We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short ‘escapade’ to the Belgian coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Escapade

Hotel Escapade
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Escapade
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A short ‘escapade’ to the Belgian coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

First off, I’m Belgian so it shames me a bit to admit this but it is true: the Belgian coast is incredibly overvalued. I mean, I’ll pay more for a 3-star hotel here than I do for a 4-star hotel in Milan or Rome, truly. But hey, that is the way it is, so on pricing you can’t really discuss because everyone at our small strip of coast charges the same.

I booked this last minute and wouldn’t you know if, when I checked in after going to the beach another guest entered and asked for a room and the hotel manager (who really should stop wearing t-shirts at his age) told her that he was sold out, so you see.

Breakfast choice was very good for a 3-star hotel, Wifi very acceptable and check in was very smooth. On the downside I could put that my room closet was shaking like an earthquake had passed whenever I walked over to the bathroom, and that there were ‘pinces’ to take the cheese or bacon but none to take the different sorts of bread (but I guess everyone washes their hands before coming down from their room in the morning). Little points to be improved but overall a good hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor to have good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDeVylder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    37
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a lovely break in De Haan which is a delightfully pretty small town. The Hotel Escapade is in a first rate position, just a minutes walk from the beach and 5 minutes from the town centre. It is spotlessly clean and the owners were very friendly. Breakfast was fine. We booked the hotel almost 6 months ago, and based our choice on the room description and photograph on the hotel's website. However, we were given an incredibly small, very dark and dismal room overlooking the side of the hotel. It did not reflect the room we were expecting in any way. Our romantic weekend away was anything but - we had twin beds, kitchen noises until midnight every evening and a bathroom door which did not allow for privacy! Some reviewers have mentioned the dark corridors. I didn't object to them as that was how the building was built, but I did object to how worn and stained the hall carpet was, and how the cleaners stacked cleaning equipment on the stairs. These were both dangerous trip hazards, especially as the stairs were not well lit. I would visit De Haan again, and would use the Escapade again as it is good value for money BUT only if we got a room which reflected the room on the website photograph. If anyone is thinking of going I would not put them off - but I would check beforehand that you were getting a front facing room with bigger windows and some floor space.

Room Tip: Insist on a front facing room BEFORE booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynedale_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just returned from two nights at Hotel Escapade. Excellent location, 2 minutes to sea front and 5 minutes from tram station and main shoppng/restaurant area. Clean basic room with four windows on the front. Very noisy at night and very hot. Small shower cubicle, ok. Room ideal for what we wanted. The reception very uninviting as very dark and gloomy and the corridors very dark and dingy with dark brown tatty carpet. The breakfast was reasonable even if you have to cook your own boiled/fried eggs! The carpark holds six cars - a problem when there are 24 rooms. Also carpark very cramped and difficult to get in and out of so most people just parked up for the duration of their stay. Staff friendly and spoke English and were very helpful. Did not use the restaurant in the evening so cannot comment on the standard etc.
For the money a good standard hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe on the back would be quieter than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groupofeight014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed with family for 4 nights. No complaints clean & comfortable plus good breakfast.

Dont like to say to much about De Hann having been visiting town for over 18 years.

Its a gem. Thats enough.Trammellant first Sat in August should not be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJohnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for three nights and found De Haan charming, this is a hotel that is difficult to rate but I think average is fair. It is a real family run business about 3 generations on site all hand on deck. The owners are very friendly and obviously work very hard. My main disappointment was the entrance and corridors dark , stained carpets, the room was ok, but don't expect too much and you will probably be ok, for the price paid we did expect better. However we settled in and really did not spend much time in the room anyway, breakfast was good, and dinner also good

Room Tip: a room overlooking the side garden is probably best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have just had a 4 night stay in what was a "great family room" in the hotel Escapade, two quite large rooms rooms with 4 beds full size single beds.. Rooms where very clean and the breakfast very good. Ideal for a family to have a short break on the beach.

Room Tip: 301.. top floor family room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

An unassuming place but with a lot of class. The welcome was friendly. The reception did not demand payment up front. There is Wifi in the rooms. At breakfast, you can fry or boil your eggs. The preserves are not in small sealed helpings. General atmosphere is relaxed.

Room Tip: Ask a room at the back; they are probably quieter than in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank battuta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Haan hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astel
Hotel Astel
#5 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Romantik Manoir Carpe Diem
1.1 mi away
Ibis de Haan
Ibis de Haan
#3 of 25 in De Haan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Duinhof
Hotel Duinhof
#6 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens
Hotel Rubens
#2 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
#4 of 25 in De Haan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escapade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escapade

Property: Hotel Escapade
Address: Koninklijke Baan 30, De Haan 8420, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Haan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Escapade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Escapade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing