We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Suit Some Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Johannesbad Hotel Palace
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Bad Hofgastein
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here as part of a Ski Club GB group as it provided single rooms. This large hotel offered good quality accommodation but a bus ride from the lifts. The bed in my good sized room, although large for a single, was too uncomfortable due to having a foam mattress with a protective cover which made me too hot to sleep soundly.
The restaurant was buffet service for the four courses assisted by pleasant staff. The food was quite good although pork featured every day in the choices. Also, the dining room seemed to close at 8.30 so you need to sit down by 7.00 to enjoy a relaxed meal and all the courses. There was free wine & beer. The white wine wasn't chilled so seemed less acceptable. There was also an a la carte restaurant but unavailable to our group. The entertainment in the bar was OK with some guests dancing.
I was told that the spa was attractive but I never found time to visit after skiing and before dinner. The ski bus stops right outside, thankfully reducing the pain of the treck to the lifts. There were bars in the nearby pleasant town centre, a short stroll away. There's a ski rental shop within the hotel which had a small selection of equipment for hire at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Johannesbad Hotel Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Second stay in this hotel with Skifreshtracks. Suits me down to the ground. Good size single rooms, good facilities incl swimming pool, spa and tennis, good restaurant with excellent service from Judith aka Speedy Gonzalez, Baracs and Kostas. Good bar with fast efficient service. All the hotel staff are really good, friendly but not too friendly.
I especially love the location close to the park and it's a very pleasant 5 min stroll into the town. Not much nightlife but that suits me (over 50) and most of our group. Gentle entertainment in the bar most evenings.
The hotel also has an arrangement with a ski hire shop in Gastein, so you can hire things on line, and get the discount, but collect and return to the hotel. Left the hotel two weeks ago but missing it already!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoyed the luxury of staying for a week in this lovely hotel where the food was tasty and varied, the swimming pool and spa were great for relaxation after a hard day's skiing and the live music provided a pleasant background for listening or chatting with new friends. It was so much better to have this music rather than no entertainment as there wasn't much apres ski outside of the hotel. We are in our early 60s so this didn't bother us at all. We were able to ski all day every day and that was our prime objective. The 3 Crystal guides, Marcus, Tom and Ian provided an excellent social skiing service and were very professional and fun to be with. Regarding the bedroom size in this hotel, we had an economy sized room which was perfectly adequate. There was plenty of room for all our clothes, the cases, chairs, table and a balcony. The bed was double sized which we are used to anyway. A most enjoyable skiing holiday

Room Tip: The rooms that are called small doubles are absolutely fine unless you need a king size bed
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As a base for a snowboarding holiday, this worked fine.

I arrived late due to fog, and was provided with an ample cold platter, and unlimited red or white wine, and beer.

Room was fine, with an excellent shower, and clean. TV was standard Euro-fare; sadly with only CNN in English, but hey ho!

Food was very good, I'm a trencherman, but even I didn't take all of the seven courses on offer every night. Plenty of choice, and good quality. Very good cheese board.

Location was fine, a 10 minute walk through the park to the skistation or ski bus station, and about half that to the town.

As a resort, the boarding in the area was great, particularly after a couple of dumps, with a lot of good off-piste to get stuck into, and little traffic. Up to my waist in perfect powder most days.

However, the apres-ski in this town is very limited. If you are young (even at heart) and looking to party and pull, you'd have your work cut out.

As a spa town it attracts a lot of more elderly people. I can't comment on the spa facilities in the hotel, as the snow was too good.

In conclusion, the public areas could shortly do with renovation. The bar was fine, and reasonably priced, Internet, the wireless I found sketchy, but there is a free cupboard next to reception with a free internet connection.

Costas the waiter really made a good effort too.

Room Tip: 105 was quiet, but I think most are. It's not a noisy area nor town
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navalgazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for 1 week with friends on 18th jan-25th jan. Travelled with crystal via Salzburg. Transfer time of 100mins approx.The Palace hotel was absolutely first class. Spotlessly clean everywhere, excellent spa facilities, naked sauna not to everyone's liking (but that's just us Brits). Food is buffet style. Large selection for breakfast and 5 courses for dinner if you can manage them. The quality of dishes were excellent, always offering a fish,poultry and meat selection.there is free and pretty much unlimited wine ,beer and soft drinks again all of which were very drinkable. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Entertainment in the evening seems limited but can't really comment as we never experienced it. The resort is beautiful but maybe too quiet for those looking for après.bad gastein is better.plenty skiing in gastein valley. Don't hesitate to go as it's great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

17 of us travelled to Bad HOFGASTEIN the hotel was very clean and spotless the shower was amazing a really good power shower to wake you up in a morning.
Its only a 5 min walk in to the very pretty town. I must point out its very quiet resort!!!
The hotel food was very good it was a buffet however could not complain at all
The breakfast was very good and filled us up before we hit the slopes
the ski bus stopped outside the hotel and took less than 5 mins to the ski lifts.
I must praise our wonderful waiter Andy he is a credit to the hotel
nothing was too much trouble for him and went out of his way to serve us
we had a great time a bit quiet for us as a resort but the hotel was very good

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

That was my fourth stay in the hotel, 5 days every time. The location is near the main park with small lakes and statues. The town center is 5 min. away. Every evening in the summer concerts of different music styles, Classic, folk, jazz and etc. The hotel is nice, the rooms clean and the bathrooms modern. Nice choice of buffe breakfast and dinner, with free soft drinks, red and white wine and beer. The spa and pool are good. I saw many families with kids enjoying the pool but the main part of the guests are from the older ones. That is the reason for my criticism. In many rooms there is a high bath tube that is hard and unsafe to enter for that age group. The pool and spa are in the basement. Even if there is an elevator, you have to use stairs to get there. The bottom line is that I like to return to this hotel as the base to my trips in the area.

Room Tip: For old folks, avoid rooms with bath tube and ask for shower
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bad Hofgastein hotels
0.4 mi away
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg
#13 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
Das Alpenhaus Gasteinertal
#9 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klammer's Kaernten
Klammer's Kaernten
#11 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Das.goldberg
Das.goldberg
#1 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
Akzent Hotel Germania Gastein
#12 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norica
Norica
#6 of 21 in Bad Hofgastein
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johannesbad Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesbad Hotel Palace

Address: Alexander-Moser-Allee 13, Bad Hofgastein 5630, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Bad Hofgastein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Spa Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bad Hofgastein
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Johannesbad Hotel Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree holiday spending guests in the cosy center of Bad Hofgastein. The 4 star hotel Palace is a relaxing house for everyone. Surrounded by a huge garden with a park on 30.000m² . The sun terrace, walking paths and a small pond invite to enjoying . The nice comfortable rooms have all a balcony and panoramic view. A conference room is available. Mountain Station, the great therme Alpentherme and the shopping area - everything is within walking distance. In panoramic indoor pool guests can relax in the healing Gastein thermal water. Even a beauty farm and a renowned Health Center, the Palace to call his own. When in the evening the migrants return from their tours, the spa guests are completely relaxed, the golfers have packed their bags and the families come fully fueled with experience in the hotel's restaurant, everyone like the international buffet. An interesting detail: The table drinks are for all meals - from breakfast and brunch to dinner - included. Some days in the week live music seduced to a goodnight drink at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Johannesbad Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kur- And Sport-Hotel Palace
Kur Sport Hotel Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing