We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Orchidee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“off the beaten path”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Searching for a hotel that had parking in the Ghent, Belgium area was an adventure. We were attending a wedding near Ghent and needed a convenient, clean, reasonably priced hotel in the area that had parking. This hotel met our expectations! The staff was friendly (they let us check in early - a plus since two of our party flew from Denver & Seattle and were really tired) - English was spoken fluently - in fact most of the locals engaged us in conversation to practice their English. Wonderful little town, comfortable rooms - much better than the 4 star we stayed in (for a lot more money) the night before we flew back to US in Brussels. I would recommend this hotel to friends & family.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    94
    19
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
118
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here over a weekend, while visiting friends in a nearby town. For us, the location was perfect, as we were going to several towns in the area (not necessarily staying in Aalter the whole time). This hotel gave us plenty of accomodations; the room has A/C and was decent sized. Town center was a short walk away. Enjoyed having a refrigerator in the room.

Service was great. We did not eat breakfast there, but did have a drink in the bar and that was nice. What impressed us was the hotel was full, yet the management knew who we were... when we asked for an iron, they didn't ask us for a room number... just brought it up! Same with getting a bottle of water. This was an excellent stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjohn714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here on our way home to the UK having had to cancel the second night of a rather terrible booking back in Germany. This was the fastest check in I've ever had anywhere, and the friendly chap behind the desk was very relaxed and helpful, as well as speaking perfect English. Both he and his colleague were also quite amusing, it has to be said.

Sure, this place won't win any scenery awards (it looks out on to a car park) but the bar and breakfast/restaurant area are stylish enough. Upstairs, the room we had was quiet, the bed very comfortable, the curtain excellent at blocking out light, and the shower a spacious and satisfying walk in affair. One wall of the bedroom was a bit scuffed, but that hardly affected the quality of our night's sleep.

As it was a Sunday and the restaurant closed, we were given clear advice of where to go for food (a sweet little market square a few minutes walk away, with several options available). When we got back to the hotel some friendly locals at the bar engaged us in conversation and we got to try a few of the many excellent Belgian beers available. Breakfast in the morning involved not only the usual cereals, fruit, yoghurt etc but also some very fine pastries and the option to make your own waffle in less than three minutes! No danger of going hungry whatsoever.

Maybe we were just thoroughly relieved after our stressful experience the previous night, but this place and the town it was in an unexpected haven of tranquility barely a mile or so from the motorway. I would happily come back here again if passing this way in future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Northfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here at the start of our Europe road trip. We stayed for two nights. Within walking distance of bars, restaurants as well as a supermarket and Aldi. We were able to walk to the railway station within 20 minutes to get the train to Bruges for a day trip.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and it's just right for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here one night on a trip which traveling along the E40 that runs from Calais, very clean with friendly helpful staff and free wifi which is a must these days, comfortable beds, a big shower and lots of parking on site. Shall use again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvisPhish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Hotel Orchidee, is fine as long as your only staying for one or two nights. We used it as a stop to before going on to Brussels.

We got there to early to check in, so took we took a drive to Ostend as there's very little to do in Aalter. The receptionist allowed us to leave our bags and when we got back they had already put them in our room.

The room was clean and tidy. The bed firm & comfortable, the bathroom was nice and spacious, and I appreciated the big shower being a big guy.

In truth I probably wouldn't stay there again, but that has more to do with the location and not the hotel or staff.

If I had a gripe with the hotel, it would have been the breakfast, which looked more like hospital food. The lunch time dinner wasn't much better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugatu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

A nice, compact and comfortable Hotel a gem to stay in. we stay for 6 days. right next to the Motoway and a very quite Village. Staff were very helpful .
would stay again and a good price.
You can also travel to WW1 cemetery's
and to the seeside of Ooestend

Room Tip: a trip round the shops is a must. plenty of parking. and handy for the Trains. A pension travel for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athertonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aalter
12.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
12.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
9.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Brugge-Oostkamp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
49 reviews
12.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
13.4 mi away
Campanile Gent / Gand
Campanile Gent / Gand
#34 of 37 in Ghent
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Orchidee

Property: Best Western Hotel Orchidee
Address: Aard 1, Aalter 9880, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Aalter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Orchidee 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Orchidee is situated in the center of Aalter, provides modern rooms, a buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout the building. All of the individually air-conditioned/heated rooms at Best Western Hotel Orchidee have a satellite TV , free safe, free coffee amenities, fridge and a work desk. Each of the rooms also have a private en suite bathroom with shower, toilet and wash table with all necessary amenities. The E40 motorway (Exit 11) is about 500 m away. Best Western Hotel Orchidee has a free and safe public parking in front of the hotel. Aalter Railway Station is less than a 15-minute walk away with direct services to Ghent and Bruges every half hour, with the car a 20-minute drive is all it takes to reach both Ghent and Bruges. The surrounding area is well suited for hiking and cycling tours, bikes can be rented in the local bicycle shop. In summertime the town square is filled with outside seating where drinks and food can be enjoyed in an extraordinary ambiance until late in the night. Guests can enjoy specialty beers and a selections of more then 70 kind of liquors and whisky's in the bar. This bar is frequently visited by the local population. There are various restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aalter
Aalter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing