We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conenvient and Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arion Hotel Vienna Airport
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Schwechat
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Conenvient and Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is close enough to the airport and has a cheap shuttle service. Also the bar food was very good and extremely good value. Bar sevice was friendly and fast too.

However, it is a basic hotel and more like a hostel. My room was directly off the stair well and all night I had to endure the arrival and departure of large groups of people who I can only presume were hard of hearing and wore clogs (going by the noise).

Might use it again for convenience, but not for comfort!

Room Tip: Don't get a room directly off of the stair well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    89
    78
    32
    15
See reviews for
45
56
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I wouldn't recommend or return to this hotel. Being located so close to Vienna Airport I doubt they need to try very hard to fill rooms, or take into account any feedback that they receive. The lady who checked us in at the front desk was incredibly rude, and as we tried to find the lift she barked at us, 'YOU'RE ON THE THIRD FLOOR.' As tricky as it was to figure out that our room number, 310, was on the third floor, we gave up and walked the three flights of stairs with our luggage. We never found the lift, but I hope there was one even if it was hidden away.

The internet was slower than dial-up, which was incredibly frustrating (as I'm sure you can imagine!). My bedside light didn't work - a minor detail, but as there was no ceiling light it meant we only had the bedside lamp on the other side, and a small desk lamp to use. The icing on the cake was my morning shower - the shower cubicle leaked, so when I stepped out into the bathroom I was faced with an inch of water. Not very safe!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Schwechat hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Croatia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for one night, since my flight was arriving very late at Schwechat.
If you need hotel that is close to airport, this is a good choice. It takes about 5-10 minutes by car to get from the airport and there is free parking.
Room is quite basic, but clean and has all that you need for one night (TV, WiFi).
I would recommend this hotel only if you need to stay close to the airport, for visiting Vienna I would advise to find hotel that is closer to the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank January27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in five hotels on our trip (two of them in Vienna) - paid about the same price at all of them. Arion is the worst hotel we had on our trip by a large margin. If you are considering this hotel this review is a warning.

This hotel is not as described and poor quality. There are no Select Comfort mattresses - I don't think they have them. The rooms are not soundproof - you will hear every noise in the hallway and there is a noisy road outside that you will hear with the window closed. The curtains do not block out the morning sun. The rooms are 5 C warmer than the outside temperature(Hot during the summer - if the temp is above 30 you will be unhappy) . We were promised a city view room - didn't get it. We were shown a couch in the picture of the double room - didn't get it. Superior rooms and Comfort rooms appear to be the same room - the only difference is the price. If you are above the restaurant you will have a strong smell of schnitzel in your room if you open the window. No alarm clock.

The staff is inconsistent and disrespectful. The staff will start to argue when you point out the missing items described in the ad. 'We're overbooked' is their excuse but they didn't care to move you when the right room was available. The staff lies at their own convenience - would rather pacify you than give you what is promised. The maids are lazy and will defend their laziness when confronted about dust. The staff becomes easily flustered and uncooperative if pressed about what is missing from the ad. The owner of this hotel should be ashamed.

Hotels.com will not let you out of a non-refundable reservation - even when you point out the ad is full of lies.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Basic, well located hotel, not far from the motorway.
Clean, with TV and toiletries in the room.
No air conditioning.
It's a good choice for those who need to make a break while driving through Europe.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel is situated very close to the airport and you can reach it by taxi or shuttle. I didn't try public transportation but I understand it's also convenient. A taxi ride will cost you between 15-18 euros and the shuttle 15 euros, and it's a ten minute ride from the airport.

The hotel is not fancy, but modern, clean and quite comfortable in my opinion. Check-in was no trouble at all and my early check-out didn't give me any trouble either. The staff at reception were very friendly and spoke good English, as well as the waiter in the restaurant.

My room was a basic single, but felt larger. The bed was more of a double bed and very comfortable, there was a minibar and flat screen TV, a wardrobe, desk and chairs and a nightstand. Plenty of sockets with 220V. This is really more than you need, if you're a solo traveler.

The bathroom was very clean, with hot water running properly and great water pressure in the shower, almost felt like a nice back massage. Hair dryer, shower gel and towels are provided.

Breakfast is served from 6 in the morning and you can either sit in the dining room or on a nice terrace, either in the sun or shade. The restaurant is also perfect for snacks, drinks and dinner since it's open till midnight and they offer a simple but nice selection of dishes. I recommend the chili con carne, it was very tasty!

I would have given this hotel an "excellent" rating had it not been for one issue: air conditioning. Or rather, the lack of it. It was extremely hot in my room, the blanket was very warm and there was no air conditioning, I don't think I missed it, I did look for it properly. Opening the window didn't help much since the air outside was very hot. I really hope the management considers this particular issue, because other than that this hotel is absolutely perfect for a layover or even shorter stay in Vienna.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the first floor are just above the dining area and terrace, so you can hear the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cristinablendea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated near the airport outside of the city. The location is not suitable for sightseeing etc.
For me it was ok as i only needed to sleep there for one night.
The rooms are simple but effective.
Don't expect a 5 star accomodation, but fir a short stay near the airport the value is really good.
Not far from the hotel a small shopping center is to be found with several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dueber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schwechat
4.4 mi away
NH Vienna Airport Conference Center
2.6 mi away
ibis Vienna Airport
ibis Vienna Airport
#4 of 6 in Schwechat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.5 mi away
MOXY Vienna Airport
MOXY Vienna Airport
#3 of 6 in Schwechat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Das Reinisch Hotel
Das Reinisch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Schwechat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutiquehotel Hein
Boutiquehotel Hein
#1 of 6 in Schwechat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#195 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Hotel Vienna Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Hotel Vienna Airport

Property: Arion Hotel Vienna Airport
Address: Muehlgasse 30, Schwechat 2320, Austria
Region: Austria > Lower Austria > Schwechat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Schwechat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arion Hotel Vienna Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is only 3 miles from Vienna Airport and 6 miles from central Vienna. It offers quiet rooms, free Wi-Fi, and free parking during your stay. Arion Airport Hotel is in the immediate vicinity of highway A4 between Vienna and Bratislava, and is only 440 yards from the city limits of Vienna.Arion Airport Hotel offers an airport shuttle (for an additional fee). The shuttle is available 24 hours a day and only takes 7 minutes to the airport. It is recommended to book the shuttle bus at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arion Hotel Vienna Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing