We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet, charming hotel in lovely village.”
Review of De Notelaer

De Notelaer
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bornem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Notelaer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bornem
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sweet, charming hotel in lovely village.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here initially alone, then with friends in February 2013. It was extremely easy to find, being right next door to the station (which looks like a grey bungalow). The reception is functional and nicely decorated, but there is no lift. The rooms are small but totally fine - well maintained, quiet and comfortable. The shower rooms are nicely decorated and stocked with pleasant products.

The food here is brilliant. On my night alone I had room service and could not believe the quality and quantity of the meal, it was lovely. The choice of foods and drinks is excellent, though it is not cheap. The breakfast is excellent; the usual choice of hot and cold fare, served with fresh coffee, which is delicious.

The restaurant is really lovely, such interesting decor and a fab atmosphere. The staff were all very welcoming and professional. I totally love this place, so much so that we returned here for a meal during a weekend in Bruges in April. Thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank clairelouisemcfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
9
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Bistro at this hotel is really excellent! Only that is worth a stay! The rooms are alright, the building has a lot of character with very cosy local atmosphere. Ate a variant of their "salad", a salmon wrap w lobster and walnuts w a poached egg. It was perfect.
Breakfast has the stuff you need but nothing in abundance. Perfect cappuccino.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finntorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

With the best restaurant in Bornem just downstairs this hotel is a convenient choice. Nice, clean rooms but can be a bit noisy from the nearby train station. It's a rather small place so do not expect too many amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da_rt_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Business trip again and our local office booked this location again. Sad to say, I will not ever stay here again! My advice to "Hotel seekers" - stay somewhere else. You'll thank me if you want to feel welcome.

Other than a total remodel of their restaurant, nothing at this hotel has changed in a year. Same employees - same ownership.

Nice place to eat. Terrible hotel.

Upon arriving at the location from an overnight flight I was basically turned away because "Check in is not until 3:30pm" There was no attempt to at least take my bags or allow me to freshen up even though the reservation was made weeks in advance. I suspect they had rooms available but the gentleman at the front desk was also in charge of waiting on those eating breakfast.

Once checked in the room decor hasn't been touched in a year. The bathroom was clean. The sheets were not changed on a daily basis.

My room faced the Kouterstraat street and was very noisy. So much so, I'm glad I had ear plugs or I wouldn't have gotten much sleep. The train station noise was also very noticeable from that room. If this is the only place you can stay ask for a room that faces away from the streets. Otherwise invest in some earplugs and noise cancelling headphones.

I have stayed in many places in Europe. Most care about you if you stay in their hotel regardless of amenities. The owners of this hotel just need to stay in the restaurant business because they could care less if you are a hotel guest.

On my next business trip to the area, I'll stay in Brussels and drive before staying at this place again.

Again, nice place to eat for dinner. As for hotel? Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ask for a room that does not face train station or face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfcaddie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bornem hotels

SC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Small "local" hotel which caters more to customers dining at the Restaurant than hotel guests. Hotel is reasonably priced. If restaurant or hotel has a private function it does get rather loud and noisy. Even though the train station is across the street, the rest of my stay was peaceful.

A light breakfast is included in the price. However, the menu each morning did not change. One would think that for a restaurant of this quality they would at least provide something more substantial for their hotel guests.

I would recommend to friends/colleagues for 1-2 night stay. Unless there is no other choice, I would not recommend this hotel for a lengthly stay. I would say the best choice in Bornem based on the other choices. They do have another small hotel (Secundo) which is a few kilometers away on the A12. It does not have a restaurant.

Room including bathroom was clean. Towels were refreshed daily as well as soaps, lotion etc... Room has a minibar. Wireless (unsecure) internet provided.

Parking overnight is free however you must park in the Bornem train station parking across the street from the hotel. There are some parking spots on-site but unless you have a blue card, you cannot leave your car there for the day.

Staff was friendly but I didn't feel welcome here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfcaddie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Bornem then I would look no further than De Notelaer.
I stayed in the room at the top of the hotel and it was lovely. The bathroom alone was bigger than many rooms in some hotels.
The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
I booked a table in the restaurant at the front of the hotel for dinner with some clients that evening. The food and service was very good and complemeted the hotel nicely.
It was very busy for a week day so I would assume it is one of the best places to eat in Bornem.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaffyApple5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We use this hotel frequently for business overnight stays and I have never been disappointed. Although it only has a few bedrooms (which are rather small) and it is very close to the railway station, these potential liabilities (if you dont need the train!) are more than offset by very friendly staff, and an excellent restaurant, with a great menu both for dinner and breakfast, not only for personal use but also good enough for business guests.

Business use is also aided by free internet access in the bedrooms. Should this hotel be booked up for overnight stays, its sister hotel, the Secundo is close by - despite looking like an industrial unit, this has plenty of rooms, a bar and does breakfast. They will even run you down to the Notelaar (about 5 mins by car) for the evening meal

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bornem
6.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Beveren
5.6 mi away
Hotel Domus
Hotel Domus
#1 of 1 in Boom
49 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Kasteel Solhof
Hotel Kasteel Solhof
#1 of 1 in Aartselaar
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
'T Land Van Bornem
'T Land Van Bornem
#2 of 5 in Bornem
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secundo
Secundo
#1 of 5 in Bornem
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Notelaer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Notelaer

Property: De Notelaer
Address: Stationsplein 2, Bornem 2880, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Bornem
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bornem
Hotel Class:4 star — De Notelaer 4*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing