We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing impressive..”

Alpenhotel Dachstein
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpenhotel Dachstein
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bad Goisern
Reviewed 12 July 2014

There was a bed to sleep, shower and that's it... Nobody at reception desk, when finally lady came out, there was no our online booking, we get probably last room with terrible view from the balcony (parking side and wall of trees) Interion like 20 years ago, especially bathroom... Just terrible, window with mould all around over the bath, shower - you have to seat to take it?? Toilet - just disaster... The best thing about this very hard to located hotel was closest of the Hallstatt village (around 10km) - just amazing place... Breakfast was poor as well, nothing warm just cold plates and coffee. Not worth to go there!

Room Tip: We had worst room (probably) so I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patryk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Perfect, quiet location with unforgetable views to mountain landscape. We (4 persons) had two large and comfortable bedrooms, one huge livingroom with panorama window and balcony, well equiped kitchen and nice bathroom. For the the hotel guests is also available indoor pool and sauna, free wifi (in the lobby) and parking. The hotel has own restaurant, but we had kitchen, so we have not tried it. The elevator is big enough to take your bicycle upstairs. Hotel staff is warm and friendly. We stayed there 9 days, and it was almost too short to explore beauty of Salzkammergut by the mountain bike, and also on foot :) All bicycle trips can be started right from the hotel, because Bad Goisern is in the centrum of Salzkammergut. It was unforgettable vacations.

PS: some people had problem to find the hotel for first time (2 km from Bad Goisern centre) , but it was not our case, maybe we just put right coordination to the GPS navigation :) . Remoteness of the hotel is good for its quiet, but as well it is not so far from civilisation :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martius74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel consists of two large buildings linked by the restaurants on the ground floor. The whole complex was built over a couple of years in the mid 1970's. I am not sure exactly how this works but part of the hotel has been sold off as holiday apartments. I don't know if this involves isolated rooms, entire floors or whatever. This has some surprising consequences - the Ski Room is basically a museum with boots and skis dating back 40 years. The hotel obviously has no idea which equipment belongs to which apartment so nothing gets thrown away and there is virtually no room for visitors' equipment.
Several regular guests/apartment owners where there when we were, people who have been coming there for years.
Bad Goisern has a railway station and I believe the hotel runs a minibus down to the village and back a few times a day at fixed times. Another reviewer said it is a 25 minute walk down to the village and Google Maps pretty much agrees, the road winds through the trees. There is no through-traffic, just 20 or so other houses spread out below the hotel. That isolation is either a reason to go there or a reason not to, depending on your preferences.

The food was decent going on good.
WLAN is available near the reception, unfortunately so is the smoking area and it is too close to the restaurant. There was traditional (?) Austrian live music in the evenings. One of the guests grabbed his guitar and joined in one evening, then the woman who runs the place got behind a microphone and started singing.

The furnishing dates back to when the hotel was built but seems to be maintained very well, I have seen much worse. The TV was a lot newer. The rooms are spacious, I'd guess mine as 30-35 square metres + a balcony. My room faced towards the hill/woods, others faced across the valley.

One of the other reviews complains about the water temperature in the pool, that was not a problem when I was there.

I can't comment on "value" because this was part of a package.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for one. I'd tend to want to be on the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlad_Inh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed there for four days and loved it. It's a gentle 25-walk down to the town through a dense forest. The hotel has fabulous views from the mountains-facing balconies. It's quiet and deeply relaxing. Rooms and are well-equipped and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. We met some other guests who have been coming here for 30 years! However the decor is a bit tired and needs renewing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Otherwise nic facilities (free sauna, pool). Not very easy to get to especially in winter...

Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank ssipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bozo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank GCCKR_MJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Goisern
1 mi away
Hotel Lindwurm
Hotel Lindwurm
#5 of 9 in Bad Goisern
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moserwirt
Moserwirt
#1 of 9 in Bad Goisern
57 reviews
5.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Dormio Resort Obertraun
Dormio Resort Obertraun
#1 of 5 in Obertraun
147 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Sommerhof
Hotel Sommerhof
#5 of 6 in Gosau
8 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Dachstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Dachstein

Address: Unterjoch 38, Bad Goisern 4822, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Goisern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bad Goisern
Price Range: £91 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel Dachstein 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpenhotel Dachstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing