We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, food not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Astoria Kuhtai
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kuhtai
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week, travelling with Crystal Ski. Our room was comfortable, with a TV, sitting area, big bathroom and a balcony, but it was very hot! The maid service was excellent, turn down beds every night with choc on the pillow! We had to have the window open all night which meant we were awoken early with snow sweepers, lorries arriving and general outside type noises! We were full board, but you had to pay for all drinks and the afternoon coffee and cake. The food here was disappointing, not very tasty and certainly not enough on your plate to satisfy. The breakfast was buffet style with some eggs and bacon in a covered hot dish, unfortunately the contents were always cold! We ended up eating out twice during the week for a decent meal.
The "ski-in, ski-out" aspect of the hotel was great, except you had to be an accomplished skier to use it - definitely not for beginners!! The nearest beginners slope to walk to was 4/5 min walk DOWN at steep hill, not much fun walking back in ski boots and carrying skis! There was a swimming pool, friends said it was lovely but cold!
The boot/ski room was quite spacious and very warm, with a heated floor so no puddles of melted snow anywhere.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Generally, it was an enjoyable stay, very quiet in the evenings, as is all of Kuhtai.
The ski area is extensive and good but no easily accessible blue runs, so really suits the intermediate skier rather than the beginner. I consider myself to be an intermediate skier, but found some of the runs quite difficult.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMB0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Astoria Kuhtai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2007

The Astoria Hotel in Kutai is a Full Board hotel in one of the highest resorts in Austria. We booked a late deal for the end of February here because of the price and the snow guarentee.
Transfer from Innsbruck is easy; it is just 50 minutes up the mountain from the airport. We were initially concerned by the lack of snow as the Tyrolean foothills appeared lush and spring-like. We hit the snow level at about 1500m and arrived in Kutai, which had a moderate dusting of snow over all the well prepared pistes.
The hotel offerred us a warm greeting and a welcome cocktail. Our room was functional, of reasonable size and the balcony overlooked the red run that ran past us. One of our group didn't get a balcony, and their view was only of the neighbouring property; this problem was rectified with a EU100 supplement for the week. We will be contesting this charge with Crystal Holidays.
The hotel fed us three times a day. The breakfast was a good continental buffet. Lunch consisted of a three course meal and dinner was anything between 5 and 7 courses. Portion size wasn't large however, and one evening we were left unsatiated. Their wine list is extensive and includes international wines and a number of premium Austrian wines. We particularly enjoyed sampling some better examples of Austian wine. We paid for all drinks at the hotel and found the wine list reasonable.
Leisure facilities provided inclues a swimming pool and a sauna. There is a games room and you can book a massage on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.
There is a bus into Innsbruck throughout the day. The last one back is at 1600, apart from Wednesdays and Saturdays, where there is an extra service at 1830 to accommodate night skiing. This allowed us a full day excursion to the Tyrolean Capital to break up the week.
Kutai, as a resort, would not please all. The piste area is small and there are not enough beginners' runs at the bottom (there is only one). Hovever there are enough red runs to keep intermediates busy for a week and there are quite a few black runs too. The ski lifts are mainly tows and the queues are short. Ski-in ski-out makes a massive difference to a holiday and we felt that it was worth making the effort to ensure that this feature was in our choice of hotel.
The six of us (two couples + 2 friends) felt that the hotel was outstanding value for money as we has the whole package for £440 per person including flights from London, transfer to the resort and full board for one week. This is significantly lower that the list price and we were unsure as to whether we would be so positive if we has been charged this. If there had been more snow, the Astoria would have made a good base to travel throughout the different ski resorts that serve Innsbruck.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_Wei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuhtai
0.1 mi away
Sporthotel Kuehtai
Sporthotel Kuehtai
#6 of 9 in Kuhtai
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#2 of 9 in Kuhtai
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenresidenz Mooshaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Aktiv Panoramahotel Daniel
3.2 mi away
Berghotel & Gasthof Marlstein
6.4 mi away
Hotel Ferienschlossl
Hotel Ferienschlossl
#1 of 1 in Haiming
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria Kuhtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria Kuhtai

Address: Kuhtai Nr. 33, Kuhtai 6183, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kuhtai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Kuhtai
Price Range: £176 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria Kuhtai 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Astoria Kuhtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing