We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenton Hill Self Catering
Reviewed 18 December 2012

My family and I were attending a wedding in Knysna and the guests were staying here so we popped round for a small get together the night before. Although I initially though that the place lacked a bit of atmosphere, I soon changed my mind once I got outside and admired the view! It is to die for! as we were just there for the evening I couldn't tell you how comfy the beds were or what the staff were like but I can tell you that you will not forget that view in a long time! The bedrooms/living areas were gorgeous though, quite plan and simple, but I think that works so to appeal to the masses! Even if you just stay for one night, go and see that view!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Lou-la-Belle-33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Wow - a review from someone that didn't even stay here! Thank you - we appreciate your thoughts on Brenton Hill. You are of course right - the views are to die for. i can assure you the beds are comfy too so hopefully next time you will get the opporunity to try them out!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Brenton Hill Self Catering
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at Brenton Hill for a week in November 2012 and loved it. The views are beautiful, apartment (Eagle's Nest) VERY spacious, and the owners and their staff all very friendly and always ready to help. The kitchen is well equipped, the rooms were always clean. There is also a pool and a big area with a bar and an open fire. They also have some books and dvd's available in case of bad weather. One minor thing is that the curtains let the light through so our kids used to wake up with the sun (5.30-6am) and stay up till the dark (8pm), so they were tired, but we had lots of time for excursions. :) As for the location, it's a bit far from the shops and restaurants (10-15min drive to Knysna center), but I assume anyone visiting Knysna has got a car anyway, so it's not a big deal. The quietness and the views are well worth a drive. It's also perfect for families with kids as it's safe and there is so much place to play and run around.
PS. There are so many beautiful places to visit in the area, but if you are there take a few minutes and drive down to Brenton Beach, it's also very beautiful and very close to this accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jurga-FullSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I am glad you found your rooms to be spacious and clean - very important to us.
With regards to the curtains - I am grateful to you for your feedback and this is something we will work to change in the near future. Sleep with kids is of utmost importance - we certainly know that!
I hope we meet again one day.
Kind regard,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Brenton Hill self catering. The Oystercatcher room is huge with a magnificent view from the room and the private garden. The central guestroom was a treat where lit up the fireplace every evening and enjoyed a glass of wine.

Catriona and here husband a very relaxed and made us feel right at home from the beginning.

As other reviewers have mentioned, it is on the outskirts of Knysna and close to Brenton at sea. It is a 10 minute drive to the centre of Knysna where all the restaurants and bars are located.

Room Tip: As mentioned, the oystercatcher is great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank con_wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us at Brenton Hill self catering.
Should you ever come back to Knysna we would be delighted to accommodater you again.
Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed as a group of 4 adults and 1 baby. The couple that runs the place was very nice and patient when we got lost in the middle of the night, the place is perfect, spacious and has fab views of the lagoon because it is on the quiet side of Knysna, where you get to see everything that is happening on the other side of Knysna. The facility is great with pool, and perfect for self-catering with all the equipment. Thank you Catriana, I was also grateful for your referral when we couldn’t secure a booking the 2nd time we visited Knysna .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thobeka_mganu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Apologies for taking so long to respond to your review. We were delighted you stayed with us and sorry we were not able to help you out the second time. Hopefully we will meet again in the future and I am so pleased Brenton Hill was your first choice!
Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had a lovely stay at Brenton. It is most certainly child friendly. I could relax while my 2 year old ran around the garden as it was properly enclosed. There was also a very good play area with swings and trampolines and slides etc. The rooms are large and the facilities great. It felt more like 4 star than 3 star. Catriona was also fantastic and friendly and we felt very comfortable. Friends were staying nearby at a 4 star and our rooms and amenities were far superior. Can definitely recommend for a safe and comfortable holiday. Views of the Knysna lagoon and surrounding areas were incredible.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same through I would suggest a room on the end for a little more privacy
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Brenton Hill - self catering. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again one day! Enjoy the summer. Kind regards,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Pure quality, we stayed in the Eagles Nest, magnificent views. And so affordable!! Quality of all round service top class. We were there for three nights, so wish we could have stayed longer. The "hussle and bussle" of Knysna contrasts so with the quietness & tranquility of this lovely place. One can just unwind on the patio in the evening with a glass of "whatever" and a lovely fire and just enjoy the lights of Knysna. Amongst other things for the kiddies, my grandson loved the foefie slide. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Eagles Nest unit, very clean & spacious
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

You are very kind! We are really pleased you and your family had such a lovely time here at Brenton Hill - self catering. We hope to see you all again one day - you were wonderful guests. Thanks again,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Four of us stayed in the Weaver's Nest during the Knysna Oyster Festival and had a superb stay. The rooms were large and comfortable and the bathroom and kitchens were spotless! The views were amazing and it was great to have roaring fires in the common lounge every day.. especially when the cold weather hit! The hosts were so warm and welcoming and literally could not do enough for us! Fantastic stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona K, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Apologies for the time it has taken me to say thank you for writing such a lovely review. Glad you all had a great time here despite the weather - next year I hope you get the opportunity to do the run that I know you all missed so terribly!!!! If not then the fire will roar and the bar will be open again!
Thanks again,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brenton-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton on Sea Chalets
Brenton on Sea Chalets
#2 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: £111 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing