We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Impuls Tirol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Impuls Tirol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week in March 2014. All I can say is excellent! V friendly staff.. especially Edi who looks after the bar. Great dining room staff (Eva).. Rooms are super, the food is excellent, rooms quiet and comfortable and the spa and pool are great. I cant wait to stay here again. The owners are also very friendly.. simply a superb place to stay..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Mrs. Caroline!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    26
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
47
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just back from a week at the Impuls, Bad Hofgastein, a mixed group of 12 adults one child, we all really loved the hotel and had a very enjoyable stay. This is an outstanding modern hotel with its pleasant spacious rooms and good facilities including a lovely spa and indoor/outdoor pool. Staff were very helpful and friendly especially Paul in the restaurant who was excellent, he looked after us all very well. The breakfast was fantastic with such a selection of tasty food, as much as you like to set you up for a day on the mountain. Easy access to the town 5 min walk to the centre and a bus stop just over the road with a regular service although we preferred the 15 min walk through town to the gondola. The evening meal at the Impuls was a gourmets delight with many courses although the drawback of this is how long we sat at the table, not such a hardship in very pleasant restaurant. Some of the dishes we found a little salty but this really was very few, the majority was very delicious and beautifully presented, outstanding, a great selection also catering for a couple of vegetarians amongst us with a very good variety of exceptional meals. We were a bit disappointed with the lack of lively apre ski & evening bars, it was only a little more lively at weekends. We did find a few very nice friendly non-smoke filled bars: Gastien Alm across the road from the Gondola, although we didn’t eat here the pizzas looked impressive, Piccolo in town with outside seating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Jackie K!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in the Impuls Tirol for a week's skiing in February 2014. This was my 4th or 5th stay over a period of a dozen or more years (sometimes with wife and friends, sometimes on own), and the hotel simply keeps getting better! My wife and I were first attracted by a travel operator's tagging of the hotel as having excellent food. We discovered that this was indeed the case, and the food has remained superb ever since. Breakfast is ample and should satisfy every taste. I can't comment on lunch as I was always out skiing, but dinner was excellent: very tasty food, elegantly presented, never the same thing twice, and running to 6 courses if you count cheese at the end.

The staff were, without exception, a model of bright, cheerful, polite efficency and very hard working. The co-owner - Bibiana Schmidt - told me that many of the staff had been at the hotel for over 20 years, and given the happy, family atmosphere, I am not at all surprised. Indeed I recognised several from previous visits....and who can forget Edi the barman?!

The hotel has been upgraded and extended several times over the past 20 or so years. The atmosphere is cheerful, cosy and friendly. The rooms are excellent (I have tried several different types over the years and have no complaints). The hotel is situated on the northern outskirts of town, 100 metres from the skibus stop, far enough from the centre to be quiet and peaceful, yet only 7-10 minutes walk from the centre.

Aside from the wonderful food, the high point of the hotel is the spa complex. For massages etc, the resident masseuse has been there for 27 years. There is a gym, a reasonable sized indoor pool plus a jacuzzi area which gives access via sliding doors to a large outdoor pool. Swimming in the darkness with snow falling is an amazing experience! Then there is the heart of the spa with several different saunas and a large, quiet, relaxing area. All in all a superb spa complex which is open until 8 p.m. If you go down to the spa and pools after about 6 p.m. you will generally find it uncrowded.

As far as skiing goes, Bad Hofgastein is best suited to intermediates. It has a good selection of slopes and runs, especially given the fact that Bad Gastein and Angertal ski areas connect, and the superb Dorf Gastein is but a 10 minute skibus journey away. My tour operator (Crystal) offered a couple of ski excursions to other resorts plus a couple of days 'social skiing' (guided tours).

I cannot recommend the hotel strongly enough. I would be most surprised if anyone going for the first time did not find the food, facilities and staff to be superb.

Room Tip: I prefer the main part of the hotel to the extension. The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Mr. James!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I recently returned to the UK from Austria (ostensibly a ski holiday), having had a fantastic week staying at the Impuls Tirol Hotel in Bad Hofgastein, Austria. We have been more than 15 times to Austria for ski holidays, staying at various places, but this was our first time in Bad Hofgastein. Without a doubt, the Impuls Tirol is the best hotel we have stayed in on our numerous trips to Austria. It really has everything, from the warm, welcoming owners and staff, fabulous food, a great spa area and we were lucky to have an exceptional suite, with lovely views of the snowy mountains. I must mention the food further, as there is so much of a 'healthy eating' array of dishes, normally 6 courses and on Wednesday's Austrian Gala evening it is 8 courses! For skiing, there is a warm ski cellar, continuous webcam updates of the slopes on TV, and the ski bus, which is every 10 minutes and takes only 10 minutes to get to the main Schlossalm ski area funicular, is just a very short walk from the hotel door. My personal preference after skiing each day was to use the sauna, steam room and swimming pools (there are three) and the hotel does not disappoint, with superb facilities, especially the outdoor pool. Swim in the open air and take in the mountain views! My wife used the gym, which she thought was very well equipped. This is a special hotel for enjoying time in and it was a great bonus to our ski holiday.
We would like to go back to this hotel in the summertime next year, to have a walking holiday in the beautiful Gastein Valley.

Happy memories of a lovely week.

Bill Green

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Mr. Bill!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a lovely hotel. From the welcoming staff in the modern lobby, to the beautiful room with its modern decor, to the spa area and the wonderful food, there is nothing only good to say about this place. The owners have gone out of their way to ensure everything is top notch and given that some guests during our stay had been coming for over 30 years is testament to the high standard in every area. Looking forward to returning already!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Kmdub!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay at the Impuls. Our room, the staff, food and spa were all exceptional. The only problem we had, was that we had to let our belts out a notch by the end of the week, due to the irresistible food!!!

The ski bus stops about 50 metres from the door.

Room Tip: We went with a superior room which was very spacious, light and nicely decorated. However, having se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia Felix Pet... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Mrs. Celia!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thisisstyle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the Hotel Impuls Tirol over Christmas. Our room was very nice (large and comfortable) and we enjoyed the spa facilities. But the things that made us love this hotel so much were:

1. The staff - everyone we met was so friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome (including the owners themselves who were very hands on, including helping serve meals and re-stock towels in the spa). Special mentions in particular must be made of our waiter Georgios who was incredible and Edi in the bar.

2. The food - we were on an all-inclusive package and thought by the end of of the week we would be sick of having the same food every day. The food was AMAZING though. As good as (very good) restaurant quality, extremely varied and they catered amazingly for my vegetarian boyfriend. Don't think we've ever eaten so many great meals in a row.

2. The 'extra' details - things that we didn't expect and that the hotel didn't need to do but which were so nice. Maybe we were particularly lucky that it was over Christmas, but these included things like a welcome drink, Christmas eve aperitifs, Christmas eve entertainment, Christmas gifts for all guests, decorations on the tables, a little booklet on the breakfast table every morning (in English for us) with choices for that night's menu, the weather, info about anything happening that day.

For a hotel that goes above and beyond with wonderful friendly staff and great food we would thoroughly recommend this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thisisstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bibiana W, Inhaber at Impuls Tirol Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Thisisstyle!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's a pleasure for us to serve all our guests with the optimum of quality. We would be very happy to welcome you at the Impuls Hotel again. Also in spring, summer or autumn.

We send you our best regards

Bibiana Weiermayer-Schmid
& the Impuls Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bismarck
Hotel Bismarck
#2 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salzburgerhof Hotel
Salzburgerhof Hotel
#4 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
Thermenhotel Sendlhof
#5 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#9 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#13 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impuls Tirol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impuls Tirol Hotel

Property: Impuls Tirol Hotel
Address: Gruenlandstrasse 5, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Impuls Tirol Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Impuls Tirol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing