We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uber awesome!”
Review of Haus Hepi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Hepi
Ranked #2 of 10 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I cant say enough about how great of a stay we had at Haus Hepi. We stayed for 8 nights and loved every minute of it. Larry and Lisa are excellent hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the local area and activities. The food was outstanding yum.yum.yum!
Highly recommend this place.
We will be back!
Nadine

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nadine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you so much Nadine for your kind review! Such a complement from someone who never goes to the same place twice! We loved getting to know you and will certainly be asking your advice for travel tips in the future. Hope our paths do cross again at some point in the future.
Fond regards
Larry & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for a week and everything was absolutely great. The rooms are very lovely and the views are spectacular.
The hospitality is second to none and you could not wish for a nicer place to spend time.

Thank you so much and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denwaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you Dennis for the kind words, we are also looking forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place is amazing, the views are stunning and the location is fabulous, there is so much to see and do in the area. If you have any questions then both Larry and Lisa are on hand to help you out with recommendations which are spot on.
The rooms are super comfortable and well equipped. The directions on the website make it easy to find.
Breakfast is fantastic and sets you up for the day.

We will definitely be returning!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Panda1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you Amanda. We are looking forward to the next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

2nd time at Haus Hepi after staying there three years ago. A large group of friends went over for a bit of snowboarding and comfort and just like last time we were not disappointed. Food, room and hospitality still fab. Would stay in Obertraun for months if my work would let me.

Snow was a little past its best at the bottom of Gosau and Russbach but fab on top of Krippenstein. Tauplitz is also easily commutable from here. We were able to see Spring on the Halstatt lake and from the view we have also worked out why winter is their low season...

Get over there. Stay in Haus Hepi. Do it now.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank cjpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thanks Chris! It was great to see you all again and meet the new little addition to the group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed 2 wonderful nights at Haus Hepi in October. Larry and Lisa were wonderful hosts. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and welcoming! We loved the balcony and watching the sunset over the alps. Breakfast was the perfect way to start the day with fresh fruit, eggs, meats, cheeses, coffee & tea. We appreciated the beer for purchase from the mini fridge, the cookies, and reading other travelers reviews in the guest books!

Haus Hepi is conveniently located to Hallstatt as well as attractions like the Dachstein Ice Caves and 5 Fingers! If my travels bring me back to the area, I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty_River7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Yes, I also would echo the praise Larry, Lisa, and the location. Haus Hepi was a great sleep, a great breakfast, and a quiet hang-out after adventure. Lisa and Larry are helpful, accommodating, and willing to help; yet they manage quiet deference to allow some solitude and personal space. I would recommend this to friends, family and even grandma!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Larry and Lisa are excellent hosts, who go over and above for their guests. Obertraun is a stunning natural location - there are pristine lakes nearby, a cable car that's easily accessible to reach skiing / mountain walks, bike and walkways that are readily accessible to enjoy outdoor pursuits & a couple of local restaurants to enjoy. There's also proximity to Halstatt, but a sense that you are away from the main tourist area, which is across the lake. The accommodation is cosy, comfortable & traditional, with a delicious buffet breakfast complemented by Larry & Lisa's valuable insights into where to visit, depending on the weather conditions. Guests can enjoy a communal lounge (complementary tea & biscuits) on the top floor, & the views from most of the guest rooms are spectacular and captivating... there were cows & horses nearby and pretty colourful flowers on the balcony that you look past to a rolling, misty valley and hills. Haus Hepi feels like a home away from home, and we hope to return again, one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing the view. There is an attic room that overlooks the front ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obertraun hotels
0.3 mi away
Dormio Resort Obertraun
Dormio Resort Obertraun
#1 of 5 in Obertraun
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhaus Lilly
Landhaus Lilly
#1 of 10 in Obertraun
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haus Salzkammergut
Haus Salzkammergut
#3 of 10 in Obertraun
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#2 of 5 in Obertraun
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Appartementhaus Simmer
Appartementhaus Simmer
#4 of 12 in Obertraun
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Haus Marie
Haus Marie
#3 of 12 in Obertraun
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Hepi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Hepi

Address: Stiegergasse 58, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range: £70 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, renovated guesthouse is beautifully located in the idyllic town of Obertraun in the Salzkammergut region, only a few steps away from the shores of picturesque Lake Hallstatt. The panoramic mountain scenery can be admired from the bedrooms south-facing balconies and from the terrace. The traditionally furnished rooms have modern bathrooms. The hearty breakfast buffet is served on the sunny terrace in fair weather. Some evenings dinner is served by prior arrangement. The dining room has views of the surrounding mountains and forests. Haus Hepi is close to the Dachstein Caves, the historic town of Hallstatt, and the spa town of Bad Ischl. The Krippenstein ski area is only 2 km away. The Dachstein-West region with 140 km of slopes can be reached in only 20 minutes. There are many hiking and biking trails that start at Haus Hepi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Haus Hepi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing