We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iris
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Have just stayed here to attend a wedding and found it to be a great hotel. The breakfast was fabulous with a huge choice of breads, fruit, meats, cheeses etc. great central location for walking into town for shops or across the road to the sea front. Only one small complaint that there is no shower curtain so water goes everywhere! Great experience thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We spent one night and we were happily surprised by the room. The room was big, comfortable and tidy. The bathroom was quite big. The issue was that the main switch for the light was out of order and there was not a real shower or screen to prevent the floor getting very wet.
The location is fine, close to the centre and 2 minutes walk from the sea.
The only let down was that we could not have breakfast which we had paid for. We had to leave just after 07:00 but breakfast was only served from 08:00 and no other solution was suggested such as a box or something, as we were told at check-in that the person serving breakfast did not arrive until 07:30.

Overall, it is a lovely little hotel, but perhaps a little more attention to guest needs would make it a fantastic little hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room was big and clean. I could close the door between the sleeping area and the area where you had the tv and desk so if you want, you can hold a mini meeting there.

Bathroom was large, clean and had a bubble bath. Unfortunately I haven't been able to use the bubble bath as I was out on meetings all day and it was prohibited to use it before 8 am and after 10 pm because of the noise it makes.

The hotel itself is quite a maze, with an underground hallway to the main building.

The hotel is well located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can close the partition between the sleeping and sitting area if you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We spent only one night at the hotel but enjoyed the warm welcome, the room space, the cleanliness and the breakfast buffet. The hotel is located a few meters from the main road where the tramway is passing regularly. The bedroom is well isolated but there was no AC in our standard room, forcing us to open the window for the night and of course hear the first tramway of the day.
There is a free parking but quite limited outside. Apparently there is also an internal one but we did not use it.
Price was 105 € for 2 people breakfast included end of september.

Room Tip: Ask a room as far as possible from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Auguste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Nice and friendly welcome at check-in. Got a deluxe room for the price of a standard room as it was the last one available. Room was nice not particularly large but not small, with a large and nice bathroom. However, for a 4star hotel and especially for a deluxe room normally sold at 130€, I was very surprised not to find any tissues in the bathroom, no hairdryer and nothing to hold the shower on the wall
( you have to keep the shower in your hand )..... Furthermore, the towels were rather small and surprisingly overused ( especially the one tu use after showering ) . A very poor quality one doesn't expect in a 4star hotel.
Great breakfast with a large selection of hot and cold items, various sorts of bread, cheese and ham, fresh fruit, ( but unfortunately nothing to keep the food cool during the whole breakfast time ). No restaurant, no bar but an intimate garden whith direct access from some of the suites.
The location is great too, just 50m from the beach with a nice residential area at the back.
All in all, a very nice hotel, modern and clean with helpful staff but a few easy improvements could make it a real 4star.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belgotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Recommended to me by the owner of the Ambassador Hotel when he had no availability for me there. Hotel Iris was a little bit pricier, but did live up to it. Excellent welcome, free parking (although on-street would not have been impossible or expensive for one overnight), nicely appointed, lovely spacious and comfortable room (chairs and bed), superb breakfast buffet; a delightful oasis for the overnight business traveller. It had everything I needed (and more ) for an overnight stay during a trans-European longhaul drive from Wales to Germany/Austria. (De Panne generally also proving good in this circumstance: hotels, restaurants, ambience, etc.)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Telynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these De Panne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis De Panne
Hotel Ibis De Panne
#2 of 15 in De Panne
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Donny
Hotel Donny
#1 of 15 in De Panne
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 15 in De Panne
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Escale
Hotel Escale
#9 of 15 in De Panne
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Select
Hotel Villa Select
#3 of 15 in De Panne
154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ara Dune Hotel
Ara Dune Hotel
#4 of 15 in De Panne
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Property: Hotel Iris
Address: Duinkerkelaan 41, De Panne 8660, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > De Panne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in De Panne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iris 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing