We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming 18th Century B&B”
Review of De Stamper

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
De Stamper
Ranked #1 of 16 Damme B&B and Inns
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charming 18th Century B&B”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As promised, I am keeping my word and blogging about eateries around the world.
On a recent spectacular trip to The Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg, I had the pleasure of dining in a few note worthy local culinary gems.

High on the list is, not only a gastronomic wonder, but a charming 18th century home and B & B. Walking through the entrance, a lovely arched- tree canopy, we were are greeted by the owners, Marc and Judig Nyssen. Their reception of a welcome drink and hors d'oeuvres was a delight, as was the story of their farm, (which I will leave for you to discover when you visit).

As I walked around the farm and ventured into the kitchen, I was again greeted like a member of the family. The kitchen is full of pots, crock, dishes and the feeling of being home. The smell and love with which our meal is being prepared is evident in all areas of the keuken.
I am already in love with this place and am anticipating our gathering in the other room.

Before dinner, Judig takes me to see the rest of the farm and the B & B,which is available for rental. There are beautiful rustic, elegant rooms with ample space for a weeks retreat or a family getaway. One has a gorgeous private yard, its own kitchen and lovely large bathrooms. I would highly recommend staying here to relax and take in the local color of the region. Call me for details about that.

Our meal, All prepared with local farm ingredients:
Salad, Boeuf Bourguignon, Scalloped Potatoes, Endive and Vegetables (yes, I believe there were Brussels Sprouts) and for dessert, Marc's famous Apple Pie. You already know that for dessert I am a gooey, cheese cake kinda gal and that fruit is the last thing I would have for dessert, but oh boy, this pie was amazing. The recipe will forever remain a secret.

It was a lovely evening filled with new friends and the homey feeling of being at a holiday meal with family.
Judig and Marc open their home to tour company visits and welcome visitors to their B&B.

For anyone seeking an experience like this one, please feel free to visit their website or call me for details about how to meet Judig and Marc.
www.destamper.be.

Eet smakelik!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basbgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our family of 4 was greeted warmly on arrival, and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. The charming studio apartment (Bakhuis) up some steep stairs was compact but atmospheric and had everything we needed, including a small kitchen. The box beds were great fun. Breakfasts were hearty and delicious, the multigrain bread profound, and served in the old dining room of the historic farmhouse. Our stay was capped-off by a delectable multi-course dinner of local produce in the garden on a long summer’s evening. Handy to Brugge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAMA181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We wanted to escape from our busy life during this hot summer in Belgium and spend some time with our 3 year old daughter in a part of our own country that we didn't know very well - and all that worked out splendid!

The host had just received a last minute cancellation for a stay in 'het bakhuis' which is a studio which can sleep up to 4 (but then it would be rather cramped) and in mutual agreement we decided to take our own babybed for our daughter so that we didn't occupy the second double bed and therefore paid less for the studio. It's the upper floor of a small separate little house situated on the courtyard of the farm.

The interior of the main house and the little house is very charming, quite romantic, bit of english taste with lots of wooden furniture, flowers, candles - just perfect for a short holiday ;)

We spent the afternoon riding our own bikes through Damme, where we had lunch in a tearoom, then on to Sluis in Holland, which is a charming little town but quite crowded with tourists (in summer ?) and then back to the B&B, riding via the canals, farms which have been there for ages but didn't lose anything of their charm, cows, fields .. such a beautiful countryside.

In the evening we had dinner on the courtyard. They also take dinner reservations from people not staying in the B&B, seated at large wooden tables, but that added only to the relax atmosphere that we liked so much. The owner put up a grill and everyone had more than enough: entree, beef and mutton (from their own livestock), salads, potatoes and a super desert. They prepared a separate meal for our daughter, a little earlier, so that we could put her to bed after she had her icecream and spend the rest of the evening in tranquility ;)

we can only recommend this place and will return as soon as we see an opportunity !

  • Liked — the atmosphere, so charming and relaxed
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marjoleink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Included in our tour was an evening dinner at Hofstede De Stamper, a charming farmhouse located in the scenic countryside outside Bruges. On our arrival Judith Nyssen the group at the front gate and she was our very charming hostess all evening. Judith told us the history of De Stamper farm whilst we enjoyed home made canapés and drinks. We then moved into the lovely farmhouse for a sumptuous dinner of beef bourguignon served with local fresh produce and fine wines. Each dining room was uniquely decorated. Judith and her staff were extremely charming, very informative and gave us excellent service. A truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with our two young children and occupied the family room which is a rustic little cosy nest !! The kids thought they'd been transported to an episode of 'Heidi' !!!! The b&b's location is heavenly, in the middle of quiet, unspoiled countryside, a stone's throw away from Bruges. The host is extremely welcoming and hospitable and you really get a sense of him sharing this amazing property with his guests. The meals consist of good hearty fayre using local produce - served in delicious 'man-size' portions. The dining room is a cosy, rustic affair with candlelight providing most of the lighting. A real haven of peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcausables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

De Stamper for us is like a second home ...
Marc Nyssen is the owner. He's so charming and always welcomes his guests personnally. (French/English is no problem for him)
We've stayed here so many times, just the 2 of us or with friends, and we always had a marvellous time.
The whole farm is so nice & inviting, just like the cosy & comfortable rooms. Breakfast is great and if you like you can enjoy Marc's excellent "table d'hôtes" in the evenings, with a good bottle of wine (his homemade lambstew is famous ...).
In De Stamper you'll just feel at home ! It's a nice and quite place, with beautiful surroundings (polders !), perfect for long walks or cycle tours. You're so close to Damme & Bruges, and you can even take the boat to Bruges.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laureyssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damme
2.0 mi away
Het Oud Gemeentehuis
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ter Polders
Hotel Ter Polders
#2 of 3 in Damme
65 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vredehof
Hotel Vredehof
#3 of 3 in Damme
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Het Bloemenhof
Hotel Het Bloemenhof
#66 of 97 in Bruges
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoeve de Steenoven
Hoeve de Steenoven
#4 of 16 in Damme
29 reviews
2.5 mi away
B&B 't Verloren Schaap
B&B 't Verloren Schaap
#3 of 16 in Damme
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Stamper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Stamper

Property: De Stamper
Address: Zuiddijk 12, Damme 8340, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Damme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Damme
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing