We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B (not hotel ! ) - limited services”
Review of Hotel Duinhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Duinhof
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice B&B (not hotel ! ) – limited services”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in this B&B, I really can not call it a hotel, end of July 2011.
The outside is not impressive but the interior is well taken care off, English Manor style.
The rooms are nice, bathrooms small but new and well kept.
It has a Scottish Bar but works as an honesty bar and so despite what the hotel website mentions, you can not order anything to eat or drink and the rooms have no mini bar. Self-service for drinks is the only possibility.
The breakfast is very tasty and offers a wide variety bread types, eggs (not in bain-marie warmers but made to order !), fresh fruit, fresh marmelades, salmon, cheeses, meat cuts, cereals, yoghourts etc.
Staff at the morning table is very friendly and caters to perfection.
The hotel offers wellness deals with sauna and massage, very sorry it takes place in an ugly tiled basement and they do not offer bathrobes to go there either.
Once you forget about the environment, the sauna is very clean, spacious and well-heated and the massage we had was very professional and the best part of our stay.
The garden of the hotel is nice and has a small heated pool, unfortunately we could not enjoy it because we had bad weather.
Location is not ideal, 20 minutes’ walk from the center and beach and nothing nearby to enjoy a meal so you have to walk, take the hotel bike or drive and struggle with parking. Beware the hotel bikes are old and not serviced, they do not even have a working light !
Also strange that there is no staff to attend to the guests or the facilities after 18 PM and no number to call in case of an emergency of any kind.
Overall price-quality not so good, really felt it was not worth the hotel price they charged.
I doubt if we would go back, never much liked the B&B business and especially not if I believe I booked a hotel and get a B&B anyway, what’s in a name ?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Really nice Small hotel, good breakfest. People were helpful and very friendly. Beach is about 5 mins Travel Time by car, hotel is located in a quiet and clean neighborhood.

De Haan is relatively expensive, expect 10-12 € for a normal Pizza.

All in all highly recommended Place for a couple of sunny days.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

If you are looking for a relaxed place at the coast you found it. Stylisch rooms with central in it a perfect kingseize bed. Shower is clean and spacieus. The luxery breakfest is outside with good weather and gives you all you wanted with a vieuw on the garden and small swimmingpool. The hotel is situated in a quiet villa area of the Haan, in 5 minutes on bike and you are in the middle of the Haan and all the busy noisy toeristique happenings and in 10 min at the beautiful beach. Many quality restaurants available in the Haan (Duinhof gave us some great suggestions). But there is also enough choise for an easy bite. You can easy bike to one of the other villages at the coast as we did or take the tram. Romantic Brugge is around the corner and also Lille is easy to visit and makes a beautiful daytrip into France. We liked also Knokke with its Casino. There is a nice and quiet honesty bar in the hotel that tells something about the good atmosphere. Stylish but not stiff with a great service. Highly recommanded.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anno10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We went to Duinhof for a relaxing weekend break. So booked the junior suite arrangement 'van duin tot hof' which cost us 230 euro per night.

A lot for a bed and breakfast but i guessed it would be well worth it.

The arrangement included diner, sauna and bikes as well.

When we arrived the hosted was very nice to us. She explained some things and showed us to our room. The room, which should have been on the best and quitest location of the premises, was just above the bar. It was actually the worst place where you could stay! Together with Ralph's suite the junior suite is definetely not recommended. The kost expensive suites are actually the worst, does make sense right?

The package deal with diner, sauna and bikes, which in my opnion implies some sort of a discount, is actually a rip off. The diners are pre-set meals, when you divert from this you pay a lot extra. I, for example wanted a steak instead of fish and we had to pay a lot extra. In short, you pay too much for the package deal, and after that you too much in the restaurants. So instead of a discount you pay double! Shame. You get treated like inferior guests as well, they hear that you are merely a 'package deal guest' and they give you the worst place to sit, overall treat you not correct at all. We did not tip 2 nights in a row, and this almost never happens!

The breakfast is good though.

I would definetely not recommend this hotel, it's overpriced, noisy when you expect quietness.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fwvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Haan hotels
0.9 mi away
Romantik Manoir Carpe Diem
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astel
Hotel Astel
#5 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis de Haan
Ibis de Haan
#3 of 25 in De Haan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rubens
Hotel Rubens
#2 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Escapade
Hotel Escapade
#11 of 25 in De Haan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge des Rois - Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duinhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duinhof

Property: Hotel Duinhof
Address: Leeuwerikenlaan 23, De Haan 8420, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Haan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duinhof 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish countryhouse hotel, partly 18th century, with 12 personalised rooms with exclusive interior. The situation is perfect - nearby the beach and riding school. Tennis and the Royal Golfcourse within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Duinhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing