We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic lakeside hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haus Am See

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haus Am See
Ranked #7 of 11 Obertraun B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fantastic lakeside hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I would recommend anyone who would like to visit hallstatt and the surrounding area to stay here. It was right by the side of the lake with great views and only a 5 minute drive around the lake from hallstatt.
The hotel itself was very reasonable for the price and from what we saw much cheaper than staying in Hallstatt. The room looked well kept but the bathroom was a little dated. The staff were very friendly and the resataurant did good food that was reasonably priced

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank olicrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    44
    22
    8
    30
See reviews for
37
84
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is on lakes edge looking toward although (due to the mountain obscuring it) not at Hallstatt. It has beautiful view of the mountains. It has comfortable rooms with small balconies and a good spread for breakfast. The hallways smell of decades of cigarettes (although fortunately the rooms smelt better). The WiFi didn't work in the rooms although it did in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night in June 3013. It clearly has seen better days. You can tell at one time it was a very quaint, well kept place that has fallen victim to some deferred maintenance. For instance the carpet in the hallways needs to be replaced, the patio area needs some spiffing up. Stuff like that. That being said, I can't think of any good reason not to recommend this hotel. The room itself was clean and acceptable and the view from the balcony of our room onto Lake Hallstatt was nothing short of amazing. The breakfast in the morning was like most breakfasts at Austrian inns - nice selection of meats and cheeses, eggs, müseli, yogurt. If you are looking for a million-dollar view in a very peaceful village and don't mind a few cosmetic detractors you'll likely be happy staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azo49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Yes, the rooms are small (the bathroom is about 90% shower), but they are cozy and comfortable. This is one of few hotels in Obertraun that is ON the lake. We booked a mountain view room but were upgraded to a beautiful lake and mountain view when we arrived. The innkeeper helped us print our train tickets and gave us directions. We had a great dinner in the restaurant. I would go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

don't have words to describe the magnificent views from our balcony of the Hallstatt lake, snow covered hills and Hallstatt in the distance. the room was nice, though small, but no complains. the balcony was lovely. had dinner one night and liked it. the breakfast was real nice too and kept us going till lunch. we liked the staff and the owner too, who was very nice. we wanted to visit Hallstatt from teh hotel but were told the ferry from obertraun to Hallstatt does not operate in winters so we hiked to the Hallstatt station (which was a nice, but long snow covered walk) to take the ferry. on return we took a bus from Lahn in Hallstatt to Obertraun (got down near the ski equipment shop). folks visiting in winters, please note this. we also hiked through the snow covered forests on the outskirts of Obertraun as Krippenstein was fogged out completely that day. the hike was long, exerting, but rewarding with pristine views. had a long we had an early morning train and it had been raining in the evening so we requested the owner if it might be possible to drop us to the station and he agreed to do this and also got us a small takeaway breakfast from the bakery. it was raining in the morning! we're thankful to him for this. would recommend this place.

Room Tip: lake view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantkataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

I am remiss. I need to write this review to thank the staff for their kindness to us. We stayed at this hotel in Sept., so glad we selected Haus Am See. We were graciously welcomed by Uli and checked in by 12:30. We had enough time to have a super lunch (best salads) by the lake before we were transported to Hallstadt by a boat which leaves the dock at the hotel at 1:30 (also leaves at 11:30} 11 euros for the two of us. Uli had shown us how to return via Stephane, another boat further down a lake path. We loved our walks along the lake to and from the hotel. That evening we had another great meal (try the fish, boiled potatoes and spinach). What was exceptional was the help we got from Erika at the desk in getting our boarding passes for Ryanair. It took a long time due to our stumbling around, but she was patient and ever so helpful. This hotel provided excellent wifi in our room. We enjoyed the balcony, the view from our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

You can have a great time at this hotel if you dont get stuck on its shortcomings because its a funny little inn with cramped rooms and odd smell in the hallways, but it has a stunning view from the balcony and you can have a dinner right by the lake of the hotel's pier. Make sure to book a table about the times of the local brass band performing from the boat on the lake. They play for about 40 minutes around sunset. Its an unforgettable experience. As I was told by the hotel staff the music is a curtesy of the town of Obertraun.

Room Tip: Dont go unless you get a room with a lake facing balcony. Rooftop rooms dont have balconies at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arbooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
1.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Am See

Property: Hotel Haus Am See
Address: Obertraun 169 | 4831 Obertraun, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Am See 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Haus Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing