We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, location and wonderful hospitality”
Review of Pension Sommerauer

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallein
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Sommerauer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hallein B&B and Inns
nuneaton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value, location and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed 9 nights while visiting relatives in the area. Lovely room with balcony - view of the morning sun hitting the tops of the mountains was so relaxing. Some rooms are modern decor, ours wasn't with traditional dark furniture with typical hand painted decorations. The room was plenty big enough, had 2 windows on different aspects, loads of storage, the mirror was even close enough to the electrical socket so you could dry your hair in front of the mirror and there was enough storage in the large shower room (both failings of other B&B's we've been in). Very clean with comfy beds.
Continental breakfast was the best we've come across in a b&b. Lovely fresh rolls, butter not in silly packets, meats, cheese, jam and a boiled egg if you want one, tea/coffee and juice - you will be offered more if you manage to eat that lot.
Owner was fantastic - lovely welcome, she speaks fluent English, really helpful and friendly - if you need anything, just ask. Obviously family friendly although we didn't have kids with us. We got breakfast early on our last day - she was up anyway doing breakfast at 6am for some workers. Lovely new light breakfast room but the 'old' one is cosy and traditional too.
Location is great if you want to be connected - close to main routes and easy to get public transport to Salzburg. There was a little road noise in our room (number 4, top right on the pictures with the pool in front) but the shutters on the windows will block it out at night and it's not intrusive - the houses are so well insulated you'll not hear much.
Hallein is a nice town too - I wouldn't bother with the salt mine again. Wasn't terribly informative, you can read up on it better, but we had a nice walk up to the church from there - lovely views, sat on a bench under the trees. For the salt history I'd go to Hallstadt instead on the lake.
Didn't try the pool though it looked inviting - just a bit too cold still in early May.
Wifi was good, only downstairs in the conservatory and breakfast areas, 7am-10pm, good enough.
No tea making stuff in the rooms - I don't think it's usual in Austria/Germany - but there is a kettle and stuff to make it downstairs (free). Just bring your own mini-flask with milk if you're English - creamer in tea is not nice.
You can even help yourself to a bottle of beer and leave a note as to what you've had and pay for it later.
Overall, the atmosphere was like being invited into someone's home as a guest, and being very well looked after.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisnuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel was having a lot of work done, once it is done it looks like it will be lovely. But with all the work going on it was confusing where to book in.

Room was clean.

Was not a bad stay, comfy bed, but there was not many ammenities, and no breakfast option.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

I stayed at Pension Sommerauer on a visit to Salzburg for the Christmas markets. Absolutely fantastic value for money, beautiful setting, with views of mountains from the balcony. I had a wonderful room. an excellent breakfast and the owner was charming, helpful and she offers you a form that you complete which enables you to travel to Salzburg on the bus for 2Euros! If the bus is not your cup of tea, the train station is a six minute walk from the Pension and if you have a car, the motorway is within easy reach of the Pension which enables one to reach Munich in just under two hours. As I I had a rental car, I was impressed with the large car parking facility and best of all, the car parking was free!

Ideally located for the Lake District, Salt mine, and a fabulous Christmas Market at Saint Leonhard near Salzburg. Although the Ice Cave is closed in the winter, the Pension is close to this popular tourist site.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Englishqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Took a pit stop here on the way to Slovenia. Really friendly and helpful owner lady made us feel welcome. The rooms were ok and clean, the pool on the yard was a really refreshing surprise. Nice breakfast - nothing too fancy but tasteful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stiinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed here and drove into Salzburg (which was cheaper than the train), to the nearby salt mine, and to the ice caves. Had a very nice room with 4 beds for 91 euros during the high season of August, including a very generous breakfast. Our kids really appreciated the playground toys, sand box and swimming pool (which is larger than it looks in the website pictures). The owner went the extra mile to help us out in several ways and couldn't have been more pleasant. After a day of touring it was nice to leave the crowded city and come back to where the kids could run around and play in the large yard while we relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacoma_WAAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallein
2.2 mi away
Hotel Auwirt
Hotel Auwirt
#1 of 2 in Hallein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.1 mi away
7 Days Premium Salzburg- Puch
1.0 mi away
Kolpinghaus Hallein
Kolpinghaus Hallein
#2 of 2 in Hallein
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Langwies
Langwies
#1 of 1 in Bad Vigaun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gasthof zum Kirchenwirt
4.3 mi away
Hotel Hubertushof
Hotel Hubertushof
#2 of 5 in Anif
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sommerauer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sommerauer

Property: Pension Sommerauer
Address: Tschusistrasse 71, Hallein 5400, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Hallein
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hallein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Sommerauer 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This popular Bed & Breakfast (3 star comfort) situated on the outskirts of Hallein, is easy to reach from the Tauernautobahn A10. It offers free parking, a heated outdoor-pool, spacious garden, comfortable winter garden and is suitable for children (playground, toys, baby cot). Our newly added studios are large and spacious (23m²) and offers two rooms one for adults and one for children, or alternatively for two couples. Both rooms are fitted with a flat screen TVs and the oiled oak floor provides a warm touch. The studios open onto large balconies which look onto a lush garden setting on which you can enjoy the afternoon and evening sun in a relaxing atmosphere All our standard rooms are comfortable and have an en-suite bathroom, as well as telephones and TV. We offer rooms suited for singles up to 5 persons. Some of rooms have their own balconies.Cots and a large variety of toys are also available.Regrettably pets are not allowed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing