We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vongdeuan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vongdeuan Resort
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Duncan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Spent a week at the Vongdeuan Resort on Koh Samet after a month of travelling around Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. We stayed in one of the Thai cottages, small but it had everything we needed. On the weekend the beach was a little busy but the rest of the time very relaxing. Enjoyed both the beach and pool. Good breakfast included with our accommodation and although there were other choices down the beach, we ate most of our other meals at their restaurant. We found the staff friendly, especially at the restaurant where some of the waitress tried to help us with our Thai phrases.
Somethings to consider when booking is that they are constructing a new restaurant and it was quite noisy near our cottage (so we spent all day at the beach or pool). Also expect to get a little wet on your arrival. The barge that takes you from their boat doesn't quite make to the shore. For those that like nightlife, this may not be the place. Some the other resorts have music in the evenings but not much is going on. Another thing that perhaps they could improve in responding to emails. I wanted confirmation of our booking and some instructions as to where and how to catch their boat but didn't get a response until a day after I arrived. Luckily that's where tripadvisor and the internet helped out. All in all, a great way to end a six week holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    156
    96
    22
    20
See reviews for
95
173
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The bus ride from Bangkok was 3.5 hours but over 4 hours on the way back. It was helpful that the resort has it's own ferry to take you direct to the resort even if you do have to wade ashore! We had the cheapest accommodation in a semi detached bungalow that was perfectly adequate and a pleasant walk down to the beach. The beach was not as perfect white sand as I had imagined and the ferry and other boats were moored in the bay-I do not like swimming around boats and anchors. Snorkelling was possible but mainly over coral and ragged rocks so not good without foot and hand covering. Breakfast was comprehensive and good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailVSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This 'resort' is not a resort. If you bare that in mind before you go and have reasonable expectations of this basic but busy accommodation and island, you won't be disappointed. The Thai huts are great - very small but with all the amenities you would need/want (television, movie player, hot water, A/C, fan, cupboard storage, small closet space), simple but cute decor, and very clean. The bathroom is newly renovated and has ample (and dry! an important note when your have a toilet-sink-shower in one small space) storage for shaving kits, cosmetic bags, change of clothes, etc. The little porch out front was very nice. With mosquito spray, you could sit out there and enjoy the view. The restaurant food was tasty and reasonably priced. The location is very good - directly on the beach with a long stretch of sand along the hotel grounds. The tide/erosion has made the sandy area along the water quite narrow though, especially as the afternoon wore on. During the very high season (Xmas-New Year) it was very crowded with people and sometimes difficult to get a beach chair. The 'resort' beach is not private, so anyone can come along and make themselves a spot. Of note, the beach area tended to be fairly noisy during the day. Not only were there a lot of people, there are a dozen boats in the little harbour coming and going with various tours and ferrying people to and from the mainland. There are a lot of hawkers who travel up and down the beach selling sarongs, handicrafts, and food (bbq chicken, rice, fruit, etc.). The food was tasty and cheap - a very good lunch alternative. You get to know the sellers after a day or two and they really appreciate your business. They do not hassle you but appear frequently. There are quite a few bar and restaurant options just down the beach, which was a nice selling point for dinner time. The beach is beautiful after dark, when all the hotel and restaurants are lit up. Local fire spinners (and some from Cambodia) come along each evening to perform hoping for tips. At this time of night, things could be fairly serene. We were there over the holidays so there was a buzz of activity, but the overall feel of the island was quite relaxed. Vongdeuan has complimentary boat transfer from the mainland to the resort and vice versa, which is useful. Otherwise, this will be an additional fee. There is also a provincial park fee you have to pay when you disembark the boat - a surprise to us but not overly expensive. The staff overall were fine. A few staffers seemed apathetic, but they were mostly nice and quite helpful. Xmas dinner was an added cost upon arrival, but you will find that at every hotel in Thailand on Xmas eve or day. The Xmas dinner/even was fairly good, and they put on a great effort to make it memorable. The music wasn't our style, but they had traditional thai dancers (hotel staff), prizes, etc. If you have reasonable standards, I would recommend Vongdeuan.

Room Tip: NOTE: very few huts are near the beach. Most of the accommodations are located behind the beachfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,019 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This place is quite nice. Staff are alright, sometimes a bit apathetic but at other times really friendly.

It took us around 5-6 hours to get to the hotel from Bangkok using the bus and the free ferry direct to the hotel (leaves twice a day I think). I would have liked to have stayed longer if I would have known it would have taken that long to get there.

Room was spotlessly clean. We had one of the cheaper rooms which were nice - comfortable bed, large bathroom with good hot shower, TV with english channels, wifi in the room as well as throughout the resort and a little balcony area. The only downside was that the cheaper rooms tend to be connected to another room via a simple wooden door which is locked but you can still hear pretty much everything that goes on next door so not that private. The more expensive places looked really nice.

Breakfast was okay on the whole although the freshly made omelettes were excellent.

The pool is very small, much smaller than it looks like in the photos, and the beach outside when it's at high tide (which was most of the time we were there) was extremely narrow. There also seemed to be quite a lot of boats on the beach so it wasn't that great for swimming. As it faces east only one side of the beach gets the sun in the late afternoons but you can always move up there.

The beaches to the north looked better although I'm not sure how you get there. We explored the beaches to the South which were quieter but not much better at high tide at least.

We went on a weekend when it was very busy and the beach was packed so go during the week if you want more space. We ate dinner at the hotel's restaurant too which was alright.

Room Tip: Get one of the more expensive rooms if you want more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I would definitely not recommend this accommodation. The staff seemed so very unhappy, not very helpful. Near the end of high season and perhaps tired of foreigners? My husband and I are on our honeymoon and stated this clearly both on our booking and check in. They put is in a adjoining bungalow that we could hear our "room mates" every word and even whispers. We moved the next day. Much better stand alone bungalow. Went for massage on the beach (not part of the resort, to the right of the pool) and have never felt so unsafe. As soon as we were both relaxed and vulnerable some very creepy characters started lurking around. One even picked up my purse!! Could not finish the massage as more creepy local gangsters started hanging around. This is my 3rd time to Thailand and I have travelled all over this beautiful country but have never felt unsafe till I was here. I trust my intuition and we got the heck out of here after our second night. The beach was beautiful though. Gorgeous water and pristine white sand.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austria
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent 5 nights at the resort and frankly could have hardly been happier about our choice. The location on Vongeuan beach is beautiful, the resort itself is very well kept and constantly tidied up by an army of workers, the pool overlooking the sea is stunning, clean and fresh. We had a bungalow accommodation a few meters from the beach that looked exactly like the pictures, spacious, airy and more than good enough for us – with minibar, hot shower, satellite tv and a small terrace. The restaurant was also very good, they had no problems at catering for two vegans and even reduced their prices accordingly, we ended up eating there every day. The buffet breakfast was very generous and again, there was a lot even for us (salads, fresh fruits, toasts and at least one stir fried dish). We wanted mainly to relax, but we ended up buying some very cheap masks and went snorkelling around the bay and it was awesome (the sea life even very close to shore is impressive). My boyfriend also tried parasailing, which was quite expensive but apparently a lot of fun. Both sunrise and sunset were extremely beautiful (especially sunrise on the beach) and there were quite few critters around to look at (squirrels and birds, including hornbills, for example). It was perfect for us but I must admit that most customer were either young families, couples or elderly people, as Vongdeuan beach is definitely not for party animals (other beaches not far away would be a better choice in this sense). However, I would recommend Vongdeuan resort any day for whoever is looking for relaxation in beautiful surroundings. By the way – we found the staff nice and polite and never had a problem with them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LisaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in January - 3 in a Thai house and 1 in a cheaper cottage. We thought the resort was nice, the bungalows clean and quiet and the restaurant food good and decently priced. Probably one of the best resort on that beach. We thought the breakfast was not ground breaking though (but decent - just boring). The reception and "towel" staff was not smiling and not friendly. Only the restaurant staff was. Also we did not have hot water in the cottage. At this price it's just not right. Not a bad place at all, just nothing to rave about.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClairettedeLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.5 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
411 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samed Cabana Resort
Samed Cabana Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vongdeuan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vongdeuan Resort

Property: Vongdeuan Resort
Address: 22/2 Moo 4 | Ban Phe, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vongdeuan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vongdeuan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vongdeuan Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing