We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge des Rois - Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2009

We found this hotel was just as its webpage shows - the images could have been taken yesterday. The room we stayed in was one of the renovated ones on the top floor and had a view over the beach to the sea. The shower room was white and bright and a pleasure to use, inc hairdryer and toiletries of a superior brand. The tv gave a good choice of channels.

The hotel is old - theres no getting away from its age - but it is immaculate and does have character. Sitting in the bar area again overlooking the promenade, or eating breakfast in the dining room is a pleasure. It cannot be beaten on location.

The staff we came into contact with were friendly, polite - spoke excellent English (as well as other languages) - the lady at breakfast was very professional, on hand if you needed anything but unobtrusive, and the young man on Reception was most helpful when asked anything - nothing was too much trouble.

Another floor of bedrooms is being renovated over the next few months - so the more dated bedrooms will be gone for the start of 2010.

In October the area is quiet (nice and quiet) we like it this way - if you want Blackpool go somewhere else.

One negative comment - about the area - not the hotel - dog owners should be reminded to keep the beach and promenade clean - I didn't see one owner walking with (swiniging) the obligatory 'poo bag' - or cleaning up after their dogs mess. You see looking out of the bedroom windows you spot all sorts!

We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Gannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2005

Agree with first review as far as De Haan and location of hotel are concerned - probably nicest resort on Belgian coast and there are only 2 hotels in this town which are really on the seaside promenade.
However, it made me wonder, did this hotel have a complete makeover? Stayed there last summer and went back to De Haan this year but to another hotel, Auberge de Rois did not look renovated to us...

We found the interior terrible. A timewarp back to the 60s, hideous furniture and claustrophobic bathroom. The hotel seems a hotspot for Germans who think they are worth it and who feel flattered by the staff's attention. This, however, only seems to last when you play their game and find everything great.

It is expensive and you have to book half-board which we found pretty restrictive.

We will certainly not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ehberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2005

If you pine for the days when you could visit a seaside resort that was not only safe for children, clean, tidy, civililised, a proper beach, with proper sandcastle building type sand, well supervised sea swimming and not taken over by greed and over development, then pine no more. We discovered the delights of the Belgian Coast some time ago, when our children were small and we visited Sunparks, still going strong I might add, and amongst the places we visited was the little gem I am refering to, De Haan.
This small coastal town is an absolute delight. Not just for the style of the buildings and the way the place is laid out, it evokes a feeling of wellbeing and calm, and that's a rarity these days. I don't intend to champion the virtues of De Haan, of which there are many, as there are websites you can visit which will do a far better job than I can. But if you do intend to visit, I can do no better than recommend you to a most delightful Hotel, the Auberge des Rois Beach Hotel.
When a hotel says it's close to the beach, this hotel is so close that you can put a rod and line out of your bedroom window and catch a passing flatfish for your dinner! Well perhaps I'm getting a bit carried away here but it is, right on the beach. It is a four star hotel and has earned every one of it's stars. Our room did not overlook the sea and the manager, George, was most apologetic that it was not one of the better rooms. I have to tell you that if there are better rooms, I would very much like to see one. Clean, tidy, lovely fittings, a very modern bathroom, very good maid service, just the way a good hotel should be, but so very few manage to be.
Every evening there is a five course gourmet dinner, served in the sea view restaurant, where again you experience the delights of being waited upon by people who are really pleased that you are there. The food is a mouth watering selection of fish, crustaceans and various meat dishes, finished of with a superb cheese selection and sweet concoctions. The food is prepared by one of the hotel owners, Chef Jean-Paul Bentin, with his wife Petra undertaking to ensure that everything runs like clockwork and who is on hand to greet you for breakfast and to wish you good night as you depart for your room after a nightcap in the well appointed bar.
It is so rare to come across this level of service and commitment these days, that I am happy to recommend this Resort and this Hotel.

6  Thank oldmovieguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank koenraaddevadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fournitjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank angidewsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Haan hotels
0.5 mi away
Romantik Manoir Carpe Diem
0 mi away
Hotel Astel
Hotel Astel
#5 of 25 in De Haan
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
#3 of 25 in De Haan
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Escapade
Hotel Escapade
#13 of 25 in De Haan
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bonne Auberge
Hotel Bonne Auberge
#11 of 25 in De Haan
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duinhof
Hotel Duinhof
#7 of 25 in De Haan
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Rois - Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Rois - Beach Hotel

Address: Zeedijk-De Haan 1, De Haan 8420, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Haan
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Price Range: £122 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge des Rois - Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Auberge des Rois - Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing