We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PLEASANT CHRISTMAS STAY”
Review of Hotel Sonnalp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonnalp
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Kirchberg
LEICS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“PLEASANT CHRISTMAS STAY”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas 2013. The hotel is situated down a quiet lane, about a 15 minute stroll up a reasonably steep hill from the resort centre. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful and keen to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

The bedroom was quite large and tastefully decorated with ample wardrobe space, the bathroom was modern and had everything you would expect from a four star hotel. My only complaint about the bedroom was that there were no English speaking channels on the television which I feel is poor for a four star hotel, I would at least expect cnn / bbc world service.

Whilst the restaurant is quite large but they do tend to pack people in so there is very little room to move about, especially if you are seated near to the buffet.Service can be a little slow and chaotic at times as the staff are trying to deal with several large tables each. The food in the restaurant was fine, you were given a menu with several choices in the morning to pick from for your evening meal. You helped yourself to the starter from the salad bar and buffet which always had a good selection of salads, cooked meats and cheese along with a different soup each evening. The deserts were lovely as was the complimentary coffee.

Breakfast was your typical continental fayre with a good choice of fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cooked meats and cheese, there was scrambled egg available but didn't try it during our stay.

The bar area was pleasant with a good range of drinks all of which were reasonably priced (3.80 euros for a large beer) and our thanks must go to Atilla the barman, great guy and a credit to the hotel. The hotel bar shuts at 11.00pm which we felt was quite early considering we were there during what is the busiest period of the year.

All in all this is a pretty decent hotel and we would quite happily stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DAVE123Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonnalp, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Dave123,
thank you very much for your nice evaluation and the time you spend on it! Recuring guests are the biggest compliment for us. We would be very pleased to welcome also you in our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is not in the centre of kirchberg and is not walking distance to any lifts, the hotel offers a shuttle in the morning but leaves it's guests to organise their own return in the afternoon. A taxi to kitzbuhel is ca 20 euros and to kirchberg 10 euros. Walking distance to kirchberg centre is ca 20-25 mins.

Large amount of rooms are 20+ years old and have not been upgraded since the eighties ( except tv), towels/ linen are old and missing the 4* hotel standard, no dressing gowns in rooms, un-usuable toiletries, shower rooms small and very basic, fluorescent lighting in bedrooms, cheap furniture and old carpets in room. 
Restaurant uncomfortable with old chipped crockery. 
Breakfast buffet is catastrophic, leftovers from the day before are regularly offered often at the end of it's use by date, bread/ bread rolls are cheap and of low quality, hardly any fresh fruit and any eggs except of boiled, which guests have to boil themselves are charged for as well as any coffee that is other than black which is offered in thermos bottles. Cheese is often sweaty and presented without any tlc.
Dinner menu consists of three meals + children's dish has to be ordered in the morning and changes are not welcome nor are vegetarians catered for.

Wellness and sauna area is nice, but guests a generally not welcome here, outrageous and ridiculous rules are enforced through regular control checks by staff, which are not shy of telling you off in front of other guests whilst sitting in the sauna.


Staff is trying, but appear to be terrorised by the owner. In general the atmosphere is cold, unfriendly and unwelcome. Generally the hotel doesn't seem to like guests!?
A very disappointing experience, we will never return and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goethesdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Sonnalp, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sonnalp, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear goethesdaughter,

thank you for your opinion and the time you spend on this evaluation. We are very sorry that our hotel did not measure up to your expectations.
The reason why we cannot pick up our guests with our skibus shuttle in the afternoon is, that we don't know, when they return and it is not possible to dirve for each single guest (140 persons). The taxi to Kirchberg center costs 6 Euros and there is also a free official ski bus regularly.
We know, that the furniture in some of the Standard rooms is older but not damaged or the like. The towels are new and the linen is rental linen - so also the linen is in good condition.
Regarding the breakfast buffet we spoke with our chef in the kitchen and there are fresh fruits on the buffet now. The management decided to include also other coffee at the breakfast. Eggs were always possible to order.
Once againg we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel and wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We spent a week at this delightful hotel over christmas. It was a great experience. The staff were fiendly and efficient, housekeeping staff were excellent and had a good sense of humour, they presented my nightie each day as a snow angel on the bed. We felt so welcome and had a great family christmas. All meals including breakfast were very good and the facilities were great, the pool terrific. Kirchberg was within easy walking distance where shopping facilties were excellent, skiing and tobogganing were close. Congratulations Sonnalp, your Christmas tree and christmas spirit helped to make this one of our best christmases, thank you

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a robe and towels so you can use the pool often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnjoylifeQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilthoven
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stay in this all-in hotel for one week in june 2011 and we enjoy it very much. Friendly people, good food and comfortable rooms. Even a swimming pool in the basement. Not far away from the village of Kirchberg were you can find all the shops you need. Also very good walking routes in the neighbourhood. Very good price to what you got there. Nice place to go to like Kitzbuhle and Innsbruck

Room Tip: On the garden site at the back of the hotel it is very quiet for a good night of sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed with our family including a couple of young childeren. Staff was every friendly, helpfull and did adopt very well to the needs and moods of young childeren. The rooms are very spacious and have recently been upgraded. The hotel is located on the edge of town and near one of the less busy ski-lifts.

The main drawback is that the hotel is very hot, in the rooms and the public places. We ended upsleeping with the windows open and the heathing off.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alfieinthekennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Sonnalp (Dec. 27 - 30th). As I mention in another review of a ski resort in Austria, we did not realize that ski resorts during the holidays require a 7 night stay. Thankfully, Hotel Sonnalp was kind enough to accommodate us for 3 nights during this busy time of year.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and towels were soft and fluffy. Our balcony overlooked the front of the property toward the mountains. The hotel I believe would be quiet however we seemed to have very noisy neighbors. They yelled in the their room, on their balcony and even in the hall. Overlooking the manners and behaviour of these guests, the hotel is an excellent choice for Kirchberg. Kitzbuhel is very busy during the holiday season and Kirchberg is a very nice alternative to staying in the madness and congestion.

Our room rate included half board. Breakfast is not as bountiful as at some hotels but it is sufficient and adequate but nothing memorable. There were limited cereals, hard boiled eggs along with a cooker to prepare your own soft boiled eggs but it did not appear to work well as most eggs broke inside the cooker. Yogurt was available along with breads, and sliced meat/cheese. Throughout the day plates of cookies were available in the sitting area of reception which was a nice touch.

The quality of food for dinner was much better. There was a choice of entrees that we selected during breakfast in addition to a salad buffet with soup, breads, various cold meats and fish. The entree and dessert is served at the table. Highlights at the salad buffet seemed to be the platters of sliced cold meat and fish. What I found odd was if you arrived for dinner and went to the salad buffet there would be platters of sliced food set out. When these platters emptied, different platters would arrive with different items rather than replacing what had been available. This made it awkward as you almost needed to go to the salad buffet a couple of times to see what had been brought out by the staff. These platters ranged from sliced proscuitto one evening, delicious sliced beef another, and smoked salmon on another evening.

I would stay at Hotel Sonnalp again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2007

Stayed in Clubhotel Sonnalp 27th Jan 2006. The location is a little bit further out of town than expected, but it does only take 5-10 mintues to walk to town and about 5 mintues to walk to the nearest cable car. The hotel is in an elevated position, and although only a short uphill walk it is very steep!
The hotel does have everything you need, with a cosy bar, swimming pool and sauna and heated ski boot room (although it does smell of sweaty feet in there!). The buffet breakfasts are fantastic with bacon, sausages and scrambled egg on offer every day as well as every type of bread and cereal, cheese, ham and croissants. Evening meals consist of salad buffet, starter, soup, main, desert and cheeseboard with excellent waiter service!!
Rooms are spacious and warm with a large bathroom with bath and shower attachment.
Hinterglemm itself has good slopes for intermediates, with a good lift system and excellent mountain restuarants with everything at good prices. Some blue runs are perhaps a little steep and bumpy in place for novices. Would definately go again!

  • Liked — Food and rooms
  • Disliked — uphill walk
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Shelley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirchberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Kirchberger Hof
Kirchberger Hof
#9 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#2 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
#8 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maierl-Alm und Chalets
Maierl-Alm und Chalets
#1 of 32 in Kirchberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpenresidenz Adler
Alpenresidenz Adler
#5 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metzgerwirt
Hotel Metzgerwirt
#3 of 32 in Kirchberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonnalp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonnalp

Property: Hotel Sonnalp
Address: Almweg 22, Kirchberg 6365, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kirchberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonnalp 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Sonnalp, built in traditional Tyrolean style, offers room for approx. 140 guests in 68 rooms and two suites. Summer or winter – you will never get bored staying with us! We are located roughly 1.5 km from the town center of Kirchberg, the perfect location to enjoy peace and quiet but also the ideal starting point for the many activities.We also offer a lot of activities in and around our hotel. Relax in the sauna, during a massage or sunbathing in the garden, burn off your excess energy in our gym, on the tennis court or in the indoor pool, enjoy yourself while playing pool, foosball, table tennis or many of our board games or relax while reading a book from our library in front of the burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonnalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnalp Hotel Kirchberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing