We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obertrauner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Obertrauner Hof
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Obertraun
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was my second stay with Debbie and Trevor and it didn't disappoint. Another warm, friendly welcome at the Obertrauner Hof!
The room was spacious, clean and airy with a large wardrobe and tea/coffee facilities in the room.
The shower is also amazing!
It is ideal for skiers as its location allows for a restful nights sleep before a hard day hitting the slopes. A good breakfast selection is available every morning.
There is also an area for groups to sit with tea/coffee (or something stronger) and chat about the day and unwind.
We travelled as a group of 8, 3 of which took a few days to explore the local area. Debbie and Trevor were very helpful and informative with suggestions on what they could do and where to visit.
If you are looking for a friendly, relaxing place to stay I highly recommend Obertrauner Hof!
Hope to see you again soon!:)

Whilst staying here, we were able to eat at the Reba restaurant.
Run by Rob, the chef, Fay, the dessert specialist. Both are very friendly, accommodating and approachable.
We were very pleased with every meal we had. All were delicious and consisted of a starter, salad, main and dessert.
There is a good selection of drinks available which are always topped up by Ben.
All food and drink are very reasonably priced and tasty.
For a warm welcome and great food ensure you visit Reba!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beyah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My family stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in january 2014. we booked a big family room, with was one with double bed and one with 2 singles for our two kids. Rooms were lovely, clean, good sized. There was hairdryer, towels, hangers... Outside of the room in a resting area was a cattle with teas and coffee provided and also fridge, which we could use. The owners are really kind, gave us good advises when we needed. Breakfast was great. Hotel is located in the middle of Obertraun, maybe 6 km from Hallstatt and walkable distance from Hallstatter See. Its really close from the cable car which takes you to the Krippenstein and 5 fingers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is quite close to Hallstatt lake and you can visit Hallstatt by the free shutlle bus with the special ticket provided by the hotel. With such a reasonable price, which is so much more cheaper than the nearby country, Obertrauner Hof has wonderful facilities and amazing view in the balcony. This hotel is really really impressived. What's more, the host couple of the hotel are so friendly and caring. I am sure that I will visit this hotel again!!

酒店离HALLSTATT很近,在附近就有可以到湖边的巴士,而且酒店会提供一张特别的免费交通票,超方便!和附近的国家相比,这个酒店的性价比真的很高!很划算,房间设施很好很大,而且阳台风景很赞,直面阿尔卑斯山啊!早餐也很好的~~~最重要的是,酒店老板和老板娘的英文都很好,不用担心交流问题,而且真的很好很好人!下次一定要再去这个酒店好好住一下!划算又舒服,赞赞赞!

Room Tip: Rooms toward to the Alps are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeritaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed at Obertrauner Hof three times so far (5 to 7 nights each time) and will continue to go back. The hotel is in the middle of the the village and only a short walk from the lake. Our hosts (Trevor and Debbie) are very knowledgeable about what's going on in the region, where to go, what to see etc. and always cheerful and accommodating. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and all have balconies. The last time we stayed we had a room with a huge new bathroom and the usual spectacular view of the mountains and valley. Although the breakfast room is a little small, they have another just across the hall so there's no real inconvenience and Trevor is continuously restocking the breakfast buffet. Downstairs they have a large flat-screen tv, pool table and games which means the communal lounges outside the rooms on the floors above are always calm and relaxing. I can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms facing the street - although there is some traffic, the rooms are still quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HSJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We only stayed for one night and regret not staying for two. Debbie & Trevor are the most hospitable and gracious hosts. They made us feel so welcome.The rooms were clean and spacious. Even though the room we had did not have the remodelled bathroom it was perfectly clean and large. Breakfast was adequate with good coffee. We preferred Obertraun to Hallstatt. It was quieter. If you have a car which we did, it was convenient to get around. We found a nice restaurant Gasthaus Koppenrast. It was next to a river.It was a 10 minute drive further on from Obertraun. Great dinner. The duck was superb and the tomato soup was divine. Best meal we had on our European holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nette2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Trevor and Debbie made us feel so welcome and at home, as though we were visiting friends. With three of us traveling, this was by far the most comfortable for my 18 year old son. A real third bed. Our bathroom had not been remodeled, but is was clean and had everything you need, a wonderful deep, long soaking tub with shower. Lots of room to unpack with plenty of space to move around. The hotel is also a block away from a small market to get things like munchies. The town is beautiful and everyone is very friendly. But Trevor and Debbie make the stay really wonderful. Can't say enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rutontuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We have spent 3 nights here.
The house is conveniently located, just 5-min walk from the train station n it is just next to a supermarket. The room was v spacious with a balcony! There was also a kettle inside the room!

The surrounding area is beautiful and quiet! The hosts, Debbie and Trevor are v friendly n nice too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
2.0 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.9 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bergfried Gasthof
Bergfried Gasthof
#7 of 16 in Hallstatt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertrauner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertrauner Hof

Property: Obertrauner Hof
Address: Obertraun 90, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Obertraun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertrauner Hof 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Obertrauner Hof ‘Home Style’ hotel, offers a homely, relaxed and comfortable environment in 10 spacious en-suite rooms, many with balconies opening onto panoramic views of the Dachstein Mountains.Positioned at the heart of the tranquil village of Obertraun on the Hallstattersee Lake, surrounded by the stunning Dachstein mountains, a little over an hour away from Salzburg. Our position ensures easy access to local amenities; shop, bank, tourist office and restaurants, all of which are within easy walking distance. We are pleased to offer our guests free WiFi and Car Parking.Restaurant Reba, hosted by Rob and Fay, offers locally sourced and home-produced produce with an international twist. Our aim is to offer good honest food and service in relaxed, homely surroundings. 3 course Half-Board packages available from 12EuroThe Obertrauner Hof is a non-smoking establishment. To minimise our impact on the local and World environment, we have recently invested in a new Wood Pellet burning heating system, so reducing our CO2 emissions. We are also keen recyclers of cardboard, all cans, plastic bottles, glass, books, newspapers and magazines, using the facilities and services provided by the local authority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Obertrauner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing