We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient position travelling to Calais/Dunkirk from N. Europe”
Review of Hotel Orchidee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orchidee
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our view of this hotel is coloured because we were upgraded to a suite on the 3rd floor. Apart from the jacuzzi having only 1 setting - what can you say! The 2 coloured flat screens had a massive set of satellite programs from around the world.
One niggle the duvet didn't fit the bed. Big bed average duvet - which meant a snuggle.
There is a restaurant in the hotel but it is was closed on a Sunday, however they put on a very comprehensive breakfast. Check whether it's open when you book.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Last visited the Orchidee just before Christmas and enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. Unfortunately we were unable to do this this time as the restaurant was closed on both nights of our stay. The owner provided us with a map of the town with the restaurants listed but it was a bit of a nuisance when you come down from your room and find out you have to go back out again. Apart from that the hotel lived up to our expectations. The room was a good size with a very comfy bed and large TV which receives multiple channels including BBC and ITV. Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided. The bathroom is a good size with a large mirror along one wall and good counter space. The shower is the rainfall type and is easy to access.
Breakfast in the morning was plentiful. If you don't mind going out to eat in the evening I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetwowanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Easier to find by road than from the station, I think, but we got there eventually. A nice modern building, clean, and with all the right space in the right places. Our room was very attractively decorated with an excellent comfortable bed and a great bathroom.

We didn't have breakfast but it did look good, so I think I'll go for that next time.

Aalter is a lovely little town, but far enough from Ghent and Bruges for the room rates to be significantly lower. I really enjoyed my stay,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night while traveling from Germany to the UK -- great town next to a beautiful historic church, with a less than 5 minute walk to the town square. Price was a great value -- room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Staff went overboard making us comfortable, and I appreciate it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

For starters, my family and I are not well traveled, but we've been to a few places on the globe. We've stayed in sketchy hostels, 0-5 star hotels both 'brand name' and local one offs; we've seen just about everything in between. We're not from silver spoon families so we're not accustomed to being pampered and don't expect that, but it is appreciated! And although we can sometimes afford to stay in high brow/high dollar hotels in prime locations in some of the most popular destinations, we often prefer to pocket that money to treat ourselves to an awesome dinner, gifts, tours etc.. Still, as the average Joe and Jane family with a child (currently an infant) here's our review.

By car, the hotel is about 25 minutes away from most main attractions: Grote Market, Belfry, Our Lady Bruges etc.. This time increases a bit when there's traffic. I personally found it to be just on the edge of what I'd consider to be a reasonable distance from the city whereas the wife thought it was too far.

It seems like a nice safe place and there's a church behind it that's really nice to look at at night since it's well lit. Unfortunately that also means the hotel is next to a cemetery which may be off putting to some, especially if you have a room overlooking it. I don't care but the wife was not thrilled when she opened the window.

The parking is free though and, at least when we were there, on Sundays there was a truck selling freshly cooked rotisserie chicken, ribs and a slew of other things. We got plenty for about 8€ and it was delicious. The hotel has a bar and restaurant of sorts on site but we didn't make use of it since we were only there 1 night and has our own agenda.

Checkin and checkout were easy, the gent was pleasant.
Internet was free and reliable, but a hair on the slow side. Can't complain since I was able to do what I needed to get done so no negative marks there.

The room was pretty slick: a rather high window of a decent size, a comfortable queenish sized bed, two comfy chairs, a desk, a small table for two to enjoy coffee/tea, an armoire, electric water warmer, a fridge and thermometer. We were also able to easily adjust the temperature which didn't take too long to warm up the room.

The bathroom was well lit with a large countertop, equally large mirror, shower, toilet and hair dryer. The door to the bathroom was a little awkward in that it also doubled as the door for the toilet. You see, the door swings inward and meets the wall that separates the shower
and toilet. It offers some privacy but it's not flush on one side meaning someone outside could easily peek in.

Now for some not so good news:
1) We didn't get wash cloths for some reason.
2) Both towels in the armoire had some really, I mean really, questionable stains on them. One looked like #1, and the other like #2.
3) Toilet wasn't very clean, looked like it was recently used for #2 increasing concern for the above.
4) When we used the tea pot there was some water in there. Who know how long it was there!
5) The shower curtain was way too nasty looking at the bottom for my tastes. Looked like a science experiment run amok! It could have benefitted from a wash or being replaced.

We realize that these are all things that could be easily be remedied, its just not what we expect from a 4 star hotel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pE5Ns82gOro

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Phylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A nice hotel with good pricing! my friend and I decided to go to Brugges and Gent for some days. All other hotels nearby are extremely expansive, but this one has a very good location, which is just next to E40, the highway and easily access to the both cities within half and hour. The hotel is surprisingly comfortable, with very spacious room and quite newly renovated. Aalter is also a very nice city with some good restaurant, which is a very good choice to stay out of the two tourist cities for dine. Staffs are very helpful, nice choice to stay in!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

An excellent stopover hotel being only about an hour from Dunkirk and just off the E40. Nice big room with modern furnishings with comfortable beds and excellent shower. Tea and coffee making facilities are also provided. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was very good. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with cereals, juice, cold meats, salmon, fruit, yoghurt and really good croissants, It was also possible to cook your boiled eggs how you liked them and there was a waffle maker to let you make fresh waffles. There is plenty of free parking exactly opposite the hotel. This is an excellent hotel but the thing that makes it that extra bit special is the staff. All the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly and helpful and speak English. The small town of Aalter is a pleasant little town. This hotel was great value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetwowanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aalter
12.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,341 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 39 in Ghent
655 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Prelude
Hotel Prelude
#1 of 2 in Knesselare
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Het Eycken Huys
Het Eycken Huys
#1 of 6 in Aalter
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apollonia
Apollonia
#2 of 6 in Aalter
15 reviews
3 mi away
Lomolen B&B
Lomolen B&B
#4 of 6 in Aalter
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orchidee

Address: Aard 1, Aalter 9880, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Aalter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aalter
Price Range: £55 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orchidee 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Orchidee is situated in the center of Aalter, provides modern rooms, a buffet breakfast and free Wi-Fi throughout the building. All of the individually air-conditioned/heated rooms at Best Western Hotel Orchidee have a satellite TV , free safe, free coffee amenities, fridge and a work desk. Each of the rooms also have a private en suite bathroom with shower, toilet and wash table with all necessary amenities. The E40 motorway (Exit 11) is about 500 m away. Best Western Hotel Orchidee has a free and safe public parking in front of the hotel. Aalter Railway Station is less than a 15-minute walk away with direct services to Ghent and Bruges every half hour, with the car a 20-minute drive is all it takes to reach both Ghent and Bruges. The surrounding area is well suited for hiking and cycling tours, bikes can be rented in the local bicycle shop. In summertime the town square is filled with outside seating where drinks and food can be enjoyed in an extraordinary ambiance until late in the night. Guests can enjoy specialty beers and a selections of more then 70 kind of liquors and whisky's in the bar. This bar is frequently visited by the local population. There are various restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aalter
Aalter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing