We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays we've had”
Review of Haus Hepi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Hepi
Ranked #2 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best holidays we've had”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed in Haus Hepi for a week in May. Had a very energetic week walking and cycling in the beautiful scenic areas of Salzkammergut. Accommodation was perfect with beautiful views of the mountains from our bedroom. Larry and Lisa could not have done more for us. We looked forward to our dinner every evening at 7 as it was always delicious and interesting with great company with other guests. We hope to make it back next year again.
Noreen, John & Claire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments Noreen. There are still plenty more walks and bike rides for you to discover ;) We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Innisfil, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a gem...the room had a lovely view of the lake and mountains. We looked forward to coming home after a day of adventure to our quaint room. Minutes away from Hallstatt. Breakfast were wonderful. Our Larry and Lisa are wonderful, they gave us suggestions for dinner and drives. Thanks so much, we would love to return to this area some day.

Room Tip: WE have a balcony room that faced the lake and mountains. Excellent. Quite location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind feedback Robert and Valli! We are really happy you liked our little guesthouse, hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is our 2nd visit to Haus Hepi. The room was very clean,comfortable and had amazing views. It overlooks the quiet town of Obertraun which is what helped to make our stay so special. The train and bus only minutes away. Lisa and Larry again went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. Larry's cooking is highly recommended and was always welcomed after a long day out exploring. Thank you Larry and Lisa for another lovely visit to Haus Hepi.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review Tracey. We certainly must be doing something right for guests to return to us from the other side of the world! It was a very pleasurable week for us too.
Fond regards
Larry & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The two of us stayed for 4 nights in mid April. We came for some walking and were not disappointed. Larry and Lisa were great hosts and able to help us out with walking routes each day, most of which started from the front door. We came without a car and Larry and Lisa arranged a taxi pickup for us from Salzburg airport. When we wanted to doing anything more than walk the local train service was more than adequate for getting around.
Haus Hepi is clean and comfortable inside, nicely decorated with pleasant rooms and a lovely view of the valley and mountains from ours. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We couldn't recommend the accommodation and hosts highly enough. we hope to come again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave us feedback Simon. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at our little guesthouse. We hope to be able to share more wonderful walking routes with you on your next visit.

Kind regards
Larry & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, safe, welcoming, comfortable. Excellent location close to the train station and bus route. Knowledgable hosts with a comprehensive understanding of the local area and activities. Amazing dinners ... easily some of the best food to be found. Highly recommend this destination and especially this b&b.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for your great review Aaron! You forgot to mention the beer, the wonderful Austrian beer ;) We are so glad you chose to stay with us and we had the benefit of your great company. Hoping to see you again one day.
Fond regards
Larry & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I cant say enough about how great of a stay we had at Haus Hepi. We stayed for 8 nights and loved every minute of it. Larry and Lisa are excellent hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the local area and activities. The food was outstanding yum.yum.yum!
Highly recommend this place.
We will be back!
Nadine

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nadine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much Nadine for your kind review! Such a complement from someone who never goes to the same place twice! We loved getting to know you and will certainly be asking your advice for travel tips in the future. Hope our paths do cross again at some point in the future.
Fond regards
Larry & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for a week and everything was absolutely great. The rooms are very lovely and the views are spectacular.
The hospitality is second to none and you could not wish for a nicer place to spend time.

Thank you so much and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denwaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry H, Owner at Haus Hepi, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you Dennis for the kind words, we are also looking forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
0.2 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landhaus Lilly
Landhaus Lilly
#1 of 11 in Obertraun
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haus Salzkammergut
Haus Salzkammergut
#3 of 11 in Obertraun
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Hepi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Hepi

Property: Haus Hepi
Address: Stiegergasse 58, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run, renovated guesthouse is beautifully located in the idyllic town of Obertraun in the Salzkammergut region, only a few steps away from the shores of picturesque Lake Hallstatt. The panoramic mountain scenery can be admired from the bedrooms south-facing balconies and from the terrace. The traditionally furnished rooms have modern bathrooms. The hearty breakfast buffet is served on the sunny terrace in fair weather. Some evenings dinner is served by prior arrangement. The dining room has views of the surrounding mountains and forests. Haus Hepi is close to the Dachstein Caves, the historic town of Hallstatt, and the spa town of Bad Ischl. The Krippenstein ski area is only 2 km away. The Dachstein-West region with 140 km of slopes can be reached in only 20 minutes. There are many hiking and biking trails that start at Haus Hepi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haus Hepi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing