We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super ski base”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Kirchberg
Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Super ski base”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We used this hotel as a base for a ski trip. Its central location in the town beside ski school, and the meeting point for most people was ideal. If there is good snow you can ski back to the centre of town and finish up just accross the river from the hotel.

We found the service from staff pleasant and they were helpful.We were half board and used the hotel dining room as opposed to the hotel restaurant which we used before when in Kirchberg. The food is good in the hotel dining room but a better selection is available in the restaurant.

The room we had looked slightly dated but was clean and everything worked.The location can be nosily as it fronts onto the road and we had snowploughs going past at night which were quite loud.

The broadband is not great and is €15 for 10 hours which would not be so expensive if the speed was better.

Room Tip: A room not facing the road if you do not like road noise. you can ask for pizza in the hotel dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Larger groups of guests with crowds of kids that feel apparently at home, meaning the kids use the hallways to play and are extremely noisy. The same applies to breakfast and dining room, meaning that romantic dinner or dinner with friends is not really what you might be expecting in terms of recreational atmosphere.

The hotel owners do not really seem to care about the noise or might just be afraid of losing these groups that seem to come here every year.

The room that we are in has been nicely been redecorated, however, the bathroom has been left out and is at least 25 to 30 years old.

The pictures of the hotel show a whirlpool that is no longer there, the steam sauna is also rather old, the sauna seems to be quite new and ok. However, the smell in the whole SPA area is really bad as such we left the SPA area without using any of the facilities.

The fitnessroom is ca 10m2 and directly connected to the ski-room, meaning that the smell is as well really awful and the room not really usable.

Apart of the above, the service staff is really friendly, the dinner included in the half board is unfortunately not for the fitness oriented amongst us as everything comes topped with or swimming in creamy sauces.

To conclude, ok hotel if you are looking for ok-priced half-board in the busy season, you will have to cope with a couple of annoyances though

Room Tip: Chose a room facing to the back of the hotel and not to the noisy stream with heavy traffic and drun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirchberg hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked this on the basis of, "Ah well, it's only a boys' skiing trip, so what if it's a bit ropey" - but in fact, it's way better than the negative reviews suggest. It's easily the best (and certainly best value) place we've stayed, and I'd definitely go back with the family. The rooms are big, it's clean and warm, the staff are pleasant, the food's unexpectedly good, it's excellent value, and the adjoining bar-restaurant was good fun.
From a skiing point of view, the boot room / apres-ski sauna stuff is great, and it's bang opposite the ski bus stop.
Negatives? None, really. The clientele was a bit middle-aged-blokey ... but that was our fault. The barmaid only smiles under extreme pressure. And they're currently (well, Jan 2012) refurbing the bedrooms, so some are better than others. But I reckon you'd be pleasantly surprised - especially for the price.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel (first floor, with a balcony) is probably the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Having read the reviews some people had left(well 3 actually) i was concerned as to what we were going to, however it was brilliant. The hotel is placed centrally in the town and a bus stop right outside for the pistes. The bedrooms are great, warm, clean and big with balcony's. Brand new bathrooms were very modern. The restaurant had good service and the food was very good-Tasty and well presented. The hotel bar was a good laugh and very popular with local ski instructors. The basement wellness room was generously equipped with 2 saunas, one steam room, one infra red treatment room and power showers. Also, good ski and boot room with heated boot holders to dry out your boots over night. Overall, excellent and would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alun105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Have just returned from a 4 day ski-holiday in Kirchberg and stayed that the Hotel Alexander. Very hard to reconcile our experience with the other comments here. Our experience was:
• Great location
• Reasonably priced
• Good service across the board (reception, dinner, bar etc)
• Very clean and modern throughout
• Food was very good indeed

Would happily stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnhughes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

The Hotel Alexander is washed up and tired. It is so overpriced it is ridiculous. It claims five stars, which is a complete joke. The entire place is rundown and smelly. The carpet in our room looked like it had hosted a million frat parties in its time. The staff were unenthused and unhelpful--a complete contrast to the typical Austrian hospitality. We were supposed to stay for five nights but checked out after one. To their credit, after a long wait to talk to the manager and considerable discussion, they did not hold us accountable for our whole reservation--just took our deposit which was for 25% of the total stay.

We found out later that this hotel frequently hosts all-inclusive groups on package tours--clientele that aren't likely to be repeat customers and probably get drunk and contribute to the overall filth and smelliness. Avoid this place at all costs. There are much better places and values in Kirchberg.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wanderbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

i was in the hotel Alexabder with my wife for 2 weeks long.
1) all acommidations where broke !
2) the rooms are for a 2 star hotel (NOT A 4 STAR) SO PEOPLE PAY TO MUTCH !!!!!
3) Showers need to be cleaned so the bad stuf is gone ...
4) Service on the reception is fine and good.
5) Service ad the BAR is also good, because you want to drink you'r missery away !!!!
WHEN YOU LIKE TO LIFE IN A HOTEL THAT WAIST YOU'R MONNEY THEN GO THERE!!!
15 years ago this hotel was fine and it earns a 4 star, NOW THEY DID NOTHING ANYMORE THEN JUST COLLECT MONNEY (NO NEW STUF NO NEW EQUIPMENT EVERYTHING IS OLD AND BAD) THEY SHOULD LOSE 2 STARS !!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sitewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirchberg
0.3 mi away
ParkHotel Kirchberg
ParkHotel Kirchberg
#17 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenresidenz Adler
Alpenresidenz Adler
#4 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
#8 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sporthotel Brixen
Sporthotel Brixen
#1 of 4 in Brixen im Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosslwirt Hotel
Rosslwirt Hotel
#11 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metzgerwirt
Hotel Metzgerwirt
#3 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Lendstrasse 4, Kirchberg, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Kirchberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alexander 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing