We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst place I have ever stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brenton Hill Self Catering
Manchester uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The worst place I have ever stayed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The owners of this accommodation were rude, threatening, aggressive and intimidating. The accommodation itself was dirty and full of ants and other bugs, they advertise it as a child friendly however our children could not breath without making too much noise this accommodation is more suited as a retirement home. I have travelled al over the world and I have stayed in some of the best and worst of places but this one tops all, absolutely terrible

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank justmarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review but I am delighted that as owners of Brenton Hill we are able to respond to it so that future guests are able to get both sides of the story.
Your comments are completely untrue.
We pride ourselves on keeping Brenton Hill clean and if you have proof through photos etc that is was otherwise I would gladly see them. With regards to ants - I am afraid it is that time of year and on occasion the ants will come in - we did however give you something to put down for them.
You had booked in to stay with us for 10 nights over the festive season.
Within a few days of your arrival your children (all over 9 years old) thought it would be appropriate to throw huge amounts of soil into our swimming pool. You were spoken to about it and told that was unreasonable behaviour and you gave no apology. You allowed your kids to run through the other guests garden which showed you had little regard for them or us.
The guests in the accommodation next door had asked you on several evenings to keep the noise down after 10pm which you ignored. I was not aware of this situation until the guests came to me on the 6th night of your stay to tell me that the previous night they had asked you again to keep the noise down and you laughed in their face and continued until 3am. They then told me that they cannot continue with this situation and either you go or they do.
My husband then went to talk with you to find out what had happened. You denied it and my husband went back to the other guests and explained that it was very difficult to ask you to leave based on their complaint without actually having proof ourselves.
He then gave you a bottle of champagne and the other guests a bottle of champagne and asked that you keep the noise down for the guests final night, which you agreed to do.
You had in previous days given the code to our gate to friends and family and again thought it was acceptable to have other people stay without asking us first. My husband then asked you not to do that but on the very same day you did the same and 2 others arrived.
My husband went out to speak with you about it and eyes were rolled and you told him to speak with your husband when he got back.
Your husband then came back and you sat out in the communal area making snide comments.
you then left the area - walked to the visitors book and made more derogatory comments (all this after we had gone out of our way to keep the peace)
By this time we had heard enough and asked you to leave.
You were then incredibly rude and before you left your accommodation, the bath salts were filled with water, the pulleys on the ceiling fans were pulled off, you stole the salt and pepper. I think this pretty much sums up the type of people you are.
In 5 years of being at Brenton Hill we have never even come close to asking someone to leave and I sincerely hope we are never put in that position again.
Kind regards,
Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The views over the Knysna Lagoon are incredible. The Lodge is situated on the slopes of a hill on a vast 20 odd hectare piece of Land. One is so close to the town of Knysna yet it has the feeling of being far removed from it all. After a recent stay in Hong Kong, the sense of seemingly endless space was really amazing. The accommodation is spacious and comfy. We made a fire on the terrace overlooking lagoon and had a braai. It really does have the feeling of a home away from home. Excellent value and great for kids with genuinely friendly and helpful hosts. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed your time at Brenton Hill. We hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

we stayed at the "oystercacher" room at the middle of September for 4 nights and we would have stayed there longer if the room was available! it was one of the best affordable places we stayed in our trip in SA. the room was HUGE! the bed was comfortable and the kitchen fully equipped. we had a beautiful panorama view of the lagoon and it was only 10 nim drive to the center of Knysna.
usually i don't like places with carpets because they always seem dusty to me, but it wasn't the case here, every thing was clean and shinny! we couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
How kind you are to write such a lovely review - thank you!
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time here and I am just sorry we were not able to accommodate you for longer - next time!
You are always welcome back.
Kind regards,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I chose to write a review of this most incredible place on the last night of our stay, while sitting on the comfy couches in front of their enormous fireplace in lounge/bar area, whilst staring out the window looking at the panorama of twinkling lights of pretty much the whole of Knysna lagoon. Does life get any better? Besides the ample, comfortable, and well-kept rooms, you will also not find better hosts anywhere in the world than Andy and Cat from Brenton Hill, and I've been lucky to have traveled around the globe numerous times over the last few years, so I can attest to the fact that the level of service and attention is nothing short of world-class. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here, and I literally cannot recommend this home away from home enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Huge thanks for your beautiful review of Brenton Hill. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope your journey back was as fun as it sounded and we very much hope you will come back to visit us again soon.
All the best,
Andy, Cat, Ella and Oz x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Brenton Hill is now my home away from home. It has the best of everything, rooms, view, location and most of all the best hosts of any accommodation venue I have ever been to. Cat and Andy welcomed us in like family and made our 3 night stay a dream. If you are looking for a great self catering spot with superb rooms away from the city noise, then this is your spot. Perfect for families wanting a great holiday spot or even just a business person passing through. There is also an awesome bar to grab your drinks while you have your braai overlooking the lagoon.

Muchas gracias Brenton Hill ! See you soon :)

Room Tip: Every room is great and they all have their own garden area with deck chairs to get your tan on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAdolphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of Brenton Hill - it is greatly appreciated.
It was so great to meet you and your very special family and spend time getting to know you. You are of course always welcome back 'home' anytime and we very much hope to meet again.
Good luck with the new arrival and keep us posted with how you are getting on.
All the best, Cat, Andy, Ella and Oz x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed two nights over the Oyster Festival. The room was beautiful, clean and very spacious with gorgeous view over the lagoon. The owners went out of their way to make us comfortable and even facilitated accommodation elsewhere when at the last minute we decided to extend our stay another night and they couldn't accommodate us. This really was going the extra mile and a great tribute to their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Apologies for the delay in my response to your very kind words about Brenton Hill.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your review is greatly appreciated.
We very much hope we can accommodate you again in the future should you ever return to Knysna.
Warm regards,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Lovely setting. Nice couple who run the place. Privacy. Quite. Loved it. You have to have your own vehicle and the town is not that far from Brenton Hill. You should also go to Buffels Bay from here. What a beach and amazing walking. We were the only people for hours on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at Brenton Hill.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review and we hope to meet again one day.
Kind regards,

Catriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
5.2 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
4.0 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hillview Self-Catering Apartments
0.8 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#2 of 100 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Property: Brenton Hill Self Catering
Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing