We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and outstanding dinner experiences!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had a 2-days wellness arrangement and enjoyed every minute... A fabulous breakfast, lunch and dinner together with a tremendous service at the wellness "Aquamarijn". The staff was always friendly and helpfull, the rooms were luxurious, clean and with a beautifull view on the garden. Keep cell phones and watches away, and enjoy every minute that the staff carefully plans for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anouk2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautiful hotel, tucked away and something of an oasis. My room was extremely comfortable and well designed, and the hotel was extremely relaxed and relaxing. The food in both restaurants was superlative - if bordering on over-complicated in La Source. As a meeting group we were exceptionally well looked after, and little seemed to be too much trouble. Definitely one to return to!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were looking for a short break close to nature and civilization, and not to far a way drive from Laren Nord-Holland. We are glad to have chosen "La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie".
First of all this charming hotel is located in a lovely environment, of this sweet Belgian town, Lanaken, and in a very high proximity to the National Parc Hoge Kempen. In the close by ears you can find other lovely and picturesque Belgium and Dutch towns, and ten minutes drive will get you to the heart of the beautiful historic city of Maastricht.
The hotel is very well maintained, clean and designed with good taste. It has a lovely terrace to it wide garden, which includes a cute little spring.
We stayed in a room in the main building, and had a lovely view of the garden. The room was very specious and had a very smart bathroom.
SPA facilities are not impressing – if you look for a SPA this establishment is not what you're looking for, but it has so many other advantages – so you might consider going to a SPA some other time.
The hotel offers a very nice breakfast – food in Belgium is great! And has two Michelin restaurants. We had dinner in the "Het Binnenhof", which offers Belgian cuisine. The food was very good, but not the real down to earth Belgian food we were looking for. So we had a half board in the first night and bed and breakfast on the second night (and went for dinner in this excellent Belgian restaurant called Het Magazijn – a very good suggestion given to us by one of the girls at the hotel reception (http://www.hetmagazijn.be/).
The hotel was quite busy but still kept its sense of serenity.
We found it really amazing that you just walk outside the front door and find yourself the heart of nature, weather we wanted to go for a hike, jog, cycle – you name it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriNothingButTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Mr

Thank you for writing this nice review, we are very happy you had a nice stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Team La Butte aux Bois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We visited La Butte Aux Bois with the parents to celebrate their fiftieth wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel is surrounded by a beautifull garden en the staf is friendly and helpfull. Had a fantastic dinner and breakfast and stayed in a wonderfull room with all nescessary comfort and more. Absolutly fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrisRogiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hostellerie La Butte aux Bois is located, as the name suggests, in the country side nead the Belgium city of Lanaken and close to the Dutch city of Maastricht. The hotel is set up in a formal castle and features a gourmet restaurant La Source offering top quality food and wines. Service is outstanding. The wellness center Aquamarijn is quite small with an indoor pool. It offers different types of beauty treatments and massages. Breakfast is buffet style with an abundant choice of food and drinks.
The hotel is surrounded by a large garden, big trees and ponds. On a five minute walking distance, the hotel features a new off site country cottage with spacious hotel rooms.

Room Tip: We found the country cottage of high quality with beautiful large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterDiekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessy_brepoels, Front Office Manager at La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Mr Peter Diekman

Thank you very much for this nice review. We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards
Team La Butte aux Bois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed on our way back to uk with our young daughter. Reception staff were very welcoming, it was our second visit. Room was well appointed and very comfortable after a refurbishment in April. Pleasant gardens to sit in and have a drink. So far so good. We then went in for dinner. We love cooking and eating good food and what followed was remarkable, beautifully cooked and presented by an interested restaurant team who went to great lengths to explain in great detail what we were eating and how it had been prepared. For example the main course was pigeon breast and I was soon told at what temperature it had been cooked and for how long. Our 5 year old daughter had her own menu and was provided with plenty of entertainment in the form of crayons and paper. When it was realised that she was only going to have 1 course the head waiter asked us if we would like service quickened up to accommodate her. This was done superbly and the three of us had a wonderful meal, finishing off with ice cream for our daughter which was presented with a lit Roman candle which she loved. At this point the rest of the diners gave her a round of applause and it wasn't even her birthday ! As we left the restaurant 2 members of staff stood by the door and asked us if we had enjoyed the meal to which there could only be one answer.
In short one of our finest dining experiences and worthy of a Relais & Chateaux member.
Breakfast was good and we look forward to our next visit.
Thank you

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

You won't be disappointed with this accomidation. The staff is very attentive to your every need and the grounds are magnificent. I also had the pleasure of dining here and the food was divine. I would highly reccomend staying here. I know I will again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Jasonwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanaken
6.1 mi away
Terhills Hotel - Different Hotels
6.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,784 reviews
12.5 mi away
Huys van Steyns
Huys van Steyns
#1 of 5 in Tongeren
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#4 of 19 in Liege
1,028 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eurotel Lanaken - Different Hotels
3.5 mi away
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
Buitenplaats Vaeshartelt
#10 of 38 in Maastricht
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie

Address: Paalsteenlaan 90 | Lanaken, Lanaken 3620, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Lanaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanaken
Price Range: £134 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Butte Aux Bois Hostellerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing