Prao Hotel Rayong
Ao Prao Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing