We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms in convenient place”
Review of Hotel Kirchenwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Kirchenwirt
Ranked #16 of 42 Kirchberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Kirchenwirt is quite a quirky hotel are as its owners and staff. Sometimes they are amazingly helpful and sometimes not. However, they were definitely more good than bad!

Some of the rooms are recently refurbished with beautiful wooden floors, underfloor heating, fabulous showers and slightly temperamental keycard locks. Others are a little more tired but still comfortable.

Breakfast is one of the best I've seen in a 'ski' hotel - frequently replenished meats/cheeses and breads, lovely warm eggs and great coffee. But it's quite late at 8am although they were generally happy for you to go around quarter to if you wanted to make the 8.30 ski bus around the corner rather than walk further down the hill for the later ones.

Dinner was mixed. Some evenings were fabulous - venison stew was a real highlight but others were weaker - frankfurter and chips or boiled beef. The vegetarians in our group felt it was a little hit and miss with one night being just a mix of potatoes and vegetables whereas other nights there were cheese dumplings available.

The boot/ski room was fairly small but does have heated racks for the boots. It's down one flight of stairs which isn't great in boots but manageable. The sauna and steam room are lovely too after a day's skiing.

The hotel doesn't have a lounge area to meet in before dinner as it's also a restaurant. This did mean that it was hard for a group to catch up on their on-piste adventures before/after dinner.

Room Tip: The rooms on the church side overlook the cemetery and street although it's not particularly noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Applespider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were looking for a small nice apartment to book for the first week of 2014 for a short ski vacation in Kitzbuhel and found the offer of Kirchenwirt pension, exactly what we have been looking for: a small comfy apartment, with nice wooden decoration, tiled stove (a real pleasure to light the fire every evening:). We had no problems with the apartment, everything inside was perfect for us. What i would recommend for the owners is to take care a little bit more about the entrance which looks rather untidy. The basement of this second building where the apartment is located is used for the restaurant and is not so pleasant when you first enter the stairs.

On the other hand, i appreciate that we can use the nice sauna inside the pension as well as the other facilities, and, like i sai, beautiful decorations and great location in Kirchberg. would recommend it for 2-3 people or a couple who like a nice wooden comfy apartment. Food is also nice at the restaurant Kirchenwirt and also convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We took the half board ski package over the Easter weekend, great value for money. The hotel was clean and the staff very helpfull and friendly. Food was super. The sauna and steam bath were welcome after a day of skiing and fresh towels were provided for guests.
The hotel is a short drive from the Fleckalmbahn and a 2 minute walk to the ski bus stop. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel,facing the mountains. The front of the hotel faces the cemet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tash167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great central location. We had breakfast and evening meal included and thought the food and the price were very reasonable. The kitchen were also able to cater for the vegetarian in our party. We booked a "comfort room" and were very impressed with the size of the room, with three single beds (for two of us) and a seating area and balcony. The majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful. However a couple of members insisted on speaking to us only in German, but later in our stay we discovered they were able to speak some English... Given the excellent location, size of rooms and reasonable price we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed here for a week in late January 2012. My sister and I were skiing in the area and shared a twin room. I was reluctant to book following the reviews on this website, but I found them really inaccurate. The hotel is lovely - warm, clean and in a brilliant location. The bedroom was small and basic, but the bathroom was brand new. The food (we only had breakfast) was good, and the view from our room (over a lovely little graveyard beside the main church in the town) was really beautiful. The hotel is decorated with charm and character and we found the staff very pleasant. The location is also great for both sides of the village as there is a back steps (120 awful steps!) down the side of the church. I was extremely happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

good location, unpolite rude people, there is no parking place, they said to park the car on the parking behind, which turns to be parking of other hotel (and got warning from owner of that hotel), safe in room was not working, and they had no intention at all to reapair it, the food was bad, they even served weenies with french fries as main course, and they do not take critics well, you will be looked as enemy from that time on, do not say that something is wrong in their little hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chunac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

This Hotel was ok, the food was good, staff were curteous but not friendly, and the room was fine for what we were looking for. I suppose what made it not a great hotel for us was when our daughter was sick and the manageress (who we had tried to speak in German to for most of the holiday) let me stand and struggle trying to explain that my daughter had been sick on the bed and we needed clean sheets, only after she listened to me for a few minutes did she rely in perfect english, told me where to get the sheets and showed me where to put them in the laundry when I had changed all the sheets, and that was it no other enquiry if we needed any other help or even asking if she was ok the next day. Kind of felt were inconveniencing them by being there!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirchberg hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#2 of 33 in Kirchberg
143 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Biohof Weissensteiner
#4 of 23 in Kirchberg
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
ParkHotel Kirchberg
ParkHotel Kirchberg
#19 of 33 in Kirchberg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Steininga
Steininga
#16 of 33 in Kirchberg
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#23 of 33 in Kirchberg
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
#14 of 33 in Kirchberg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kirchenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchenwirt

Address: Neugasse 14, Kirchberg 6365, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kirchberg
Price Range: £96 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kirchenwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kirchenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Kirchenwirt Hotel Kirchberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing