We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive but poor meals”

Gasthaus Koppenrast
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Obertraun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Central European, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Budapest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too expensive but poor meals”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

By the Tripadvisor's comments we have chosen this restaurant to have a dinner. The comments has given a very positive vision of the restaurant. All in all, the dishes tried to be arty, but no taste. It can be possible, that only that two types of dishes have not fitted to our taste.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saliga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    34
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not open..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just wanna advise travellers that this restaurant is not open all the time. when we tried to dine in, according to good comments on the webpage, we found it closed and were bit disapponted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamelka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Good Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We just happened to drive by this restaurant and stopped in. What a great find! I was with my husband, my son and his girlfriend. We all ordered something different and all loved our our food. We took bites from the each other and wished we had found time to come back. The food was so good. The Gulasch with dumplings was amazing. We had two different types of schnitzel and they were both good. We are all big salad eaters and ordered side salads-- cucumber, mixed green, bean, potato, and a carrot salad--all freshly prepared and yummy. The setting is beautiful. Service was good--we were never rushed. If you have the chance, I really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Austriangypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“traditional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

the braised beef is a traditional dish and is a must . tasty tasty very very tasty . very good staff and a lovely location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best dinner we had in Austria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We ended up to this place by recommendations of our pension owner and were definately not dissapointed. The food was best we had in Austria! We had three course menu and everything was great and very tasty. But don't go if you are in a hurry, cause they made everything by themselves. Definately worth to visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suskur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus Koppenrast also viewed

 
Obertraun, Upper Austria
Obertraun, Upper Austria
 
Hallstatt, Upper Austria
 

Been to Gasthaus Koppenrast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing