We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit with the parents”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Certificate of Excellence
Houthalen, Limburg, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit with the parents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We visited La Butte Aux Bois with the parents to celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is surrounded by a beautifull garden en the staf is friendly and helpfull. Had a fantastic dinner and breakfast and stayed in a wonderfull room with all nescessary comfort and more. Absolutly fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisRogiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    77
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
66
251
3
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hostellerie La Butte aux Bois is located, as the name suggests, in the country side nead the Belgium city of Lanaken and close to the Dutch city of Maastricht. The hotel is set up in a formal castle and features a gourmet restaurant La Source offering top quality food and wines. Service is outstanding. The wellness center Aquamarijn is quite small with an indoor pool. It offers different types of beauty treatments and massages. Breakfast is buffet style with an abundant choice of food and drinks.
The hotel is surrounded by a large garden, big trees and ponds. On a five minute walking distance, the hotel features a new off site country cottage with spacious hotel rooms.

Room Tip: We found the country cottage of high quality with beautiful large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDiekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mr Peter Diekman

Thank you very much for this nice review. We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards
Team La Butte aux Bois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed on our way back to uk with our young daughter. Reception staff were very welcoming, it was our second visit. Room was well appointed and very comfortable after a refurbishment in April. Pleasant gardens to sit in and have a drink. So far so good. We then went in for dinner. We love cooking and eating good food and what followed was remarkable, beautifully cooked and presented by an interested restaurant team who went to great lengths to explain in great detail what we were eating and how it had been prepared. For example the main course was pigeon breast and I was soon told at what temperature it had been cooked and for how long. Our 5 year old daughter had her own menu and was provided with plenty of entertainment in the form of crayons and paper. When it was realised that she was only going to have 1 course the head waiter asked us if we would like service quickened up to accommodate her. This was done superbly and the three of us had a wonderful meal, finishing off with ice cream for our daughter which was presented with a lit Roman candle which she loved. At this point the rest of the diners gave her a round of applause and it wasn't even her birthday ! As we left the restaurant 2 members of staff stood by the door and asked us if we had enjoyed the meal to which there could only be one answer.
In short one of our finest dining experiences and worthy of a Relais & Chateaux member.
Breakfast was good and we look forward to our next visit.
Thank you

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

You won't be disappointed with this accomidation. The staff is very attentive to your every need and the grounds are magnificent. I also had the pleasure of dining here and the food was divine. I would highly reccomend staying here. I know I will again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I went to this hotel to celebrate a friend's wedding so my husband and I stayed there for the night to avoid travelling late at night and more importantly as we wanted to enjoy the week end. I'll comment only on the hotel. I afraid to say that we have been very disappointed for the following reasons: the booking was very old style,(i.e. the staff asked for a lot of paper work that sincerely was a pain and they also made a mistake at the end claiming we had not paid!), the room was very small, in a dependence far from the main building, the setting of the room was average, the curtains were thin and it was not possible to black out the light completely. The hotel's prices are quite high for the market so was expecting something better. We decided not to have breakfast but rather left... Would not recommend. Having said that, the area is lovely so worth sightseeing...

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Teresa,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.

We feel very sorry, you haven’t had a good experience in our hotel.

To confirm your booking, we ask for a signature and a credit card confirmation. In our confirmation, we do inform our guests well, to avoid any inconveniences or misunderstandings.

We do explain the roomtype you have booked in detail on our website as in your confirmation ( square meters, setting, distance, facilities, building on the property etc. ), which makes the confirmation expansive but clear, since we have a lot of roomtypes in several ( castle-like ) buildings on our estate.

It is a pity, you did not mention your non satisfaction during your stay or upon arrival. The dedicated La Butte aux Bois – team is eager to exceed the guests expectations and could have offered an alternative to you and meet your wishes this way.

The villa was completely renovated and refurbished early 2013 and air-conditioning and an elevator were implemented. Each item in the room is thoroughly renewed such as the Loewe TV’s and the Nespresso machines. Other guests mentioned the fact that curtains could not black out the room completely as well. In the meanwhile, we changed all curtains ( 8/8/13) to avoid additional inconveniences.

Unfortunately, you did not enjoy our extensive breakfast, which we serve in our gardens, and should normally complete your stay.

We hope you had a great wedding and we suggest to book a room in the Manor, probably next time, since these rooms are larger and are situated closer to our restaurant, wellness center and front desk.

Best Regards,
Team La Butte aux Bois
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

This place is charming and beautiful. It is close to Maastricht, which is a little town worth a visiti. The food is good and the service is outstanding. The rooms are excellent and so clean. I would really recommend it if you are in the region.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploringeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

So, here is my review.
Let me start of getting of the bad news first, not really bad, depending on your preferences.
I refer to the accommodation that we enjoyed.

We were upgraded to a large apartment style chalet over looking the small lake that the hotel has. The accommodation was large to say the least. Everything was clean and in good condition, they skimmed somewhat on the bathroom fittings eg sinks surround was plastic and not marble. Think this will start to deteriorate, and therefore a false saving in my opinion. Now, whilst I am an open minded sort of person, the fact is this chalet was all OPEN PLAN. Including a direct view from the bedroom overlooking the toilet area ( see my picture ).
Having said, the above, we found the staff helpful and our children did not feel out of place. The hotel is set in some very beautiful gardens. It would be lovely to sit out and eat/drink. We ate the first night in their Brasserie (Het Binnenhof )) , and I can assure anyone it was anything but a Brasserie. It was a delightful experience. I can highly recommend it.
The following evening we dined at the “La Source”. We were the only parents their with our children and we received wonderful treatment. Our food got a little muddled but we were presented with a small bottle of desert wine. Very unexpected.
You can use bikes which are available free of charge.
I can really recommend this place for a long weekend, including parents with kids.

Room Tip: So, here is my review. Let me start of getting of the bad news first, not really bad, depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5starholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanaken
6.1 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
6.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Eurotel Lanaken - Different Hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Stiemerheide
Hotel Stiemerheide
#4 of 11 in Genk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boomgaard
Hotel Boomgaard
#3 of 4 in Lanaken
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie

Property: La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Address: Paalsteenlaan 90 | Lanaken, Lanaken 3620, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Lanaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing