We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Two nights on Samet” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malibu Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malibu Garden Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two nights on Samet”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I first visited Malibu resort about 10 years ago and I wasn't impressed then, the only reason I have returned with my young family is we couldn't find accommodation anywhere else at such short notice.
After a decade the overall resort hasn't changed including the interior décor, there are still small chalet type rooms full of mosquitoes and a rubber sheet on the bed.
The service has unfortunately got worse , we were left to struggle with our two young children and luggage while the resort employee strode ahead empty handed to show us our room.
The breakfast is still the same cold fried eggs and instant coffee .
The beach is a lot worse than I remember, a lot of plastic and general rubbish littering what could be a very nice beach.
A lot of Cambodian workers now in the bars and restaurants who unfortunately neither understand English or Thai.
The fire juggling show outside the Seahorse 2 on the beach at 8pm was very good though but hardly a good reason to endure the rest of the trip.
I wouldn't recommend the Malibu resort garden while there are other hotels and resorts on Samet.
VERY POOR.

Room Tip: Choose another resort !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    22
    24
    20
See reviews for
24
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I've stayed here more than once, mainly for the location. It's also one of the few places to stay on the island that most tour operators will offer you. The check in can take an age...go & get lunch at a nearby bar if you arrive early on the boat as reception will merely ask you to wait for check in...that could be three hours later! The rooms are quite pleasant for an island resort, basic & clean, but with dubious decor, we were left with a huge photo of a baby grinning, on the walls! The swimming pool can be infested with mosquitoes, but a nearby shop sells sprays, along with snacks & plenty of alcohol. On this occasion i was travelling with a group of 6 & we needed a definite booking as it was the weekend of the King's birthday, otherwise i would have done what i normally do...get off the boat & look around for overnight accommodation. You will find better. No matter how early you arrive for breakfast it WILL be cold....& get your own milk from the shop as they don't provide it at breakfast. All in all, an alright place if that's what your travel agent offers you, but if you are a small group, see what the island has to offer when you arrive & check the water is working in the rooms & that you have hot water!

Room Tip: A room further away from the beach, unless you like the crowds queuing for the ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyFordBarfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This guest house charge a rate of 2500 baht per night, when the rooms are in the level of 800 baht tops! We saw other guest houses here and they charge a lot less! Around 800. Pluse, no free wi fi here! they charge 50 baht per day! And no one of the team is nice.... Spend your money some place else...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Guildford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The Rooms were poor with noisy air conditioning which made the walls wet, food poor and we had to compete with roaches for the food who scrambled up from below the tables. Two other places we stayed on the same beach were lovely. They don't really have a front desk just some people who give out keys and can't help with much else. It's cheaper than the other hotels but trust me they are worth the extra.... I liked the beach and the restaurants were good. Everything shuts early but that is part of the appeal. You can walk to the next much bigger beach if you want more action. I also loved the fact that we arrived with our cases and discovered there was no pier and we had to jump into the sea and walk up the beach with our cases on our heads. They did help us here. So in overview, very basic and I couldn't wait to move to the next hotel. If I was on a bigger budget we would not have stayed. The location is great and some of the other hotels offer rooms looking at the beach. We ended our stay on the far end of the beach in a beautiful teak bungalow with hammocks and so much more engaging staff. It was not a lot more expensive either.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Benji69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Booked this place for 8 night. A big mistake. We had a superior room which was grotty. We moved to a VIP room which was even worse. The only difference was that it cost 1000 baht more. Small dark a dingy. The breakfast was the worst I have ever had. No cereals, bacon was chronic, cold sausage, one juice orange which was horrible. Tea and coffee. Make it yourself. Sugar and milk All in packets. Toast was great lol. Service at breakfast was zero. Like others have said the swimming pool was in need of some attention. Maybe change the water and throw away the grotty plastic chairs. On the whole not worth the money. Try some where else. Samet is a beautiful place but keep away from Malibu.

Room Tip: Read the reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fajman j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great location,with the rooms onto the beach at the back,and straight up to the strip on the front,felt very safe walking around on my own,everyone very friendly,far enough away from any noise,rooms very clean and decent size.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We were Koh Samet during the peak season and we were able to book this hotel last minute while all other hotels were fully booked. The hotel is in good location as it is just beside the Cabana and the beach just right in front. The beach is beatiful and many water activities, pretty suitable for family and couples.

Well, the hotel room was old but still maintenant in an average level. All facilities such as heater, TV and air con still in function. But the breakfast buffet comes with limited variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.4 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Garden Resort

Property: Malibu Garden Resort
Address: 77 Wong Deuan Beach, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Malibu Garden Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sawasdee so you can book your Malibu Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing