We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sleep!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lost Resort Koh Samet

The Lost Resort Koh Samet
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Samet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lost Resort Koh Samet
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good sleep!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Traveled with my friend and we stayed in Koh Samet for 2 nights. To be honest, after reading the comments how dreadful the owner Dave is, I was surprised when he replied my email for the reservation and booking. He seems very friendly. So, I'm stayed in this resort for 2 nights. Situated in so called ' Koh Samet's Party Beach of Ao Phai', this resort is the hidden gem of Ao Phai. Very quiet and suitable to the nature lovers. We have a good sleep and the room clean indeed! However, I would like to comment about the shower head, the water splash is not strong enough. Another disadvantage is this resort quite far from the beach compared to other B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augustus_Chai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    13
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We arrived at Samet with a very small budget in mind. Dave found us wandering around and told us about his place. He was very straight forward about it not being close to the beach (although it is only a 3-4 minutes walk). After reading the reviews on here about how dreadful Dave and the hotel is, I was actually quite pleasantly surprised!

Dave was courteous and straight forward and the rooms were better than anything else at the same price on Samet.

For all of those who are slagging him and the hotel off, perhaps if you are looking for something romantic or good for the family, you might look at extending your budget a little bit!?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTravellerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

When booking one month in advance, calling to reconfirm a week before check-in, one would think that the two rooms that we had booked would be waiting for us. Not the case at The Lost Resort.

When arriving with spouse and parents at Koh Samet, carrying all our bags up the road to this place (far from the beach), we are greeted by the rudest Englishman I've ever met. When it turns out that they don't have our booking, he don't apologize and try to make up for it. Instead, he has the decency to tell us that we should know better, than to book with his staff (!) instead of booking through the website (one would think that calling twice and receive a confirmation twice would be enough!). Cause after all, according to the owner, one can't expect more from a place where you pay 800 THB/night. And this is coming from the owner himself!

When it turns out that it's a long weekend and a music festival going on on the island, and everything is fully booked, he refuses to help us with calling any of the other hotels, always coming back to the same thing - that it's ours, not his (!) fault!

I have never met a man being so rude or so unhelpful in my entire life. He himself apparently had no belief in the place he's running, or the staff he's hiring, calling them (in our faces) idiots, drunkards and other impolite things.

After arguing with him for 30 minutes, realizing that we would get nowhere, we decided to go to Tub Tim, where we managed to get their last two bungalows for 600 THB, and were greeted by smiling Thai management and staff.

I would not recommend The Lost Resort to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Kallandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Praries
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

A friend of mine recommened this place. I could not get ahold of anyone who spoke english by calling the phone number on the website, which is strange as the owner is british. We ended up getting a reservation via email. This resort is not on the beach, you have to walk about 3 minutes up hill. This is a good thing as I was able to sleep in without hearing any noise in the morning besides the birds chirping. The bedding is outdated and the bathroom was clean. However if you are just looking for a place to sleep, it is good. It isnt the best place but it is cheaper than the once ont he beach. It cost 600/night. You have to walk down to the beach to reach restaurants and bars. If you want to be able to eat and swim at your resort stay somewhere else. We were there to party so either way we were exploring the island anyways. Also you will have to take a taxi to the main strip of the island which was about 200 baht split between how many people are in the truck.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Arrived on Samed after a long trip up Thailand from Ao Nang, Krabi. The sun was setting as we took the half an hour boat ride from the mainland. We arrived in darkness and the hunt started for a place to stay. We took a taxi to Silversands area of Samed and viewed a couple of places when we were approached by a British guy called Dave. Being british I took comfort in this and he said he owned a place up the road we could take a look at. We agreed and hauled our bags up a steep slope for about 10 minutes when we arrived at the foot of about 20- 30 steps into complete darkness. It was like deliverence meets thailand very creepy. Anyway Frankenstein (sorry Dave) showed us up to the rooms. After a long day of travelling the dull, uninterseting, cell like rooms were actually quite appealing. After an our or so of arriving there was a power cut the whole property and island for that matter went into complete shut down and there was a thunder storm. I knocked at Daves place down the hill for advice on what was happening he was very laid back and seemed totally uninterested. I was bitten to bits by mosquitos as aircon was down. It shouldbe called the last resort never mind the lost resort. It was too remote, dark and felt very unsafe..!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

The photo on this site's profile looks really nice. But when you see this place in real life, it doesn't look anything like the photo. The room itself was fine, but for the price it wasn't worth it. No water pressure in the showers. The location is so-so, it's a close walk to the beach but the resort is by itself in the middle of nowhere. And not in a funky cool backpacker way. There is no vibe at all here. There's no place to hangout, no pool, no bar, no restaurant, just a few rooms. But they are renovating so it might be okay sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Stayed at the resort for one night while scouting for a place to sleep by the beach. Very quiet and calm setting with nice but somewhat overgrown gardens. Close to main road going south, but not a big problem as there's hardly any traffic after sunset. The beach is 5 minutes away on foot, and there's a couple of shops and laundrys on the way.

Rooms are basic and quite worn, but not too bad value for money. Dim lights, cogwebs and dust on light fixtures and a rusty ceiling fan. Plus for a pretty new, clean and virtually noiseless, efficient aircon. Bathroom has flush toilet and was clean enough. Most dissappointing thing was the rock hard mattress, it was totally worn out. The middle part was completely flattened while there still was a little bit of softness at the edges.

If you're travelling on a tight budget this place might be perfect. Loved the tranquil quietness in the evenings and mornings, knowing that the beach is only a short stroll down the road.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
1.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vimarn Samed Resort
Vimarn Samed Resort
#17 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lost Resort Koh Samet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lost Resort Koh Samet

Property: The Lost Resort Koh Samet
Address: Ko Samet, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing