We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A definite alternate to Halstatt!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Hepi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Hepi
Ranked #2 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A definite alternate to Halstatt!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here during July 2013. Our primary destination was Halstatt, but everything there was booked up so we looked at nearby Obertraun. We both loved the accommodations as well as the town itself and would recommend it to anyone wanting to see the area.

The views from the balcony were unbelievable. We dined outside for our arrival dinner and were treated to amazingly delicious food at a reasonable price. The hospitality was solid; when we asked about hiking recommendations, we were provided with a map and some tips on where to go.

From Obertraun, Halstatt is a quick boat ride across the lake; after visiting Halstatt, we walked back to Obertraun. So it is walkable if you want to save some money and have a little time to kill. The walk definitely took some time, so it would be for people who are fit and without young children.

We loved the location, the room, and everything about the experience. Definitely a recommendation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had the great fortune of staying at Haus Hepi for two nights and can't wait to go back and spend a week there next time. Larry and Lisa were fantastic hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. They know so much about the area as their extremely active themselves. We experienced car trouble and the rental agency sent someone to repair it. Not knowing how to speak any German myself, Larry came to the rescue and gave perfect directions. The Haus is an excellent choice for using as a base. Many guests were staying for a week and we could see why. There's so much to do in the area and they gave us some great tips. It's only a short ride to Hallstatt which is a must place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is similar to an earlier review, We knew from previous reviews that we were going to have a great stay at Haus Hepi but even with these high expectations we had an exceptional week with Larry and Lisa. Everything from our rooms, food, Larry and Lisa perfect hosts, and fantastic views. Not forgetting other guests who we had a great fun with as well. Also Obertraun, a perfect base for walks, cycling, the lake, and visiting the many other lovely places in the vicinity. We have to go back and try a winter visit next time. Thank you Larry and Lisa for the exceptional week's holiday we had with you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I stayed with Larry & Lisa at Haus Hepi for 7 nights in August; our stay was relaxing, comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable.

Larry & Lisa are the perfect hosts, welcoming, hospitable & knowledgeable without being in any way intrusive. They have tons of useful advice and recommendations on where to visit, how to get there and little tips and tricks only locals can advise. And all their advice is based on real knowledge & experience, not on tourist brochures.

The room was comfortable with its own balcony and a different view each day as the weather in the mountains changed, and the location was just perfect, quiet but not isolated, handy for local restaurants and as a base to tour the area.

The room and en-suite bathroom were very clean, tidy & well furnished and it was a real pleasure to come back at the end of each day.

The area around Obertraun & Hallstatt is spectacular, with lots to see, great places to eat, and with Larry & Lisa’s help we were able to get the very best from our holiday.

Altogether a wonderful holiday experience, highly recommended. A great place to stay, and we can’t wait to go back.

Alistair

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Everything about doing a biking or hiking trip with "Bike and Hike", Austria is excellent. The accommodation is good, the hosts friendly and hospitable, the chef Larry, superb, the scenery and places to visit, lovely. If you're not into biking and hiking, then Haus Hepi would be an excellent base for this area if you don't want the hussle of Hallstatt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToolesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramstein, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Everything about our stay with Larry and Lisa at Haus Hepi was perfect. A warm welcome, spotless facilities, expert advice, a great location, and wonderful dinners made it a memorable vacation. Larry had answers to all our questions and his suggestion to visit Goausee was spot on! The plentiful breakfasts were a great start to each day after a wonderful nights sleep on the most comfortable beds ever. Be sure to try the Koppenrast restaurant in Obertraun for an amazing and affordable meal when Larry's not cooking. Truly two of the most welcoming and pleasant hosts we've encountered during our extensive travels throughout Europe. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvlv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was looking for a cycling holiday for me and my 2 teenage sons and came across House Hepi during my search on the internet. Lisa was very good at dealing with my various enquiries. When my son and I arrived after cycling from Ebensee we found a charming house in a great location. We had great food every night to refuel us after cycling, hiking, lake swimming or all three! We also enjoyed sitting on the terrace playing cards and looking at the moon rising over the Five Fingers. Thank you for a lovely break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.2 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Haus Am See
Hotel Haus Am See
#7 of 11 in Obertraun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Hepi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Hepi

Property: Haus Hepi
Address: Stiegergasse 58, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, renovated guesthouse is beautifully located in the idyllic town of Obertraun in the Salzkammergut region, only a few steps away from the shores of picturesque Lake Hallstatt. The panoramic mountain scenery can be admired from the bedrooms south-facing balconies and from the terrace. The traditionally furnished rooms have modern bathrooms. The hearty breakfast buffet is served on the sunny terrace in fair weather. Some evenings dinner is served by prior arrangement. The dining room has views of the surrounding mountains and forests. Haus Hepi is close to the Dachstein Caves, the historic town of Hallstatt, and the spa town of Bad Ischl. The Krippenstein ski area is only 2 km away. The Dachstein-West region with 140 km of slopes can be reached in only 20 minutes. There are many hiking and biking trails that start at Haus Hepi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haus Hepi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing