We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brenton on Sea Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Do yourself a huge Favor Stay in these cottages, Great clean and Brilliant!Everything Fantastic!!!1

The Rooms are Nicely equipped it has TV and Showers that Work and a Great little Kitchen.The sound of the Sea is awesome.

Great Family Spot will be back there on Saterday night with my Son.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    100
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
97
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed here as a group of 4. The cottage itself was very neat and tidy with a big tv and decent sized rooms, also a decent sized television, lounge room and kitchen area.
There was a (Braai) just outside our cottage overlooking the beach which provided us with amazing sunset views and some great afternoons with wine and food.

The office itself is located at the bottom of the hill before the beach and you then drive up a steep slope to get to your cottage, it is such a beautiful drive and we were certaintly not dissapointed.
The beach is very big and is so relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benclear100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We booked as a group of 4 into this venue and we were surprised by how it provided just about everything we wanted, including wonderful views. The rooms were big and had enough beds, the TV was confusing at first but once we got the hang of it, good value. Bathroom was small, but clean and adequate

Room Tip: We had 30, which was to the entrance of the facility and had a partial view slightly blocked by anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabeloN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is the first time I was let down by tripadvisor reviews, I booked this place based on the excellent reviews and was highly disappointed. The place looks like it was furnished 25+ years ago and not updated since, carpets in a summer cottage, nighly visits from field mice if you leave a door/window open which you have to as there are no ceiling fans and it can get unbearably hot, ants which appear as soon as you drop a crumb, poor cleaning, butter knives so if you bbq be prepared to eat your steak with your hands. The list goes on, avoid this place at all costs. The only upside is the proximity to Brenton-on-sea beach which was wonderful

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

After going through a lot of hotels we finally decided upon this place..and stayed there for 4 nights 27th aug - 31st aug.We wanted to stay away from the crowds and it was the perfect place to explore the surroundings. You get the best view of the brenton beach and sea. They have fully self catering chalets with 3 bedrooms and 2 bath, kitchen and living area...also have a huge garden and separate bbq areas for everyone...the chalet give an amazing view of the sea which is hardly 5 mins walking...Lara and Addriette were very helpful and good hosts...service was spot on and the house keeping staff are good too...I would definitely like to stay there again and would recommend it to people. To sum it up it is the best place stay..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aniruddh799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights.excellent self catering cottages. Kids loved it. Was clean and had all the right amenities.staff was also very efficient at their office.

It's away from the crowds at knysna , yet at driveable distance...and provides for some breathtaking viewson the
way"....."....."...........

Would definitely go back if I had a chance.

They had a small tuck shop to get some of the basic stuff for cooking and had individual braai areas.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JillieJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stumbled across this place by accident whilst taking a lazy drive along the Garden Route-and have been talking about it ever since. We had a lovely little cabin on stilts with the most amazing view-the sunset is certainly something we won't forget. We had a gorgeous spa bath, and the cabin was very comfortable with a little balcony (which went very well with a bottle of wine!) we ate at the little restaurant in the 'town' - wonderful helpful service with a smile and great food (the pizzas are massive though!) great location, 2 mid walk to the beach for a lovely early morning walk. One hint-if you like condensed milk in your coffee take a can opener! We will most certainly be back, and hope to bring the family for a few days next time. Thanks for providing us with lasting memories!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liveandlaugh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
5.7 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
2.3 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
0.1 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton on Sea Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton on Sea Cottages

Property: Brenton on Sea Cottages
Address: 242 CR Swart Drive, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brenton on Sea Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brenton on Sea is situated on the scenic Garden Route coast line and nestles between the Indian Ocean and the hills of the Western Head of Knysna's Estuary, a 16 km drive from Knysna. It's the perfect base and safe haven from where you can explore the treasures of the Garden Route. Our accommodation include self-catering chalets and semi self-catering cabins. The chalets have 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a lounge and a fully equipped kitchen. The cozy wooden cabins for couples consist of a bedroom, en-suite bathroom, semi self-catering kitchen and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brenton on Sea Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing