We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norica
Nearby Hotels
Salzburgerhof Hotel(Bad Hofgastein)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Klammer's Kaernten(Bad Hofgastein)
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpina(Bad Hofgastein)
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bismarck(Bad Hofgastein)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Johannesbad Hotel Palace(Bad Hofgastein)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zum Stern(Bad Hofgastein)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Appartmenthaus Aurora(Bad Hofgastein)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Pension Haus Eden(Bad Hofgastein)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
128
48
17
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
48
17
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna worldunderground passageservice staffspa resortnew year's evehalf boarddirect accesshotel guestsmain coursehotel is locatedthe buswaitersgasteinrobeskiingbathaustria
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Beautiful hotel. Excellent services. Wonderful location. I had a realy great time - the room was nice and comfortable, the whole hotel has that friendly family atmosphere provided by its staff. And you can find there lovely details like a walk through (in a bath robe if you wish) tunnel to near thermal spa. I definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My friends and I recently stayed at the Norica for a business conference. Upon arriving, two of us who always stay together in the same room, were told that we had been "upgraded" because the hotel was full. Thank goodness for that! Our room was spacious and clean, but our colleague's room on the 4th floor - which he was told was a "double" - would never have worked for the other two of us. It was very cramped, perhaps because it was "under the eaves." Charles and Eva, at the front desk were very helpful. Also, housekeeping and room service were great. And the owner is very personable. Breakfast is good. On the evening that we arrived, the owner hosted a welcome wine reception. It looked like the owner/the hotel sponsor many events for the guests and although we couldn't participate because of our conference, the events looked interesting.

Three complaints. Because this trip was business-oriented, we had to stay in touch with work. The internet did not work in our room - we stayed in the "section" across the street - but it didn't work in our colleague's room either and he stayed in the main building. Next, it was hot. Very hot. Although this was beyond the control of the hotel management, the rooms were so hot that the candy melted that I purchased to take back to friends! We slept with the balcony door/window wide open and even left the hallway door open at night to try to get a breeze or air flow. I know that there are probably only a few days a year that are this hot in Bad Hofgastein, but, wow! It was very hot. And finally, the use of the spa facilities is great. However, be warned. You will be told to put money on a bracelet that you must use to pay for your services. What you won't be told is that you have to traipse back over to the desk in the spa to get a refund of what you didn't spend. We walked over on the morning that we were leaving and no one was at the cash register so we had to leave 20 euros a piece on our bracelets. No one told us that to get our money back we would have to return to that desk. I rather imagine that this is a common occurence for many guests and I would think that if the spa/hotel management really cared about guests getting a refund of unspent funds, they would inform guests. My guess is that this has become a great additional source of income, albeit unintentionally.

My rating of this hotel is greatly influenced by our physical discomfort due to the heat and also by the difficult with the spa/bracelets and internet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smaniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We are coming to the Gastein Valley since 7years, and this was our 4th stay in the hotel.
Some things have been changed, unfortunately for worse.
I used to love hotel Norica for the nice, ‘family’ atmosphere. This time I have the impression, that it’s not the same anymore.
Don’t misunderstand me – it’s still good hotel, but for 1000euro for 6days FOR A PRESON we have been expecting something more. But in the result Hotel Norica is not special anymore –is one of the hotels, like Ibis or Best Western. Good, but nothing more – specially for the price.
Minuses?
-MESS WITH A PARKING. Sorry for capitals, but it’s ridiculous– outside hotel there is not enough space to unload the car. We arrived, parked 2 cars in the illegal places, we headed to the reception. Some time ago it used to be the person responsible for parking. Not anymore. The receptionist gave as the map of the city, with 3 hotel parking’s on it. He informed us where was the place. But on the 1st and the 2nd parking there was no place. Finally we did found the parking far away from the hotel, on the icy hill. We spent AN HOUR trying to find a parking. You don’t expect the treatment like this when you pay this amount of money. The same mess happened when we have been leaving – I put the car on the walk side. Not cool.
- New Year’s eve dinner – small portions, poor choice of the wines and 1,5hour break before the main course. We were hungry!
- Only one elevator, sometimes broken. And ‘perfect’ place to play for the children, which have been blocking it for long time. Nobody pays attention to them.
- No mini bar/ fridge in the room. The price for the rooms was 300euro/ night. I would expect some mini bar in the room.
- in 6day nobody never changed the sheets – seriously, in the 4**** hotel? Not acceptable!
Pluses:
- Main one- direct connection with an Alpen – therme.
- Nice friendly waiters / barista
- Good breakfast
I am not sure if I would recommend it to my friends – the hotel is nice, but the price is high – overall we are disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sniegula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My 4th visit to Bad Hof Gastein, and my 3th stay in Norica. That should say everything! Quality for money - OK. Comfort OK. Attitude of the personnel - very OK! I can observe that the hotel has been "conquered" by eastern Europeans - mainly from Russia, Ukraine and Romania! To be true I havent heard German language anywhere in the resort!! For those that have never been to Bad Hof Gastein underground tunnel connection to Alpentherme is a big advantage and offer a lot of satisfaction, as you can walk in your bath robe to the thermal swimming pool. (a discounted price for acces to Alpentherme is included in the hotel price). If you get to BHG by train (which is the way to choose if you come from Munich - aprox 50 E/person and 3 h of traveling if you use a direct train) the hotel offers you a bus shuttle, if you ask (or you can use the public bus - is expecting the passengers from the train - for 2.5 E/person and take you at 2 minutes from the hotel!
If I was missing something - it was a small refrigerator. The hotel offers a very good breakfast - an dinner at a reasonable price - but I don't prefer to be tempted eating in the night. Just across there is an excellent Billa store where you can find ANYTHING you desire to eat, at a very acceptable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a wonderful, fabulous and glamorous hotel. Located in the center of town, with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. The first impression is the arrival at the hotel as you come to close friends as guests. Very nice and pleasant staff in traditional costumes welcomed guests. The guy who was very welcoming guests smiling, polite and resourceful. He's quick to take the bags to the room with the obligatory welcome. He is there to help you park your car.Parking is located at 30m from the hotel.
We were placed in a triple room. The room was very clean and tidy. Everything is immaculately uredno.Beds are comfortable, wide and spacious. Pillows by request. We got a baby crib with complete bedding.
The room is a decent size. Very clean and tidy. Staff that cares about hygiene room is very quiet and unnoticed. The room is quite isolated, noise from the hallway was silent. Room had a separate toilet and shower.In addition, the bathroom has bademantel for all guests. It is connected with the wonderful Alpen Terme wellness center underground tunnel which is very warm.Norica hotel guests do not pay admission. They can spend hours in a lovely part. The pool area is designed for everyone from 7 years to 77 years .... joy for all generations. Everyone has their peace and quiet. Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family.
Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family. Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family.Children have a separate section for slides, jumping, cinema in water, a strong music ... There is a special section for women, with a solarium, quiet room, massage, make-up, ultra-red cabin, a sauna, and more. An ideal place for relaxation and rest of the family.
What a hotel is a big plus is the restaurant. very clean, nicely decorated tables with decorations that changes every day. Food was plentiful. An excellent choice, very high quality food, fresh and tasty. Special attention is paid on the decoration. Huge selection of fresh fruit and salads, cheeses and milk quality. Meat and fish are stored in a number of ways.
The waiters are very friendly, smiling, cheerful. For my family, where the children were a little more demanding, they were always at the service of food to make meals for the children. Anyone addressing the guests with lots of smiles and courtesy. simply, they were very nice people who have left a strong impression on me.
what a hotel is a big plus is the restaurant. very clean, nicely decorated tables with decorations that changes every day. Food was plentiful. An excellent choice, very high quality food, fresh and tasty. Special attention is paid on the decoration. Huge selection of fresh fruit and salads, cheeses and milk quality. Meat and fish are stored in a number of ways.
what a hotel is a big plus is the restaurant. very clean, nicely decorated tables with decorations that changes every day. Food was plentiful. An excellent choice, very high quality food, fresh and tasty. Special attention is paid on the decoration. Huge selection of fresh fruit and salads, cheeses and milk quality. Meat and fish are stored in a number of ways.
In the evening in the lobby of the hotel has entertainment for all the guests, the bar guys are trying to accommodate both young and old. Preparing wonderful cocktails, good music. Fun for all guests is guaranteed. I am very happy that the choice of the hotel was perfect and we spent an unforgettable winter vacation. On this occasion, I would recommend the hotel to all people of goodwill and families with children.
It was a pleasure to be a guest in this family at the family Čzerni

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews