We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, but not the perfect skiing base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I came here on a skiing holiday with my wife and four kids. After having read all the reports on tripadvisor I had expected to be blown away. We had a great holiday and we enjoyed the stay, but I don't think we will come back.

Entourage

The hotel has a very Austrian decoration. A lot of wood, copper lamps and statues of local saints. It is certainly cosy, but a little outdated and not quite what we expected when booking a 5* hotel.

Staff

They are friendly and eager to please. Good job guys!

Kitchen

We had half- board, which means a great breakfast buffet, tea with cakes and sandwiches at 3 pm and a 4/5 course dinner. There was a lot of variation. The food was fresh and well cooked, often sourced from the hotels own farms. The quality of the evening meals varied from tasty local cooking to exquisite. My kids, who are notoriously critical of any food they don't know, loved it. The cold fish is great, don't go for fish as a main course.

Thermal baths, sauna, spa

The pools and sauna are great. The hotel should spend a little money on small improvements, like mending cracks and old tiles. These small things taint an otherwise perfect experience.

Rooms

The rooms are comfortable and clean, but also a little outdated. Housekeeping is very efficient.

Skiing from the hotel

It is interesting that many of the guests in this hotel are 55+ and spend their time walking in the mountains or in the spa. It is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel to the ski-lift. This is not impossible, but not comfortable either, especially after a long day skiing. The hotel might impove this by supplying lockers for skis and shoes by the lift. As it stands, I would advise this hotel as a spa or a hiking base, but not so much as a skiing hotel.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPulverer, Inhaber at Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013
Google Translation

wir bedanken uns herzlich für Ihre Bewertung und es freut uns außerodentlich, dass Sie uns Ihre Familie sich in unserem Hotel sehr wohlgefühlt haben und sich gut erholen konnten. Wir sind ständig dabei unsere Qualität zu verbessern und werden auch im Frühjahr einen neuen Schi- und Radkeller gestalten. Auch im Ort sind für nächsten Winter neue Lifte und Abfahrten geplant.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie uns Ihre Familie bald wieder in unserem Hause begrüßen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen in der Zwischenzeit alles Liebe und Gute
Ihre Familie Siegrun und August Pulverer mit herzlichen Mitarbeitern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

We have been back to Pulverer Hotel for a weekend after the beautiful days of 2012.
The hotel is really perfect. Walking distance from the chairlift, big parking and fantastic Thermal Area.
The restaurant is great and this year I had the sensation it improved with really special dishes.
The personnel is extremely kind and everybody is able to speak also italian.
The attention to the customer is at an extremely high level, and in the restaurant you find always menu and daily suggestions in Italian.
We will be back again, for sure.....may be in summer for some mountain bike excursions...
Thank you Pulverer family!

Room Tip: Le Junior Suite da 42 mq sono veramente comode.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We took four nights in October, had a pleasant stay. The rooms, restaurant and pools were clean, the temperature in the indoor pool has really probably 32 °C, the outer pool is also o.k. They have a good parking place, personal very kind. There are a good possibilities to go for a walk in the area.
The breakfast was always o.k., the quality of food in the evening was good, but to the taste we are not sure. The taste is so individual, that you must tray yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spurny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It is really a excellent hotel where the top of the top is rapresented by the wellness center.
The thermalspa has a wonderful Beauty&Massage team, a lot of treatments are offered with expertise and kindness.
I have never seen such a variety of saunas, all fo them very nice and comfortable.
An very good restaurant completes the view of the hotel, congratulations to the cook...

Nicola Florian

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICOLA-FLORIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have been to this old family run hotel twice, and can warmly recommend it. The staff is particularly excellent - there are more than enough personnel in all areas of the hotel. They are all extremely well-trained and always attentive.
The spa area is great, with good swiming pool, whirl pools and saunas. Super treatments available in the health center. Well-equipped small fitness room. The food is excellent, especially the breakfast buffet.
The hotel itself has a rather old-fashioned charm. It is not a designer boutique hotel, but is very comfortable and pleasing for those, like us, who prefer not to stay in state-of-the-art modern hotels, which can be quite soulless.
We are already planning to go back next Easter!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBVienna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have booked in a Panorama apartment and was offered the price published on the Internet. The hotel is very comfortable with fantastic and helpful staff from the reception to the spa staff, to the restaurant etc. The room was large, spotless as expected in a five-star hotel, but nothing special. However, there are many details that suggest urgent refurbishing and maybe a more modern organization. In the bathroom taps are very old and a couple of tiles had cracks. The bathroom supplies included just soap, shampoo and body lotion. The closet’s door opened only partially because of the shelves’ excessive dimensions.
The spa is new, very efficient, offering many treatments with skillful staff, a real highlight of the hotel, but the pool area looks oldish and not quite well organized. One of the outside pools was empty and dirty. On your departure day, 20 euros are charged if you want to use the wellness area, whereas I have been in many similar (even four-star) structures that welcome you to stay on your last day.
As far as the restaurant is concerned, the food is very good with nice buffets from breakfast until dinner. The hotel also offers a very nice buffet with soups, cakes, cheese; an appreciated afternoon break after skiing. Again the restaurant is large but not well organized so that, in case of buffets you often see lines of people waiting to get their food, not very proper in this kind of hotels. Here and at the bar refurbishing is needed.
All in all a nice experience (the spa in particular) but overpriced compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bassodonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I've been to this hotel more than a dozen times in the last 20 years and will give you a quick review about it that will tell you nothing but the truth. Also I'm writing this in English, for everyone to understand.
First of all, the hotel has clearly seen its best days, no one can negate that. If you're looking for a first class 5 start hotel, you are definitely wrong here. Allthough the Hotel has suffered from various problems over the last few years and therefor lost a bit of its glamour and of the exquisite flair it once had, the new management has done a lot to cope for that.
The hotel is simply old and if I hadn't been there those countless times, I would simply get a shock when entering for the first time. Maybe it's me, for I am young and want something modern, but seriously there are statues of saints in their entrance hall.
BUT if you'd ask me, whether I'd recommend that hotel for a vacation or not, I would definitely say yes though. At my latest visit everyone was super friendly, the rooms where clean and the maid service was very good. It was that old countryside flair that I enjoyed. Compared to any other 5 stars hotel I've been with, I wouldn't even give them 4 stars. But anyhow, let's switch to some details:

Rooms: As expected for a hotel with 5 stars everything is fine. Clean, good maid service, actually awesome extras (e.g. I even had a toilett with water cleaning device, they have scales in every room). Some of the better rooms, which are located in the 'old house', which was renovated aprox. 15 years ago, even have golden mountings. Allthough the furniture is kind of old allready, it doesn't look old, most likely renovated, but the furniture is not modern, again it fits the countryside tye, mostly dark wood.

Spa & Sauna: As already mentioned, it's not new, everything is about 15 years old (or even more) The wirlpools once were best of the best, but that's long ago. They have a thermic whirlpool, the water is aprox 28°C - 30°C, not for swimming though, water goes just to the hip. It just contains 3 places to lie down and an area for about 7 people to sit. The rest of the pool is without wirls, and the waterfall features are not working most of the time. For me the water was a bit too cold, and there were mostly children, playing.
Sauna is fine, and as long as there are not too many people, espially foreign people, who sadly know nothing about the sauna culture in Austria and therefor go inside with bathing suits, the Sauna is a Sauna. Nothing special. And old. One new sauna is outside as well.
Swimming pool is a swimming pool.
I can't tell anything about massage and spa treatment.

Food: Breakfast was awesome! They really did a good job there, improving what was bad. As a side note, the whole buffet area was reworked and looks so much better, I was really impressed. Breakfast has everything you want, really. Some included 'lunch' or snack on the afternoon is also available.
Dinner: The appetizer buffet was also awesome, allthough it was mostly the same every day. It was just huge and I had to eat more than I wanted. Regional speciallities were offered, so were international ones. Really the appetizer buffet was also awesome. The rest of the dinner sadly not. Don't get me wrong here, everything was OK. But not more than that, desserts were partly better. Sometimes I wondered if the cook how to cook. They offered 3 choices of main course and as always the choice was meat, fish or veg. But the fish was overcooked and very bland, while the meat was better. The sidedish was something fancy (like I'm used to at these hotel dinners), but they couldn't make up to what they promised on the menu, it was also bland and it seemed like it layed around for half of the day, without flavor and sludgy. But overall it was not too bad really, edible anyways, most likely my standards are too high. Allthough considering the Restaurant has one 'Haube' (Gault Millau rating) and is neighboring or the same as the hotel kitchen, the food should really be better!

Prices: For me the room prices are far too expensive during the Christmas holidays, I can get the same for nearly half the prive (exaggerating maybe), but my family goes there and we gotta spend Christmas together, right?

Well all in all my review might sound negative, but I really enjoyed it there. It was a great time to relax and I will definitely go there again, allthough preferably not during the Christmas holidays. If you're looking for a more exquisite hotel try visiting the Ronacher (allthough double the price, exaggerating again, but nearly) else you will have a nice holiday with friendly serive and familiy business.
(sry for those dozens spelling mistakes)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ramin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPulverer, Inhaber at Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr Ramin,

wir freuen uns, dass Sie nun schon seit mehr als 20 Jahren mit Ihrer Familie in unser Haus kommen. Wir bedanken uns für Ihre umfangreiche Bewertung Ihrer persönlichen Eindrücke!
Es ist uns natürlich klar, dass man als Jugendlicher vielleicht andere Erwartungen als Erwachsener hat, danke aber für die Widergabe des persönlichen Empfindens aus allen Sichtweisen.

Wir sind jährlich im Sinne unserer Kunden bemüht, immer wieder Qualitätsverbesserungen durchzuführen und auch auf das Feedback unserer Gäste einzugehen und daraus wertvolle Tipps und Ideen zu aquierieren. Danke herzlichst für Ihre ehrliche Kritik.

Wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen und verbleiben herzlichst aus einem winterlich-sonnigen mit super Pisten belohnten Bad Kleinkirchheim

Ihre Gastegeber-Familie Siegrun und Gustl Pulverer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Kleinkirchheim
0.8 mi away
Hotel Praegant
Hotel Praegant
#3 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trattlerhof
Hotel Trattlerhof
#1 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel NockResort
Hotel NockResort
#15 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
#6 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almrausch
Hotel Almrausch
#4 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
244 reviews
4.3 mi away
Das Almdorf - World Peace Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer

Address: Thermenstrasse 4, Bad Kleinkirchheim 9546, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Bad Kleinkirchheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bad Kleinkirchheim
Price Range: £191 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star hotel, family-run for 3 generations, on the southern side of the Alps features a 2,100 m² thermal, pool and sauna landscape with a wide range of spa facilities with body treatments like massages, packages, thermal bath as well as cosmetic treatments.Located at the Nockberge National Park, in a sunny high valley at 1,100 metres above sea level, the Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer welcomes you with authentic cordial Carinthian hospitality, a Mediterranean climate and an in-house thermal spring.The rooms and suites at the Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer offer quality relaxation and many luxurious amenities. After a long hiking day or an active day on the slopes, you can spend splendid hours in your room with a beautiful view of the Carinthian mountains or relax in the thermal spa area. The excellent restaurant pampers you with many culinary and regional delicacies.The Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer is the ideal choice for an active sports holiday as well as for a healthy wellness stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing