We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for ski vacation”
Review of Hotel Trattlerhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Trattlerhof
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel for ski vacation”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I was in the hotel Trattlerhof with my family and friend in February. We were very satisfied with the hospitality, food, SPA facilities, proximity to the slopes. Almost everything. THe hotel offered additional entertainment for its guests like live music in the Einkehr hutte, horse sledging, etc.

Room Tip: The standard double rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinela I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    92
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
148
173
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A cosy hotel. All the staff is so friendly. We felt like at home. I would recommend the hotel to families with children. The atmosphere is excellent. The personell very attentive. When it snowed for two days they cleaned all the guests' cars. And the food - it is very very tasty and served with heart and style

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomaz123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday at the Trattlerhof. We were there to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday. With our skiing days behind us we were looking forward to some snow walking and relaxation and we could not have chosen a better hotel to do so.
The family are so lovely and helpful, as are all the staff - they made our holiday so enjoyable. We were the only English people there but had no difficulty in being understood, and, Elizabeth and Jacob could not have been more welcoming.
The food was EXCELLENT. We cruise frequently on 5* ships and both of us agreed that both the presentation and taste of the food could not be excelled. Breakfasts are plentiful and delicious as are the dinners. What a bonus also having soup and rolls laid on complimentary at lunch time.
The spa area was also excellent; after a morning walking, lunch, we then enjoyed a restful afternoon in the swimming pool, sauna etc.
Many thanks to all the family, we hope to be back for a summer walking holiday.

Room Tip: Suggest the back rooms as they are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junebrianhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

A group of old friends met for a week at Hotel Trattlerhof, flying in from various parts of Europe. Some were single, some were married with kids. The hotel was the perfect environment for a reunion. It's so warm and welcoming. Those who wanted to ski could ski, those who wanted to swim could swim, and those who just wanted to relax could hang out in the cozy hotel. We all re-convened each evening for the excellent multi-course dinner. Overall, an great week away!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful family skiing holday at the Trattlerhof. Despite the hotel being closer to the road than we had anticipated, once inside you forgot all about it as you were warmly welcomed by attentive staff (the majority of whom wear traditional Austrian Dindls). The staff could not be more helpful, and focused on our holdiday being a relaxed and positive experience. The hotel particularly welcomed our children - and were even readily looked after our 9 year old son when he was not able to stay at ski-school one morning due to mild illness. We had a wonderful morning on the slopes with the Hotel's complimentary ski-guide, who was very knowable of the area and also very capable providing tips to improve our ski technique. The Hotel is well located for the very reliable ski bus and within easy walking distannce of their restaurant called Einkehr where we enjoyed live music apres ski, curling and a fondue (walking there by candle-light to the great excitement of our children, especially as the candles provided by the hotel did not blow out in teh wind). The Spa area was modern and a delight to relax in after a day's skiing. The food was consistently of a very good standard - and we are hoping to return next year. PS Polly, the resident dog was a lovely homely addition to the hotel, and even she turned up for the curling session at Einkehr.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strassen, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed with our two children (2 and 4) at the Tratterhof for a week of snow holiday and had a wonderful time. The family run hotel in this picturesque Austian ski town excelled with its friendly staff and thoughtful events (e.g. flowers on Valentine's Day, an evening torch walk on the river with horses and a real Austrian Fasching celebration). The ski resort offers a wide variety of slopes, which are all accessible by foot from the hotel in less than five minutes. The food was excellent and the pool + spa area very nice. There are two ski schools in town that take children from 3 years onwards. We were lucky with the weather and had fresh snow and lots of sun on the slopes. Don't miss to try one of the Austrian schnapps that is served after dinner (the Old Apple was my favourite)!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Just got back from an extended ski weekend in Bad Kleinkircheim and had a wonderful time on the slopes, in the village and at Hotel Trattlerhof. Each morning, the weather was quite iffy, whether it was wind or snow and clouds. But each time, it cleared up to bright, blue skies by the time we got up on the mountain. I cannot stress how extremely easy skiing is in this valley. There are a number of chair lifts, two of which are quite close to the hotel, and you can leave your skis in the depot at the gondola(s) so it's quite convenient. The snow was great and the skiing even better. I took lessons with some good instructors which made the experience that much more valuable.

I also loved the village, and spent quite a bit of time at Die Einkehr, the restaurant related to the hotel. Their classic Austrian food was perfect, including broth with pancakes and chives, and and schnitzel (I had the turkey version, as recommended by the waiter). Their pizza was so tasty as well. But they also did haute cuisine very well. We had a prix fixe dinner with Austrian wine pairings which I would put up against many Michelin-starred restaurants in London and New York. I discovered just how amazing Austrian wine is! As they say, they keep the best stuff at home and export the rest! Finally, it was a bit too cold but had it been a little warmer I'm sure I would have spent time next to the outside fire pit.

Lastly, the hotel. What can I say? It's got such a nice, warm feel to it that one feels completely at home. From the excellent food to the friendly service, and the spa area, the hotel treats you to a comfortable homecoming after a long day on the slopes.

If you're looking for a nice ski holiday destination, whether you're 20 or 70, single on with a big family, I can only recommend Hotel Trattlerhof and Bad Kleinkircheim.

I expect to be back very soon for a last ski before the end of the season and then check it out in the summer for some mountain walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Kleinkirchheim
1.3 mi away
Hotel Praegant
Hotel Praegant
#3 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
Thermenwelt Hotel Pulverer
#7 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
Harmony's Hotel Kirchheimerhof
#6 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almrausch
Hotel Almrausch
#5 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel NockResort
Hotel NockResort
#15 of 16 in Bad Kleinkirchheim
148 reviews
4.8 mi away
Das Almdorf - World Peace Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trattlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trattlerhof

Property: Hotel Trattlerhof
Address: Gegendtaler Weg 1 | 9546 Bad Kleinkirchheim, Bad Kleinkirchheim 9546, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Bad Kleinkirchheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bad Kleinkirchheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Trattlerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Trattlerhof enjoys a scenic location on the edge of the wood, close to the center of Bad Kleinkirchheim, in the midst of the Nockberge National Park. It offers fine cuisine with regional products and an indoor pool.Only 427 ft away there are the ski lifts up to the Bad Kleinkirchheim and St. Oswald ski areas.All rooms in the Trattlerhof are furnished in Alpine style. Most of them feature a balcony offering panoramic mountain views. Upgrades to higher room categories are possible, depending on availability.Spa facilities include a sauna, a jacuzzi and a steam bath.The Trattlerhof's restaurant serves traditional cuisine as well as creative specialties, and also offers a wide choice of wines. There is also an inviting bar.In the off-peak seasons 1 horseback riding lesson and tennis are offered free of charge for guests staying longer than 2 nights. During peak seasons 2 horseback riding lessons are included for guests staying longer than 6 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Trattlerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing