We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bad Goisern
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location(the small river next to the hotel creates a nice atmosphere) and friendly staff. The restaurant is very good as well. Specifically the homemade "Nussschnaps" can be recommended. We will definetly come back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel has a beautiful situation by a small, fast running river and with a lovely garden adjacent. It is less than 5 minutes walk from the station and the main bus stop so is good for getting quickly to see nearby sites such as Hallstatt.

The restaurant at the hotel is superb. Dinner there was one of the best meals I've eaten in ages. It was accompanied by excellent wine. The breakfast included in the room price was of a high quality.

We found the staff friendly and very pleasant. They were more forthcoming when speaking German and tended to respond briefly (even tersely) when needing to communicate in English. This might come across as abruptness.

The hotel operates in some respects in a rather informal manner. As some other reviewers have noted, its reception desk is not staffed all the time (though there seems always to be someone nearby) and its closing time varies so guests are told not to forget their outside door key. The first night we were there it had shut down by 10pm.

This relaxed approach also extends to some aspects of maintenance (for example the blinds had been removed in the two single rooms we booked and not replaced and a question about this on the first morning did not lead to their replacement and the heavy soap dispenser in my friend's bathroom fell off the wall and turned out simply to have been glued on).

The hotel offers an excellent and good value same day laundry service (washing and pressing).

Despite the one or two of rough edges mentioned we found this a very enjoyable place to stay and would certainly return and recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with blinds or curtains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandalsinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went for a meal. On entering reception was met by a very obnoxious girl, with short hair. When asked for the bar was told in no uncertain way that "IT IS CLOSED". Decided to give it a go none the less. The menu is less than average. Our friend sat on a dining chair which collapsed underneath him. He is a tall man but not by any means overweight. Luckily he was unhurt.
When receiving our bill we asked if they thought that as we had experienced a potentially serious incident they could reduce the bill. We were told we could have a free coffee! We then asked for the Manager. He was unavailable so the waitress called him on the mobile. She told us the Manager had said he was only prepared to give us 5 euro off the total bill.
We decided not to argue and left, only to hear laughing from the receptionist and waitress in the background!!
The customer service was extremely poor and the food average.See other Trip Advisor reviews.
I would be interested to hear from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank suel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

One night we spent at the Hotel, booked it via booking.com. With easy coplications we found the Hotel without anyone at the reception. Finally a not really kind woman arrived from the restaurant, watched our booking and gave the key of the room. Small problem: it was a single instead of a double. I went down, searched her again...after about 10 minutes "thinking" /and a remark, that someone else managed the booking/ she gave us another key, and it led us to - maybe - one of the best rooms of the Hotel, a spacious one, with 2 big Windows and a corner-terrace with the river Vils under. We liked this. The room itself was functional and clean. We had a quiet night there...and few times we walked in and out - but never saw anyone at the reception. /Except morning when checked out.../
Parking is very good and comfortable (not too often is Austria), the breakfast is a good average.
I can't recommend the Hotel...and only 'cause the staff...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeszpremPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

beware young receptionist with dyed short hair- she growls always and is terrible in service everytime she can and seems intent on chasing away customers, otherwise hotel is nice but very expensive considering the bad service and other details.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is actually quite ok, our rooms having a view over the "Mühlbach" which creates a very nice environment.
Nevertheless being a 4 star hotel (with the pricing that goes along with the stars) there were too many small issues (like a broke shower holder, misadjusted jalousies) too make it more than average - absolutely nothing serious, but...
Worth mentioning on the positive side was the very friendly and helpful personnel.

Breakfast was included in our stay and I have to say that it also fell short of what I expect of a 4 star. The rolls ("Kaisersemmeln") were an insult to their kind and you never knew if the eggs would be hard or soft boiled. The remainder was ok as well but not the "great selection" advertised on their homepage.

The location of the hotel in Bad Goisern is very good, and Bad Goisern is located quite central in the Salzkammergut so a lot of attractions in this area are easily within reach.

Would I go there again: in combination with a good offer: no doubt...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusTravVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Helpful and friendly staff, extremely clean, breakfast and dinner were absolutely amazing!!!! About 15 minutes away from Hallstatt, very charming town, free parking. Would stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Goisern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lindwurm
Hotel Lindwurm
#6 of 8 in Bad Goisern
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpenhotel Dachstein
Alpenhotel Dachstein
#3 of 8 in Bad Goisern
42 reviews
6.6 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
#2 of 2 in Bad Aussee
235 reviews
5.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moserwirt
Moserwirt
#1 of 8 in Bad Goisern
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle

Address: Kurparkstrasse 9, Bad Goisern 4822, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Bad Goisern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Bad Goisern
Price Range: £96 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Salzkammergut! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wohlfuhlhotel Goiserer Muhle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing