We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with nice service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Belle Vue
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights. The service was very friendly and helpful, and our room was clean and nicely furnished with plenty of light coming from the windows. It was one of the renovated rooms, but I heard the old rooms are not that nice. The breakfast was very good and the location is excellent. The only thing missing is a nice easy-going restaurant. The hotel restaurant is quite official and the selection of dishes is very limited. If ever visiting de Haan again, we'll definitly stay there avain.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Lady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel's lobby and bar/restaurant area is really beautiful and peaceful. Rooms (those that have not been yet re-furbished) were OK and neat, no complaints there. But the fellow customers were really noisy, children started to run in the corridors (walls are thin) at 7h30 am and the other travelers talking loudly in the corridors to each other. Breakfast was great (good selection) but there again, some fellow travelers were really noisy and did not behave well when taking food and beverages (mainly families with lot of children, and they stayed in the breakfast room chatting for some 2,5 hours). Well located in the heart of the city and easy access to the tram!
Also in the lobby, while paying to the receptionist, she took the call in the middle- even though our "business" was not yet done (but this is a Belgian way, in Belgium the customer service is not the strongest point at all).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apprendrelemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at this hotel in the lovely and well worth visiting town of De Haan. We had a Tower Suite which was extremely spacious and light with dual aspect windows and the bathroom was modern and well-equipped - the hotel website has excellent photos.
The hotel is located just off quite a busy road and close to the tram station but there was no issue with traffic noise.
We booked on a half-board basis and a fixed menu was provided each night. There was also an A La Carte menu available. The dinners were excellent and the breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice.
Staff spoke good English and were extremely friendly and efficient. Top marks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGrumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 02 June for 5 nts and we had three of the renovated rooms - two of them were 310/311. Hotel was in excellent order - staff were friendly - breakfast was good - lots of cheese, bread, pate, smoked salmon. Bacon and egg was available all buffet style. Even cava if you wanted as well as orange juice. One of the first hotels we have stayed in that we were not disturbed at night, we all got a great nights sleep.
Just a few minutes walking to the beach and would recommend Mano - they do wonderful strawberry pancakes.
Half an hour to Bruges - worth going for the day as well as Ostend on the tram.
Tram up the road - very reasonable to use
Within walking distance of supermarkets and bakery and chemist
We did not have an evening meal at the hotel so we could not comment on the half board basis.
We would definately go back to this wonderful hotel. Had a very nice feel about it and was well run. Small lift in the hotel, but otherwise quite steep stairs to climb to the bedrooms.

Room Tip: go to Bruges for the day - well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PayneHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 days, 2 nights. I was amazed at the room because it was just me and I got to stay in a renovated luxury double room! Wonderful! The view however was not great, looked at the parking lot but then again, I was not there to stay in the room. Isolation was ok, no noise (but then the room was on the top - 3rd - floor). Breakfast was really good, lots of choices (and you get to choose how you want your eggs :-). Staff was nice as well. Big plus is the free parking! De Haan gets very busy once the sun is out. Hotel is about a 10 min walk to the sea.

However, I did not like the bistro. Interior was wonderful but the food is more nouvelle cuisine. I paid 26 Euro for one plate with not a lot on it. Too fancy and too expensive for me but if you like that sort of thing, then you will def enjoy the bistro. I was there on my own though.. I think most guests just go out to a restaurant on the promenade.

Check out the French bakery near the promenade. The bread is to die for!

Don't go to De Haan for shopping purposes because there really aren't any shops. But you can easily go to Oostende (by car or tram). Loads of shopping opportunities there.

All in all, a great hotel and I would recommend it mainly to couples. It's very upmarket and classy.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room. You a pay a little extra but it's worth it (until of course they finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy4665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Modern, clean, spacious and functional rooms in this attractive anglo-norman style hotel built in 1910. The owners have tastefully renovated most of the hotel. Very friendly and informative welcome, nice breakfast included in the price. Note that the restaurant, which enjoys a good reputation, is closed on Tuesdays. Easy parking at the hotel, which is 10 minutes walk to the beach and in the centre of the town near the shops, taverns and the coast tram station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cmd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Top hotel for three stars;I stayed in one of the new luxury rooms.Very big,quiet and still cosy.
Big and clean bathroom;Very nice and friendly staff !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabbatsveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Haan hotels
0.4 mi away
Romantik Manoir Carpe Diem
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astel
Hotel Astel
#5 of 25 in De Haan
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escapade
Hotel Escapade
#13 of 25 in De Haan
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Duinhof
Hotel Duinhof
#6 of 25 in De Haan
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bonne Auberge
Hotel Bonne Auberge
#12 of 25 in De Haan
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alizee
Hotel Alizee
#9 of 25 in De Haan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Belle Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Belle Vue

Address: Koninklijk Plein 5, De Haan 8420, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Haan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in De Haan
Price Range: £120 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Belle Vue 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Belle Vue ligt in het centrum van De Haan, op 400 meter van het strand. Het imposante gebouw is een architecturale parel aan de Belgische kust en werd grotendeels gerenoveerd. De stijlvol heringerichte kamers zijn ruim en licht. In het à la carte restaurant kan u genieten van verfijnde gerechten en een uitgelezen selectie kwaliteitswijnen. Het hotel beschikt over een goed uitgeruste vergaderzaal met natuurlijk licht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Belle Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing