We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3star Gasthof”
Review of Unterm Rain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Unterm Rain
Ranked #33 of 43 Kirchberg B&B and Inns
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good 3star Gasthof”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

v/good Meals & good staf We hade a good week rooms ok & all the staf where Austrian

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    4
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

staff pleasant but only one in morning and evening to cope with coach party and other guests.Room ok fairly clean,but used towels put back on towel bar.Food very poor.Breakfast choice,egg or no egg(very hard boiled) plus small variety of cereal and juice.Evening meal was a joke,very little choice(made previous day)small helpings,veg out of the freezer and took 2 hours approx.No staff at all during day,and door locked. Would we go again,not on your life.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kirchberg hotels

Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

The Hotel Unterm Rein is listed as a 3 star Gasthof. Tradition rich is NOT. I have stayed in literally dozens of Austrian Gasthof. This was very untypical and had little Austrian atmosphere. Apart from an Austrian lady who greeted us on arrival we were attended to all week by two Hungarian waiters who looked after both the dining room and the bar. They spoke little English and when they discovered that one of our party spoke a little German they spoke German to everyone all week.

Reception was NEVER staffed all week and if we had wanted to raise any problems the only people we could find were the two waiters.

Food: Very poor standard and sufficient to say that absolutely everything we ate came out of a packet or tin. Traditional fare it was not. When the brochure said New Year dinner included we expected something special. It was just the normal menu except for sparklers on the desert - and lo and behold as the only families with children we were most disappointed when our desserts arrived without the sparklers. Only when we asked did the desserts arrive with half sparklers. All children's meals arrived as half portions (I now assume this applied to the sparklers). There was no mention of child portions in the brochure.

As the last guests to arrive in the hotel our dining table was in the bar area. The bar was occasionally frequented by non-residents who insisted on smoking while we and our children (all non-smokers but tolerant) were having our meal. We discovered towards the end of the week that there was indeed another available small and traditional dining room in the hotel but we were not offered it. It was unused and would have been perfect for us.

The bar: Lively it was not. There was a choice of red or white wine. We tried both and never tried again – it was €1 supermarket stuff (I’ve no idea what we paid for it). The bar ran out of draft beer and Vodka. Only when we asked could we use our own vodka in their mixer did they go and acquire another bottle. There was never any ice. The barman explained in German that the ice machine was broken. We expected that it would be fixed the next day but it didn’t seem to be important to them and was not repaired; no ice was bought in and there was little understanding that you simply cannot serve Gin and Tonic without ice. Lemon? You must be joking!!

Having expressed our extreme disapppointment at this and got little positive response we did not complain about all the other little foibbles - too many little things to form a complaint but just enough to make it an experience not to be repeated. No ice, a reluctance to bring fresh coffee at breakfast, bar staffed only occasionally, poor service, unheated bathrooms, threadbare carpets, no reception staff, no phone, no TV, dining in smokey bar area, poor choice of drinks / wine in supposedly "lively" bar, poor food, half portions for children, no New Year dinner, etc.

Midway through the week, the waiter asked us to pay our drinks bill - IN CASH. Because he was such a helpful chap we obliged and asked him why it was necessary. We were told that he needed the money to pay the chef – Fawlty Towers or what.

Rooms: The rooms were reasonably clean and comfortable but its the frst time I have experienced an Austrian Hotel without a little TV and a telephone. All bathrooms had had ther radiators removed so facilities for drying and heating damp ski gear was minimal. I would assume the radiator removal was a cost saving exercise, as was the poor lighting in the bathrooms - only a shaving light with only one of the two bulbs fitted.

These comments are constructive criticism. It is NOT a complaint. We are very tolerant people and while we were really there for the skiing it would have been a perfect holiday had our hotel provided basic accommodation and customer care. In fact we laughed about the whole experience but next year we will not be booking “one of the most tradition-rich "Gasthof's" in Kirchberg complete with Austrian bowling alley and lively atmosphere”.

I would strongly recommend that the hotel either address these issues or simply complete their apparent remoteness from their hotel and sell it to people who will run it properly. Cheap need not necessarily mean nasty.

Don't go is my recommendation. There are plenty of reasonably priced hotels providing basic services without encountering this experience.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DowninoneSkiClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Do not book to go here unless you find a really cheap deal and so can eat out the whole week! We booked for a week full board. We were promised a generous breakfast buffet... we got stale rolls with processed ham and cheese. The evening food was DISGUSTING! Nothing at all was fresh, for starters every day it was stock with cruton-esque objects floating in it. then for main usually some form of deep fried potato served with extremely poor quality meat and a questionable sauce and perhaps some canned veg. For dessert it was canned fruit and squirty cream! We were actually in disbelief that they were serving this with a smile on thier face, as if it were acceptable!
I really cant describe how horrible the food was.... not really what you are looking for after a hard day on the slopes.

Asides from the food, the hotel was basic but clean. The beds were comfortable. I would definitely not go there though if it was on a full/ half board deal!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanglejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirchberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Traublingerhof
Traublingerhof
#24 of 43 in Kirchberg
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweigerhof
Hotel Schweigerhof
#12 of 32 in Kirchberg
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#2 of 32 in Kirchberg
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Wieshof
Hotel Garni Wieshof
#24 of 32 in Kirchberg
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenresidenz Adler
Alpenresidenz Adler
#6 of 32 in Kirchberg
123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#4 of 32 in Kirchberg
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unterm Rain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unterm Rain

Property: Unterm Rain
Address: Kitzbueheler Strasse 8, Kirchberg 6365, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Kirchberg
Hotel Class:2 star — Unterm Rain 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Unterm Rain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing