We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nts. Unfortunately the weather let us down but we enjoyed it nonetheless. What makes this hotel is the absolutely stunning reviews. Sleeping to the sound of the ocean crashing right alongside you is fantastic. We also loved the braai room where we cooked on one of the evenings. It is in a very quiet location, a little bit far out if you want to eat at nearby Knysna... but we tended to eat out for lunch and cater for ourselves in the evening.
Only criticism was that on arrival we had no towels whatsoever in the room... we arrived late but when we returned to reception no one was around who we could ask for any, and in the morning we had to ask a couple of times to get them but it all worked out in the end.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenciña D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed in a Sea View Suite (Similar to Honeymoon suite just that the bath shape differs and there is an extra sitting area).

The view from the balcony is magnificent and I found myself just staring out at the sea and sunset. Makes for a cosy place for eating meals if there is not too much wind. There is a privacy screen between the neighbouring rooms balcony.

The bed is very comfortable with a TV in the room. The thick curtains do such a good job at blocking the sun that it's quite easy to sleep in late.

The decor is quite standard but very appealing for that holiday house feel.

The kitchenette is small but has everything one needs to make small meals and drinks. We made use of the BBQ area downstairs for many of our dinners (when we were not eating out). Wood is available from Brenton-on-Rocks.

The bathroom could be bigger but all the finishes are quite modern. Shower and bath are slightly larger than average.

The pool was quite cold when we stayed there but the pool area (decking and loungers) is quite nice to lay by.

A nice bonus I discovered was that our room came with a garage. So the car was easy to access and close to the room.

Breakfasts were quite standard but very good at the same time. If you don't feel like making your own breakfasts or going out for breakfasts, it definitely is an alternative.

All in all, the service, cleanliness, size and comfort of the room and location form a very good package that I was sad to leave after our stay.

Would definitely return if we were in the Knysna area again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyper10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Incredible place, good quality building, excellent service and an amazing sea view.
Good located: far enough from the town but reasonable distance if you need to do some shopping.
Restaurant near by.
Well decorated rooms and garage to park your car.
Works us a Bed and breakfast place but looks like hotel

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

+ The most important part of staying here is the VIEW..!!!!
+ The rooms are nice.. we had booked a 3 bedroom house.. there was an indoor parking garage for the house, 3 bedrooms on one level and living room, kitchen and dining on lower floor. All the rooms had magnificent views (except one bedroom). There was a balcony on both levels.
+ The breakfast was good. The manager prepared it for us himself.
+ The manager was helpful.. We had one of our balcony doors broken and he fixed it for us right away..
We enjoyed our stay here.. :-)

. nothing fancy in the rooms.. amenities were basic..

- it took forever to find this place. GPS was totally messed up and kept sending us to different places. We called them twice and finally found it.
- I know it's self catered but there was absolutely no option for dinner. We asked if some place can deliver here. The answer was no. It was raining and it was very foggy so we didn't want to drive out again. But we had to!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

It takes a bit of time to locate this place, but once you find it, you realize you that it was worth the effort.
The guest-house style hotel has rooms with balconies facing the lagoon. It makes for a stunning setting, specially when all the balconies have a charming wrought-iron table and chairs. Perfect place for a cup of tea as you overlook the waves crashing in.

The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are neat with good fittings. The breakfast is adequate. The hotel even provides you with a couple of bicycles, for going about town. This is a lovely pit-stop for spending a couple of nights, whilst on driving down the garden route.

However, make no mistake, if you are looking for a high end room-service/ bell-boy experience with all the frills of a luxe hotel, you are better off at some other place.

TIP: If you are lucky you can even spot dolphins playing about in the water from your balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaydeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights last November. We had the smaller rooms at the back of the house, which are not as spacious as the front room, but still a decent size. The balcony on the side offers a good view, but the view from the front of the house is simply amazing as it is set right on top of the cliffs.

Brenton on Sea is about a 10-15 min drive from Knysna, but for me the nicer location to stay. Would stop here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeWe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Brenton on Rocks, but could quite easily have stayed longer! We had a room on the upper floor with a stunning balcony overlooking the sea. It was just perfect. The room is big enough for 2 adults, with a seperate lounge area and TV, a great bathroom and a open, bright, spaceous bedroom.
It is a bit of a drive from Knysna, but we didnt mind, there is a small convenience store in Brenton and the hotel ran an honesty bar downstairs so we had some sundowner beers on our balcony.
I would recommend to anyone travelling to or through Knysna area.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are best, have better balcony and no noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellersUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
2.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
0.4 mi away
Brenton Beach House
Brenton Beach House
#1 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brenton Breakers
Brenton Breakers
#4 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
101 reviews
3.5 mi away
Knysna Stays
Knysna Stays
#23 of 129 in Knysna
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Lofts Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse

Address: 276 Steenbras Street, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: £70 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you yearn for a piece of heaven on earth, a resting place built on rocks, with a heavenly view over a shining sea in which the dolphins play ? Brenton on Rocks is that place.Our choice of self catering accommodation includes Houses sleeping up to 8 people, family units, honeymoon suites and double rooms - all tastefully equipped with everything to make our stay comfortable and relaxing, including a fully licensed bar. What makes us different from the rest you think? We offer personalised, friendly service. We are more than just a Guest House, but rather a Home-away from home for all travellers. Additional services include picnic baskets, planning and booking of day trips and activities, free promotional footage/videos on-site, A-la-carte breakfast menu & Laundry service. Leon & David are looking forward to welcoming you to this charming establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing