We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place for a short vacation, just needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Kirchberg
Certificate of Excellence
germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Place for a short vacation, just needs some work”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked this Hotel for our touringski vacation. The Hotel is nicely located. What is a little strange is that from the city center you can see the Hotel that has a big sign on the room referring to the hotel and casino. We never found the casino. No casino, just the sign. The rooms are OK but need some work. The Breakfast was good and was always filled up. No new ideas, always the same things.
We ate dinner only one time in this hotel. Too expensive and poor quality. The steak was too thin and cooked dead. The sauce was not fresh and I would say it came out of a package. After this, we went into the town and ate very good food.
The sauna area is small but good. They could use a little a whirlpool but otherwise we were able to relax.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bind2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    49
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
36
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I visited there with my family and friend family in February 2013. The hotel is well located, the breakfast was A+ and the rooms were very clean and roomy. Staff was helpful and nice.

What I did not like was that the WIFI was not free, you always had to log in and log out, buy new tickets in the reception. That was so annoying and not OK for a expensive hotel like Sunny.

The dinner was not so great but it got better and better, we stayed there for 10 days.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnlaugur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hotel was very good very convenient for skiing although not very easy to drive to. Breakfast very very good, rooms could be better, personel very helpfoul. Problem with pay internet, using of codes was difficult, should charge 1/per day and provide free Internet. Also use of extra Spa towels not very convenient. Couldnt use the roomn safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0f0klisP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We chose to stay in this hotel during summertime, spending 4 nights there last week and were happy with our choice.
This hotel is very well located, with beautiful nature and good trekking paths around, different lifts to take you up the mountains, with a very nice lake located just a short stroll away. This natural lake, called "Badsee", has all the facilities, including one artificial swimming pool, two different water slides which are ideal for kids, one playground, changing rooms and a restaurant. We were very lucky with the weather, as it was very nice and warm, so the lake was a must every day to cool down a bit. The entrance was included in the hotel price.
The hotel itself has a good indoor swimming pool, a nice garden and terrace outside. It offers beautiful views to the green mountains around, giving one a sense of total relaxation. Our room was comfortable, with well maintained furniture and facilities and with enough space for our family - couple plus 9 year old. We had a ground floor room, located in the back of the building, giving us direct access to the outside back garden, with private use of a small table and chairs to our most convenience.
We chose half board option and did not regret as the food was good and served copiously by friendly staff.
To regret is the fact that this hotel does not provide free internet access, as most hotels already do nowadays. Payment must be done at reception in order to have Wi-Fi access. It is possible to buy a 20 min, 1 hour or 2 hour connection. Even so it only works in the hotel lobby, or at least it did not work in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilaPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in this traditional Tyrolean family hotel as part of a xmas bus tour. We had a room at the very front of the hotel and had a great view of the ski slopes. It was a short walk to the church and local shops. The bar area was quite small and hard to get service wen it was busy. Our room was very hot at night time and we had to open the window to let the snowy air in to cool it down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkygirlCentralQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very comfortable modern Tyrolean style hotel. Nice Spa + pool (pool not ideal for small children). Really good breakfast buffet + we had dinner in the restaurant on 1 night & thought the food was nice. Bar also fine for a quiet aprés ski drink. The only small negative is that Wi-Fi is not free in the hotel & the i-net in the lobby is antiquated. I recommend upgrading i-net service in lobby area + provision of free Wi-Fi throughout hotel. Due to poor i-net we had difficulty checking in for our return flight + printing of boarding passes, we did get help reluctantly from the gentleman behind reception - all other staff very nice, friendly & professional.

Room Tip: Ask for room near reception - we did & we had a perfect room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Lovely Hotel. I found all the staff helpful and friendly. Plenty of good food.
Hotel was about a five- ten minute walk to town down hill via a road or steps by the church.
The hotel provides a bus to the Maieribahn lift in the morning. You can ski back to hotel (only short walk on a road) if enough snow. If you take the Fleckalm cable car down it costs 8 euros for a taxi back to the Hotel..
Lovely ski resort for intermediates. Wouldn't like to come with beginners as beginner slope is in the centre of town not near other cable cars.
Would come back .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kirchberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonnalp
Hotel Sonnalp
#4 of 32 in Kirchberg
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#2 of 32 in Kirchberg
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirchberger Hof
Kirchberger Hof
#13 of 32 in Kirchberg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpenresidenz Adler
Alpenresidenz Adler
#6 of 32 in Kirchberg
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metzgerwirt
Hotel Metzgerwirt
#3 of 32 in Kirchberg
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweigerhof
Hotel Schweigerhof
#10 of 32 in Kirchberg
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne

Property: Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne
Address: Seestrasse 15, Kirchberg 6365, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchberg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Kirchberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Activ Sunny Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing