We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Staff, Rooms & Wellness Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Der Krallerhof
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Leogang
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, Staff, Rooms & Wellness Center”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Krallerhof is a typical Austrian Wellness Resort in Leogang Austria. The Hotel is a Little big in comparisson to other Hotels in the area, but the Service is extremely good and the rooms are very modern. We got upgraded to a Junior Suite and had our own Sauna and a lovely view onto the mountains. Had a romantic fireplace, large bathroom with Jacuzzi and rainshower as well as mood lighting with different Colors (nice touch)! There was construction going on in may, but supposedly this will be done by the winter time (building a gondel right in front of the Hotel for winter). The Wellness area was just stunning with different Saunas, steambaths and all Kind of other different things such as a room filled only with water beds.
the only drawback was the size of the Hotel, which was a bit large. we were only there for 3 nights, but it took as 2 days until we found our way around. but all in all a great place and would go back any day!
PS have a schnaps by the fireplace in the evening, they have over 25 different ones!!!

Room Tip: mountain view, not on the side which Looks onto the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    43
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
87
110
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was in this hotel for business and bring a cousin with me. Service was high level and breakfast very rich in options and flavor.
I worked but my cousin enjoyed snowboarding and surroundings. Great for family our couples...
I'll love to go back with my wife here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robertoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stay for a couple days in March great place to spend some holidays .Great landscapes really nice customer service, the room was super nice with a terrace and a great view of the mountains in the area . The breakfast was breathtaking and the service of the shuttle to the ski lifting was really usefull .
There is also a nice bar-restaurant just a few steps from the hotel area and they served great pizza and good beer , we got to party a little bit over there the last night of our stay .

I will be back for sure .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelkaintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krallerhof, Inhaber at Hotel Der Krallerhof, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello Mr. Kaintz, thank you for your friendly feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays here in Leogang in our hotel and also in our different restaurants and bars. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Krallerhof! Kind regards, Altenberger family and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and I cannot fault this hotel. The facilities are excellent, the rooms (we have stayed in the "farbsuiten") large, perfectly appointed, and a great mix of contemporary and traditional with stunning bathrooms. The service is outstanding and the chef produces spectacular meal after meal. This hotel exemplifies all that is best about a traditional family owned hotel with the owners very much in evidence. I cannot recommend it strongly enough for a family break. Children are made very welcome.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trvlrnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed for two night at this beautiful hotel during a business trip. The new rooms (Farb Suiten) are amazing - the rooms are beautiful decorated - nice materials, generous space, lovely details and a romantic view to a small lake give you a warm feeling during your stay in your rooms. The public areas are decorated with style and give you the impression to stay in a small, cozy hotel. The breakfast buffet is probably one of the best I have seen in this kind of hotels.
The staff was always very helpful, friendly and uncomplicated - you never hear a "no". Tip: ask the bartender for some new, alternative drinks or wines - you won't regret it...

Room Tip: book the "Farb Suiten" - amazing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas-mueller-zrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in early December. Lots of snow luckily but few guests as the season had no officially started. As a Brit there are some things you need to know about the hotel.
1. You will probably be the only non Austrian guest. Despite this most staff speak English - reception staff very good English but restaurant staff only a little - but they do publish an English menu - ask for it.
2. If you are vegetarian, go here. They don't publicise it, but it is one of the few Austrian restaurants to have a full veggie alternative menu.
3. The sauna area is massive with many rooms. It is great fun eg swimming in the outside pool when it snowing and attending the sauna sessions where they infuse honey on the stove or you rub salt all over you (all in German). Note, the whole sauna area is clothes free. Going nude takes a leap of faith for a Brit, but go for it.
4. Rooms are luxuriously done - even cheaper ones. (Although that is a relative word at Krallerhof as it is expensive to stop there). I loved the ability to change the room light colour.
5. Also not that widely publicised but they will pick you up from the station nearby and also transport you around nearby gratis. Why not consider not hiring a car but catching the train there from either Salzburg or even further afield like Munich or even Zurich. Other destinations are cheaper to fly to, trains are dirt cheap ( vs UK), run on time and offer views of absurdly stunning scenery.

All in all one I'd say the hotel is an experience. If you have the money, go for it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were looking to spend a week in a wellness hotel within an hour's drive from Salzburg Airport and had narrowed the search down to 3 places of which the Krallerhof eventually won. All three appeared to offer similar facilities and all were located 'out of town' but one didn't have the room type we wanted and one was shut until mid December, by contrast (and somewhat worryingly) the Krallerhof was available and had a good choice of rooms.

We needn't have worried, the greeting on arrival was prompt and extremely professional, luggage was whisked away and we were taken outside for a welcoming glass of sekt (the weather that last week in October was warm enough to sit outside). All the reception staff spoke perfect English and in fact the hotel filled up during the week we were there. After we'd enjoyed our drink we were given a tour of the hotel and taken to our room which had a view into the garden, large balcony and a triple aspect. The room was great although the carpet was a bit tired but we understand this room and others are shortly due an upgrade. Frankly nothing to complain about.

On the website there is almost nothing mentioned about food and this was one of the question marks we had about this hotel when we were looking to book. So with a bit of trepidation we went down to dinner the first night and stood waiting at the entrance for someone to show us to a table. Nobody appeared so we wondered around a bit until we found a waitress who placed us in the middle of a room in one of their many different areas which comprise the restaurant. The menu came - in German - showing some sort of "wellness" foods and I immediately thought we'd by mistake booked some sort of package including "healthy eating". Cutting a long story short, we eventually got an English menu although no waiting staff seemed to be able to speak English to decipher the dishes on offer that night, apart from the main course which was goat which we mistakenly ordered due to bad translation and having been told it was just like venison which it wasn't, the food was extremely good and the presentation was amazing.

I only mention the above to illustrate a point which is that the hotel let itself down on our first night by poor service in the restaurant and lack of staff speaking English. As it was I think we were the only British people in the hotel and maybe the only non Austrian/Germans as well. We had a serious word with the Maître d' before we left the restaurant that evening and he promised to sort it all out for the next night, find us a better table, make sure we had a better experience and I'm pleased to report he did just that.

So you may have to fight a bit for an English menu if your German isn't up to scratch and (this may or may not be a plus point) you are unlikely to find many other Brits in the hotel either.

The breakfast buffet was one of the most extensive I have ever seen, you will not leave hungry! The buffet lunch as part of the package was very good with a variety of dishes on offer and all the other evening meals were superb with some very innovative ideas. Almost as soon as lunch was cleared away, out came a selection of up to five different cakes plus tea/coffee/fruit juices, again all included in the package. Despite the website making almost no comment about the restaurant, we really could not fault the food at all and it was one of our highlights.

The wellness area was extensive, varied and good and the indoor pool was large enough for some serious exercise.

However I imagine when the hotel is full it could be challenging in the communal areas, as extensive as they are I'm doubtful they could cope with a full house even though of course not everyone wants to use the spa areas or the sitting areas or the bar at the same time either.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it providing you are not looking for nightlife or local entertainment. The hotel does have an "alm" about 100 metres away (and two at the top of the mountain as well) and I guess in season this is a very popular place in the evenings but the day we went it was quiet and we didn't enjoy the set menu we were given in lieu of eating in the hotel restaurant. The hotel is located outside Leogang up a hill. We didn't hire a car (the hotel does have it's own mini-bus) but managed to get out every day by walking to the gondola lift station to go up the mountain (went to the top station then back to the middle station and then decided to walk back down and back to the hotel through forest tracks and bike tracks, got lost somewhere at the bottom and had to call the hotel for them to send their bus to find and collect us, apart from the amusement they couldn't have been more helpful to us). Leogang itself was quite a long walk from the hotel and we didn't bother with that, we took a taxi to Saalfelden one day for some shopping and got the bus back. Another day we took the train to Zell am See and on yet another day we borrowed mountain bikes from the hotel and took a leisurely ride around the countryside. However if you didn't want to go out at all and only wanted to rest and relax in the hotel you won't be disappointed either, all water and fruit juices are free and with the other extras mentioned above all you need to pay for is alcohol.

We went for some r&r and came back home suitably refreshed (although for a wellness hotel I had to complain having put on 2 kilos in 6 days!) and we'd certainly return to the Krallerhof.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on the garden have a much more interesting view than those looking out to the moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BushmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leogang hotels
1.2 mi away
Forsthofalm
Forsthofalm
#5 of 16 in Leogang
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puradies
Puradies
#8 of 16 in Leogang
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mama Thresl
Mama Thresl
#2 of 16 in Leogang
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Biohotel Rupertus
Biohotel Rupertus
#7 of 16 in Leogang
77 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Der Loewe
Hotel Der Loewe
#10 of 16 in Leogang
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Salzburger Hof
Hotel Salzburger Hof
#6 of 16 in Leogang
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Der Krallerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Der Krallerhof

Property: Hotel Der Krallerhof
Address: Rain 6, Leogang 5771, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Leogang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leogang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leogang
#3 Spa Hotel in Leogang
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Leogang
#5 Family Hotel in Leogang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Der Krallerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Krallerhof in Leogang in the Salzburg province is a 4-star superior wellness hotel and lies on a sunny high plateau 850 m above sea level in the midst of natural surroundings. The Krallerhof is the perfect family hotel with 124 rooms and suites, open year-round. With a total of 2.500 M² in the "Refugium", the wellness and spa area of this Best Wellness Hotels Austria member, a wealth of wellness offers awaits our guests. From the Solegrotto to the bio-herbal sauna, on through to the Finnish sauna, indoor swimming pool with family sauna, outdoor pool & relaxation lawn, sauna outdoor pool, a Private Spa, a great variety of treatment, ayurveda, cosmetics and personal training offers, as well as professionally equipped gym & fitness facilities. Furthermore, the Krallerhof offers the outstanding relaxing areas "the Relaxation Crystal" in the fruit orchard as well as the nitsch room. In the summer, the panoramic location of the hotel - with the Leoganger Steinberge (Leogang Stone Mountains) to the north, the Steinernes Meer mountains to the east and the Asitz mountain to the south - makes it the ideal setting for hiking, mountain biking, mountaineering or climbing. A high ropes course, tennis and golf facilities, electric bikes, rafting, and canyoning are just some of the region's offerings. In the winter, the ski circuit Saalbach Hinterglemm Leogang (56 cable cars & lifts, 200 km of slopes) extends directly from the hotel door. Cross country ski runs (total network of runs 150 km) also pass by the hotel. Winter hiking, snowshoeing and sledging are further winter sports ideas for active people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Der Krallerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Krallerhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing