We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brenton Hill Self Catering
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Spent 3 nights at this excellent gem of a place. Stunning views,spotlessly clean and very friendly staff and owners. A perfect place to get away from the rat race for some chill time yet close enough to the tourist attractions.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Brenton Hill and want to say thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is greatly appreciated and we very much hope you will return for more 'chill time' in the future!

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our stay at Brendon Hill (self-catering unit) during December was delightful.
The facility is situated on a hill overlooking the lagoons, Thesen Island and a part of Knysna itself. Beautiful!!
The hosts were friendly and obliging through our stay.
The facilities were spotless and serviced efficiently, quickly and quietly.
We will gladly choose to stay there again, should we visit that area.
Theuns & Celia Botha (Pretoria)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Theuns and Celia,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Brenton Hill and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I sincerely hope you do come to Knysna again and we would be only too pleased to have you stay with us.

Wishing you a wonderful 2014!

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I would just like to thank Andy and Cat, the owners of Brenton Hill, for the most amazing stay at Brenton Hill. The property is situated in the most beautiful part of knysna and would arguably have the best view in the entire region if not the country. The accommodation is perfect for families and if your looking for a break for one night or for your entire holiday this is the place. I can honestly request all readers to ignore the review below as the owners took us in as if we were part of the family. Cat helped us with anything we needed and Andy arrived on our doorstep with a complimentary bottle of bubbly for no reason other then that is the kind of people they are. I highly recommend Brenton Hill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind words!
It was such a pleasure to have you staying with us at Brenton Hill and we are just so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
The views really are breathtaking and we very much hope you will return to Brenton Hill to enjoy them again!
Kindest regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at Brenton Hill from 23 till 31 December 2013. At the beginning, we unfortunately had as neighbors the author of the comment signed "Justmarrie". We have never met, in South Africa, people so noisy and disrespectful who in spite of children's presence spent their evenings to be drunk to three o'clock in the morning!
After several reminders in the respect for the neighbors and with a lot of respect and patience, the owners were forced to ask them to leave. That's why obviously, they wrote a comment so deceitful
Brenton Hill is a magnificent place, outstandingly maintained and the owners are as well kind as professional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I want to say thank you so much for your review of Brenton Hill Self Catering.

I am just sorry that the experience wasn't entirely perfect due to your neighbours.

We really appreciate your kind words about the accommodation and us as hosts and we welcome you back to stay with us any time in the future.
May 2014 be a happy and healthy year ahead!

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The owners of this accommodation were rude, threatening, aggressive and intimidating. The accommodation itself was dirty and full of ants and other bugs, they advertise it as a child friendly however our children could not breath without making too much noise this accommodation is more suited as a retirement home. I have travelled al over the world and I have stayed in some of the best and worst of places but this one tops all, absolutely terrible

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank justmarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review but I am delighted that as owners of Brenton Hill we are able to respond to it so that future guests are able to get both sides of the story.
Your comments are completely untrue.
We pride ourselves on keeping Brenton Hill clean and if you have proof through photos etc that is was otherwise I would gladly see them. With regards to ants - I am afraid it is that time of year and on occasion the ants will come in - we did however give you something to put down for them.
You had booked in to stay with us for 10 nights over the festive season.
Within a few days of your arrival your children (all over 9 years old) thought it would be appropriate to throw huge amounts of soil into our swimming pool. You were spoken to about it and told that was unreasonable behaviour and you gave no apology. You allowed your kids to run through the other guests garden which showed you had little regard for them or us.
The guests in the accommodation next door had asked you on several evenings to keep the noise down after 10pm which you ignored. I was not aware of this situation until the guests came to me on the 6th night of your stay to tell me that the previous night they had asked you again to keep the noise down and you laughed in their face and continued until 3am. They then told me that they cannot continue with this situation and either you go or they do.
My husband then went to talk with you to find out what had happened. You denied it and my husband went back to the other guests and explained that it was very difficult to ask you to leave based on their complaint without actually having proof ourselves.
He then gave you a bottle of champagne and the other guests a bottle of champagne and asked that you keep the noise down for the guests final night, which you agreed to do.
You had in previous days given the code to our gate to friends and family and again thought it was acceptable to have other people stay without asking us first. My husband then asked you not to do that but on the very same day you did the same and 2 others arrived.
My husband went out to speak with you about it and eyes were rolled and you told him to speak with your husband when he got back.
Your husband then came back and you sat out in the communal area making snide comments.
you then left the area - walked to the visitors book and made more derogatory comments (all this after we had gone out of our way to keep the peace)
By this time we had heard enough and asked you to leave.
You were then incredibly rude and before you left your accommodation, the bath salts were filled with water, the pulleys on the ceiling fans were pulled off, you stole the salt and pepper. I think this pretty much sums up the type of people you are.
In 5 years of being at Brenton Hill we have never even come close to asking someone to leave and I sincerely hope we are never put in that position again.
Kind regards,
Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The views over the Knysna Lagoon are incredible. The Lodge is situated on the slopes of a hill on a vast 20 odd hectare piece of Land. One is so close to the town of Knysna yet it has the feeling of being far removed from it all. After a recent stay in Hong Kong, the sense of seemingly endless space was really amazing. The accommodation is spacious and comfy. We made a fire on the terrace overlooking lagoon and had a braai. It really does have the feeling of a home away from home. Excellent value and great for kids with genuinely friendly and helpful hosts. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are delighted you enjoyed your time at Brenton Hill. We hope that you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we stayed at the "oystercacher" room at the middle of September for 4 nights and we would have stayed there longer if the room was available! it was one of the best affordable places we stayed in our trip in SA. the room was HUGE! the bed was comfortable and the kitchen fully equipped. we had a beautiful panorama view of the lagoon and it was only 10 nim drive to the center of Knysna.
usually i don't like places with carpets because they always seem dusty to me, but it wasn't the case here, every thing was clean and shinny! we couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catrini, Owner at Brenton Hill Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

How kind you are to write such a lovely review - thank you!
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful time here and I am just sorry we were not able to accommodate you for longer - next time!
You are always welcome back.
Kind regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brenton-on-Sea hotels
0.7 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brenton on Sea Chalets
Brenton on Sea Chalets
#3 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Hill Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Hill Self Catering

Address: Brenton HIll | c/o Swart & Lake Brenton Road, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Brenton Hill Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: £92 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Brenton Hill Self Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing