We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neilson Ski holiday Feb 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blattlhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Blattlhof
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Going
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neilson Ski holiday Feb 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

When my sister and I arrived at this hotel we were shown to our table in the dining room for the duration of our stay. We were very disappointed to be placed in a dining room at the rear of the property which segregated package deal holidaymakers from general bookings. The dining room was noisy and there were a lot of children running around unsupervised. One man came to dine in a vest with hairy armpits exposed. No standards were imposed by hoteliers. Our ski rep did manage to get us moved to another dining room, eventually, which saved the holiday for us. There is also minimum space to mingle or converse with other guests on an evening - about 4 tables in the foyer so we found it necessary to go out in the evenings and this meant a taxi ride (6 euro each way to Sport Hotel) or a 15 minute walk. If you are contemplating walking, take a torch and flat shoes.
The food was good. However, one evening our waitress brought our hot main course and left this on the table while we were still eating our salad. I think this was retribition because we had not ordered enough drinks and I had asked for a carafe of tap water. The water was supplied in carafe until I stopped ordering wine, which was pricy and limited choice. I was advised by waitress that the Chef said I could not have tap water and must buy sparkling or still.
The younger female waitresses and waiter were very pleasant, helpful and attentive.
The room was very clean, comfortable and to a high standard.
We enjoyed our holiday overall but the Blatlhoff did not live up to our experience of Neilson hotels in the last 2 years.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs - noise from main road and room next door blaring loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anywhere and Everywhere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed at the Blattlhof whilst skiing in the SkiWelt area. I travelled on my own and stayed in a good sized single room with good, if basic, furnishings.

The food was very good and the five course dinners certainly filled an empty stomach; a nice touch was the 'skiers snack' in the afternoon (some soup and snacks for when you get back from the slopes). The service was friendly, even if at times things got lost in translation (though there was always a member of staff on hand to help out). My only real complaint was the refusal to serve tap water (and when the bottled stuff is more expensive than beer...)

I have to admit that I utilised the sauna facilities every evening after a hard day of skiing, and they were excellent - a sauna of an appropriately hot temperature (unlike the whimpy things back in the UK) and plenty of space to relax between sessions.

The hotel is part way between Going and Ellmau, both within an easy ten minute walk (in walking boots). Thankfully the local ski bus stops directly outside the hotel, which makes getting to the slopes a doddle.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my trip, and would definitely consider staying at this hotel again. It wasn't perfect, but it serves its purpose very well and in a friendly manner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Helpful?
2 Thank middy_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel, but for a warm welcome, traditional Austrian ambience, good food (very good breakfast buffet, gorgeous fresh bread, a welcome post-ski snack, 5-course evening meal) I'd say it's hard to beat. The hotel has maybe 60 rooms but feels very cosy and relaxed. The owners knew our surnames and room numbers within 24 hours. So convenient for the ski bus, stops right outside. Fabulous new ski room , very spacious with key-card operated lockers for 2 or 4 people, so you can leave goggles, gloves etc as well as skis/boots in the locker overnight. Members of our party rated the sauna/solarium highly too. Very pretty 10 min walk into Ellmau via a couple of routes, We stayed here in 2009, again this year, and will probably return in the future. Outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We picked this hotel as a late deal and were very pleased with the choice. The hotel is a short walk from the piste which we did in our ski gear and took no more than 10min. It takes about the same time to get into the center of Ellmau. There is also a bus that stops outside the hotel, approx every half hour that goes directly to the ski lifts which were great.
The hotel was really nice and peacefull as it was away from the noise and music in Ellmau. We stayed half board and the food was great. There was a choice of 3 menu's each evening which you chose the night before. This ment that we never had to wait long for our food as they knew what we were having. All the staff were helpfull and friendly. They even did us a packed breakfast on the last day as we had to leave before breakfast to catch our flight.
They also have a lovely steam room and sauna too.
The skiwelt area is great skiing with somthing for every ability.
We had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Level 2 room en-suit with balcony was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

This was our second skiing holiday in Austria and we had a great time. The hotel is immaculately clean, the staff are friendly, the food is really good and our room had recently undergone a renovation, with a lovely bathroom and flat screen TV. The hotel is located between Going and Ellmau. It's about a ten minute walk into Ellmau. The ski bus ran evey 30 minutes and was always on time. The pick up is one of the first on the bus route so we always got a seat and the drive to Ellmau only took 5 minutes. The resort of Ellmau is perfect for beginners and intermediate skiiers. It's a lovely little town with a number of good bars and restaurants. The slopes weren't crowded and we never had to queue for a ski lift. We would definitely return to this hotel for a future skiing holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CrazyDavesSkiSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

This was a ski trip, traveling as a solo.

Although described in the Neilson broochure as Ellmau, the hotel is actually closer to Going, particularly te ski area. It is possible to walk to the Astberg lift, by taking a path across a field (about 250 yards, slightly uphill), or you can get ski buses to either the Astberg or Hartkaiser lifts, although at this time of season (last week in march), these only run about once an hour.

The hotel staff were all friendly and polite, and all understood enough English to ba able to order things when required. There is a pleasant lounge area with an open fire next to reception, and a bar/stube the far side of the dining rooms.

Breakfast was buffet style, with hot scrambled eggs and (very salty) bacon, plus a decent selection of cold items. You could have boiled eggs o request also.

They then provide (in winter) a "skiers snack" between 4pm and 5pm - this was usually a bowl of soup or salad.

For the evening meal (on half board), the starter and soup course were fixed, you had a choice of three mains (one vegetarian), and dessert and salad were from a buffet. I enjoyed everything I was served during the week, although I suspect vegetarians would not have been so happy, and vegans would have been in real trouble, since the "vegetarian" main course was often fish.

I did ask for both a beer and tap water with every evening meqal, and was happily served with tap water free of charge, so I'm not sure what the issue there was with the previous review.

My single room was excellent - it was large enough that it had a 2-seater setee at the foot of the bed, with a small table and comfortable armchair opposite it, and a huge wardrobe, with still plenty of floor space (the room is advertised as 18 sq m). It had en-suite toilet and a bath with shower. As usual, the TV was mainly German language channels, with only CNN being English.

The Wellness area had a sauna and steam room, a couple of showers, a heated bench relaxation area and a coller relaxation are - no Whirlpool or infra red sauna. I was the only British guest using it (there were only 4 other british guests in the hotel most of the week), but the Germans and Dutch were in there regularly and I never saw a costume in use all week.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

We really enjoyed our weeks stay at the Blattlhoff. It is a very traditional hotel, fairly basic but comfortable. One thing we struggled with a bit was the language. Neither of us speak german and there was only one member of staff who could speak english fluantly. This said it did not cause any major problems.
The hotel is incredibly warm! We had to sleep with our door proped open so it was good that we were on a higher floor. Otherwise the rooms were very comfortable.
At mealtimes we were given a choice of dishes to choose from. Mainly traditional Austrian cuisine. There was always plenty of choice. Vegetarians were not as well catered for. When a person we sat with for dinner said they were veggie they were presented with a plate of.............. various boiled vegetables! One gripe we did have was that they would only give us bottled water rather than tapped which amounted up at the end of the week. Whether this was due to a language barrier or that it was just hotel policy i am unsure.
The hotel is not positioned in the main town of Ellmau and a bus is needed to get into town on a morning. This isn't too much trouble though as the buses are very frequent. It is however at the side of a very busy road, the opposite side to the main town but there is an underpass to use but if you walk back from town on a night (10mins) it was a little dark in places. Luckily the ski hireplace we used provided a store we could use at the end of the night althought the hotel does have storage (heated boot pegs also). If you do store your ski's in Ellmau then a bus us needed from there also to get to the main train that takes you up the slope.
I must also take the opportunity to sing the praises of the Neilson rep. The guy we had was helpful, friendly and approachable.
We would definitely encourage people to stay at this hotel as it provided everything required for a confortable stay. There was also a sauna but we did not use this.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunny-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Going
0.4 mi away
Sporthotel Ellmau
Sporthotel Ellmau
#5 of 14 in Ellmau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cordial Familien & Sporthotel Going
0.6 mi away
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
AktivHotel Hochfilzer
#1 of 14 in Ellmau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#7 of 14 in Ellmau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vitalhotel Sonnenhof
Vitalhotel Sonnenhof
#5 of 5 in Going
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blattlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blattlhof

Property: Hotel Blattlhof
Address: Innsbruckerstrasse 1, Going 6353, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Going
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Going
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blattlhof 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Blattlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blattlhof Austria/Going

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing